We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, you've found the best Inn in Hudson Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
Ranked #2 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017

A true delight every time. I travel often and stay @ a full range of hotels & inns. This Inn is one of the best I've stayed not only in Hudson Valley but one of the best in the country. Each room has it's own character and charm. Superb room amenities and attention to detail. Close proximity to Warren st. Look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hannahrobbins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Wm. Farmer and Sons, so much so that you have stayed with us more than once! Hope to see you next time you're in Hudson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights on the way to visit friends in the Berkshires on the back of the CN Traveller write up.
The hotel were extremely helpful from the first phone call onwards. The property is beautiful. We drove but it is just a short walk from the train station if you are arriving that way.
We stayed in the James Louis which was perfect. The attention to detail was exceptional for a boutique B and B. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely tea and coffee making facilities - brought a kettle when requested - Nespresso in the room. Bathroom cute and very lovely amenities. There was a little outdoor terrace on our floor.
Dinner was sensational - commentably good and definitely do not miss.
The only issue which stops me from giving 5 stars and have to mention as I do take the reviews I give v seriously. Our room was on the front of the building and we did not only hear the trains but were woken the 2nd morning by the refuse truck at 5am.
They do give ear plugs - so credit where credit is due but to be considered when booking.

Room Tip: James Louis beautiful - on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your Wm. Farmer and Sons experience. It is fabulous to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The James Louis and your meal in the Barroom! We love that you mentioned our location; since Hudson is such a walkable city, our close proximity to the train is one of our favorite things! We are also glad you mentioned the noise factor. After the first few months in the building and sleeping in every room, we realized that though the proximity to the train is extremely convenient, it can be a disturbance and at that point we chose to install city quiet windows throughout the majority of the house. There are rooms on the third floor with smaller windows that are street facing which we did not insulate because it did not seem necessary, but with this feedback we will revisit. Thank you for your honesty and helping to give the public the most accurate view possible, which will help future guests find their perfect accommodations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

I've visited Hudson, NY many, many times over the past 3 years, when I lived full time in Midtown Manhattan and since I moved back to my hometown in South Central PA after retirement. This time however, I visited with a close friend and we decided to stay at Wm Farmer & Sons rather than my old stand-by.

Boy were we surprised! Beautifully restored cozy hotel, every room unique and very comfortable. Everything is very tastefully decorated. No cost has been spared. Also - and very important to me - very dog friendly. I like to travel everywhere Stateside with my 8 year old Miniature Schnauzer. The staff welcomed him with open arms.
The food was pretty much NYC quality and the service as well. Notably, the oysters on the half shell that we enjoyed in the restaurant the first evening in were some the best I have eaten since Le Bern last June. And every dish we tried was taste and presentation perfect.
The staff is professional and clearly very experienced. The high standard of service is reflected at the front desk, in the bar room and of course the restaurant. You do not often see service like this in a small hotel in rural upstate NY.

This place cannot be missed. If you have not tried it, you need to.
It's truly a gem!!! In our view - the Best Hotel in Hudson - if not the Hudson river valley.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled to be your new favorite Hudson hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your Boarding and Barroom experience. Looking forward to seeing you on your next Hudson adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We stayed in the Chandler - and it was lovely. The room was beautiful, as was the downstairs common area, and the restaurant next door. Our meal was outstanding, and the staff was incredibly helpful and kind (Thanks, Sarah!). We can't wait to go back, and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you were able to enjoy both the Boarding and the Barroom! We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff! Looking forward to seeing you on your next Hudson adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Came to Hudson to escape the City and thoroughly enjoyed staying at Wm Farmer and Sons. The staff was welcoming and their attention to detail was amazing. Even had a dog bowl in our room for our pet! Felt like I was at home. They were helpful in giving ideas of places to visit in the area and other places to eat (they have no food service on Mondays). Don't miss their restaurant. Food was delicious, well presented and service was great. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimistinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Wm. Farmer and Sons experience! Making sure everyone feels at home, including our four-legged guests, is something we pride ourselves on. Thank you for taking the time to share! We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.3 km away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.2 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#3 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
1.5 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hudson
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
168 reviews
0.5 km away
Batterby House
Batterby House
#7 of 17 in Hudson
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom

Address: 20 S Front St, Hudson, NY 12534-3123 (Formerly Front Street Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: RM 1,081 - RM 1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wm Farmer and Sons is an intimate, thirteen room hotel located in the heart of historical Hudson. We offer devilishly attractive rooms at unpretentious prices. Known for our eclectic charm and comfort, our 1830’s Inn now features a restaurant and barroom: authentic farm-to-table cuisine and craft cocktails served up daily. We admittedly make it hard to rouse your self in the morning – luxury beds, 500 thread count sheets, and big fluffy pillows conspire against you, while in-room flat screen TVs and free WiFi scratch your digital itch. When you do rise, we’re just steps from Hudson’s local galleries, hip boutiques, and growing music scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing