We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIUMPH OF STYLE OVER FUNCTION”
Review of The Barlow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Barlow
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Information varied with advance calls to the hotel. Yes, all the showers were roll in. Others said none of the showers had grab bars. Eventually we were told there is a handicapped-accessible room. Well, not really. What we found upon arrival was a roll-in shower with grab bars. But all other contents are designed for TALL people. Shelves above a short person's reach used to store the extra toilet paper. Extra-high rod in the closet. Lighting that defies logic in figuring out how to use it. You just lower the dinner to the bottom and then find another button to turn it off -- but only from the fully dimmed position. A regular room has a shower that is stunningly sculptural but takes a half hour to figure out the three knobs (1 with a button) and 4 different spray areas. And, queen beds have blanket and comforter that are clearly only double bed size. Thus they cover the bed but not two people sleeping. Yes, the mirror fell down because it was mounted with two small picture hooks in plasterboard walls without reinforcement. But, yes, it all looks lovely..I expect more for over $300 per night!

Room Tip: Get an engineering degree before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

So the shelves are too high, dimmer switches "defy logic", shower "takes half an hour to figure out", the blanket doesn't fit and the mirror "fell down". You didn't mention whether you asked anyone for assistance, so I have to believe the answer is "no". Perhaps these issues didn't have anything to do with the room at all. Maybe The Barlow just wasn't the right fit for your needs. But to give the hotel a 2 star rating because you couldn't operate some (quite frankly) simple things such as a dimmer switch or shower knob is rather unfair, especially considering you didn't ask anyone for help. Even paying $1000 (you actually paid $150 not $300) your issues still wouldn't have been resolved. Next time you're in some other hotel and you can't figure out how to get something to work - instead going online and damaging the reputation of the business - ask. That's what our staff is there for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We chose this place because it is located on the main street where the shops and restaurants are. We also wanted to be in a guest room that has a more modern decor not a place with a lot of flowers on fabrics and antiques. This place is showing wear and tear in the hallways and needs some touch up of the wood work and paint. The guest room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a great shower. The only suggestion for the bathroom is to add a little table to be able to put our cosmetic bags. There is plenty of room for that. It is a nice place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hey - thanks for the great review! We all work hard to provide guests of The Barlow with a great experience. Unlike a cookie cutter, chain hotel (that could be anywhere in the world) The Barlow is locally owned and independently operated hotel and - we admit - does show some "wear and tear" in the hallways from little "dings" that the walls have developed over its 100 years from people bumping into them, even though we touch up the paint every other month). That's what we feel gives the hotel its historic charm and unique character. We have shelves in the bathrooms for makeup bags, etc., and we'll make sure yours was there, but we left space in the bathroom so that two people can comfortably use it without crowding each other. We hope to see you back soon and thank you, again, for the terrific comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was my second stay at The Barlow for business travel. I really enjoy the well appointed and sizeable rooms. Most notably, the showers are amazing and help relax after a long day at work. The beds and pillows are, along with the fireplace my favourite things about the rooms at The Barlow.
A slight negative was being stuck outside the hotel after an intercontinental flight. It appears that the door bell isn't quite loud enough for the front desk staff to hear when they are in the basement. Luckily we were 'rescued' by other guests after a few minutes.
I love that the hotel has some cracks and squeaks - it shows it's old building charm with beautiful woodwork. I can understand that some people don't understand this kind of charm, but I much rather have a few oddities then stay in a hotel that could be anywhere on the globe and is without character.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFranziska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

On behalf of the management and staff of The Barlow thank you for the great review. As an locally owned and independently operated property we're proud of the personality of the hotel (and its quirks) and how the hotel reflects Hudson's historic charm and modern character. Sorry to hear about the SNAFU with the front desk - sometimes when they are in the basement it is hard to hear the front door bell; glad to hear it wasn't a major issue. Thanks for your continued loyalty to The Barlow. We appreciate your business, thank you for your fantastic comments and look forward to having to back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

A pleasant but underwhelming place to stay for a night. Obviously a renovated historic building, fairly well done but some additional attention could've been paid to the details. Room had a large portable air unit and uncomfortable settee. No views. Best amenities were the pillows and shower. Good location downtown. But we regret choosing Hudson for our overnight stop. Pretty run down and the citizens were more skanky than swanky. Lots of bad dressers and tats. Judgmental yes; but I'm writing a review so you're getting my judgment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Donnmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks so much for your comments. Converting a former downtown (thus no views) office building into a hotel was, as you can imagine, no easy task but we tried to balance keeping the historic details and charm of the building with ensuring guests are provided all the modern touches they expect. Being limited by the square footage of the existing property we inevitably missed some minor details, but overall the hotel reflects both Hudson's past and its present; a present that includes a wonderful diversity of cultures, generations, artisans and entrepreneurs - a diversity that, quite frankly, we celebrate. Hudson continues to, as it has done for decades, redefine itself and - yes- there are areas that could use some TLC, but the same could be said for almost every city and town throughout the country. Perhaps a little more research on your part about Hudson would have helped you avoid disappointment. Good luck in your future travels finding what you are looking for. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our expectations were rather low when we saw the building and the dark wainscoting in the entrance hall. But things quickly improved. We were met by a friendly, helpful manager and we found our room to be delightful. The beds and linens were first-class; there was a refrigerator and large HD TV and Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. There was a large, dynamic, multifunctional shower, which included the best rain shower we've experienced.
Surprisingly, there is an exercise room which has all the basics, including a treadmill.
There is also a large, modern elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Barlow and thank you very much for your positive comments. We're just a little confused: your comments don't seem to match the individual category ratings. Regardless, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again in the future! Merci bien!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
1 km away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
202 reviews
20.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
1.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: RM 618 - RM 1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only locally owned and operated boutique hotel The Barlow is located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district and offers 16 fully appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. The renovation of the 1920's building has retained much of the historic charm while providing modern amenities today's traveler expects. The hotel's central location makes it a perfect base from which to explore all that Hudson has to offer. Our Privileges Partner program offers guests of the hotel discounts at most shops, restaurants, galleries and entertainment venues, making a stay at The Barlow and even better value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Barlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing