We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations were better than website photos show”
Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We decided to make a one day trek via Amtrak into Manhattan during our New England trip. Hudson worked well for us as it is only two hours to Penn Station each way. I couldn't find the usual chain hotels in Hudson and decided against a B&B due to late arrival/early departure. So we went for something different and made reservations at this older downtown hotel even though their rooms looked a little dated on their website.

We had a pleasant surprise when we stepped off the elevator, opened our third floor room door and found an updated room. Admittedly, we spent very little time at this hotel during our two nights there but it was a very pleasant room with comfortable beds. My photos are a little dark but you may still be able to get an idea of what the room looked like.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlackLab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

My room in this historic hotel was very clean, with all amenities in place. They even use a washable remote! It's covered with a plastic coating so it can be disinfected between users. The breakfast was not exciting--but adequate. This hotel is perfectly situated at the top of Warren Street which features 19 art galleries, numerous antique stores, and all kinds of food and entertainment. This interesting, walkable street ends at a park at the bottom on the banks of the Hudson River, and the train station.

Downside: I have never experienced this before: You have to pay MORE if you want a nonsmoking room. Seems unfair--why not make smokers pay a premium if they want to ruin a nice room? Also, though there is coffee down at breakfast, there's no coffeepot in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScarletOHara-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very Clean room, modern decor - nothing like picture shown, ample parking,
within walking distance of all Restaurants, galleries and shops in Hudson.
Strong air conditioner, I recommend if in the area for biking, skiing or escape from the city. Will definitely book again at the St. Charles Hotel on my next visit to the Hudson valley area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getawaycyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Very nice place with good rates and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We are great fans of historic properties. We have appreciated our stays at the St. Charles for several years. We have been there many times over the years and have seen it through a few owners/managers and different restaurants. We have always enjoyed it. At times the dining room had beautiful artwork by local artists and we dined with people who had flown in from Canada and trained up from the City (NYC) for weekend events. One of our fondest memories is of the front suite overlooking the park. The first time we were thrilled by twinkling white lights enlivening the park as evening came. Snow had fallen and it was a winter wonderland. Imagine our excitement when a train passed right through the middle of the park beneath us! It was like a Dept. 56 Christmas in the City Village scene come to life. We loved waiting for the train to pass through. We also enjoyed walking the length of the main drag visiting restaurants, coffee shops, antique shops, etc. A great place in a beautiful historic tiny city. Of quaint historic hotels with great location and view and atmosphere and fun things to do in the area, and ideal price, we rate this a five. (Not 5 to compete with a 5 diamond hotel...but 5 in and of its own closs.)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank explorer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
1.3 km away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#3 of 3 in Hudson
101 reviews
20.9 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
272 reviews
16.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Coxsackie
1 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534-2532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: RM 424 - RM 874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast, free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, meeting room, ballroom, Victorian ceilings, antiques, new lobby with fireplaces. All rooms come with attached bathroom, 32 + " flat screen TV, AC/heat, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board. 24 Hour front desk staff, Located in the center of the town by Warren Street.beautiful view of park. More amenities available at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Charles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing