We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Batterby House
Nearby Hotels
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barlow(Hudson)(Great Value!)
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peloke's Motel(Catskill)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort(Catskill)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western New Baltimore Inn(West Coxsackie)(Great Value!)
US$101
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Lounge of Catskill(Catskill)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elm Tree Motel(Craryville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
133
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry squirequichefresh fruitthe main streethost paultrain stationwarren streetqueen roombreakfast pizzamovie libraryflannel sheetsfree snack barrecord playermy husband and ihome away from homethe claw foot tubmade us feel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at Batterby House on a Monday through Wednesday in March for our babymoon. It was everything we were looking for and more: great location in Hudson, easy two-hour train ride from NYC, amazing breakfasts cooked by Joe and Courtney, luxuriously comfortable bed, stylish decor, and top-notch snacks available 24/7. The record player in the room was a fun touch, and the bath products from 2 Note smelled so good.

Joe and Courtney were gracious hosts. Breakfast each morning was a feast so decadent and delicious that we only needed a small afternoon snack to carry us to dinner. Joe tipped us off to $1 oysters at Wm Farmer and Sons from 5:00-6:00 p.m.

We stayed in Room 4, which looked exactly like it did on the website. The bathroom was gigantic. The linen bedding was super comfortable. Great attention to detail around the whole house.

It's a quick, seven minute walk from the Amtrak Hudson train station to Batterby House. Easy to walk to everything on Warren Street from the B&B.

Upside of visiting Hudson on off-peak days on an off-peak month was no waiting for a table at any of the restaurants. Many stores are closed on Mondays and/or Tuesdays, but we still found enough to do and enjoyed the relaxed pace. This was one of our favorite trips.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OysterFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review! Joe and I are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Babymoon with us at Batterby House :)
-Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My husband and I took an impromptu trip to Hudson, NY and REALLY enjoyed our stay at Batterby House. Joe and Courtney were the most welcoming hosts.I can't say enough about how down to earth and nice they were.The inn was comfortable and inviting. We loved the room with a lovely clawfoot bath and luxurious bed comforter. There was a really nice snack station with nuts, candies, chips and drinks that was oh, so convenient! The breakfast was out of this world with yummy biscuits, pancakes, potatoes and a large bowl of berries- raspberries, blackberries, strawberries and blueberries! Highly recommend this B&B! Lots of extra touches and fantastic hosts!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Joe and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Batterby House, and thank you so much for your kind review!
-Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the charming Batterby House for one night in March.

We were welcomed by Joe the host who showed us to our very spacious and light room via the plentiful snack station ( the nuts and Perrier were a REAL luxury). The claw foot bath and the record player with all the classics made it very hard to leave the room, not to mention the enormous memory foam bed that almost sucked you in!
Joe and Courtney couldn’t have been nicer in providing a map of Hudson including great recommendations to all the bars and shops on Warren Street which is just a moments walk for the large corner property.

The extensive breakfast spread laid on for us was delicious and even though we were an hour late Joe still insisted on cooking us a delicious hot breakfast. Twice baked potato with cheese and bacon with a poached egg. Not to mention the side of macaroni and cheese pancakes!

We are very much looking to returning in Summer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much, Joe and I are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the summer! - Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

This was our first time visiting Hudson and from the start, the service at Batterby House was top-notch. The house is beautiful, with lots of details that we really enjoyed - a sizable record collection with turntables in every room, a DVD library, shelves of books, games, beautiful glassware and samples from 2 Note (a local apothecary).

And on top of being a great host, Joe is also a fantastic cook! The breakfast quesadillas he made us were really delicious, as was the coffee.

With such as easy walk from the train station, and a short walk to just about everything in town, we will definitely be returning to the Batterby House :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for the review! Joe and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast (the breakfast quesadilla is one of my favorites - when we first opened we learned the hard way that we can't eat like our guests every day, but I have to make an exception on quesadilla day). -Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

My husband and I stayed in Hudson for one delightful night at Batterby House. We can't wait to go back! Joe and Courtney made us feel right at home. They had great suggestions for places to go in Hudson, which we especially appreciated, since we had never been to the area before. It was great that it was only a short walk from the train station too.

I can't say enough about the delicious breakfast! The freshly baked muffins, the yogurt and berries, the fresh juice, and the breakfast quesadillas with pico de gallo and breakfast potatoes were all amazing.

They have really nice touches including a film library stocked with awesome movies, a help yourself snack bar, clawfoot tubs in the bathrooms. There is a turntable in every room with records! We really enjoyed listening to our favorite albums while reading in our spacious and bright room. The bath products are from a local Hudson shop and they are truly luxurious. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robinadler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words! Joe and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Batterby House, and we hope to see you again. -Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews