We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack's review of Wm. Farmer & Sons”

Wm. Farmer and Sons
Reserve with OpenTable
Wm. Farmer and Sons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This location has been under renovation for quite some time. What a wonderful transformation. The bar is a wonderful place to sit, have a drink and enjoy a bite to eat from the bar menu. The main restaurant is on the lower level and the ambiance is great. The bar menu is excellent, service staff very professional and courteous. The restaurant just opened a week ago and we have been twice since we really enjoyed it. A full menu is coming soon.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 162 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Wm Farmer & Sons had only been open a week when we visited and the restaurant section was not yet in operation. So we sat in the bar area with the bar menu. It is essentially one large space on two levels and the feeling is larger than most restaurants in Hudson but the multi-level space and the old charm of a historic building provides a hugely comfortable aesthetic immediately.

The front door is separate from the door to the Inn that they have opened upstairs and it is not clear which door is which. We arrived and were fumbling outside when a staff member rushed out and helped us in. There is a long bar which was quite busy with diners and it seemed like a great place to have a bite and a glass of wine. In fact, that seems like the "go-to" place for just that.

We sat down at one of the bar tables which were comfortable and ordered from a small but decent bar menu. The menu had few options but varied.

Our orders included the "oysterman soup" (excellent home made soup of fingerling potatoes and leeks), the "country ham board" (three slices of cured ham which were stacked on top of one another and hard to separate to appreciate the taste of each - and hardly enough to be called a course to be honest) and the "cast iron bar burger" which was cooked to absolute perfection (so much so that I ordered another for the table to taste). Each of the selections ranged in price from $12-$20 and aside from the ham which I thought was just a mistake, it was very reasonable.

The wait staff were still being trained and so there was some awkward moments and a spilled glass of wine from a server. However, it was resolved professionally, personally and might have even provided the "connection" that makes a place like Wm Farmer your favourite place in Hudson. Service was fast and you felt very appreciated. Sometimes restaurants make you feel like you are lucky to be there. This place made you feel like they were celebrating that you choose them. It is a great narrative for a charming restaurant.

The one criticism I would have is that they choose to serve almost every selection on individual wooden boards. They are hugely awkward and you could see the staff struggling to pick them up and set them down on very limited table space. They are heavy and perhaps good for the restaurant but if I was Wm Farmer I would take them out of circulation in the bar tables asap. They don't allow sharing easily as you cannot lift the boards and just a matter of time before the spilled wines add up. While an organic feel, it just doesn't work.

The wine selection was good and they serve a great "dark and stormy", a tropical (Bermuda especially) rum drink. The drinks were generous, priced fairly and served perfectly. The dark and stormy was as good as any time I have been served one in Bermuda and a great choice on the menu as it gave the space a nautical or historical waters edge feel that is, in fact, the history of not only Hudson, but this building located a few blocks from the fancier section of Warren Street and close to the Hudson River.

The bill for a dinner for four was $280 that included a drink each and a full selection of menu items. There are a lot of restaurants in Hudson and many seem like the next (very good but unremarkable). Wm Farmer has created a space and menu that is different from the rest and it fills a void in Hudson. Good service, a great vibe and space. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wm. Farmer and Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing