We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,153)
Filter reviews
5,153 results
Traveller rating
4,557
472
97
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,557
472
97
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clocktower restaurant the clock tower restaurant spa room golf break follifoot wing molton brown toiletries happy birthday every member of staff on arrival from start to finish special occasion roll top bath amazing hotel nothing is too much trouble upgraded to a suite lovely touch our wedding anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 5,153 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I wanted to treat my parents to a mini break for their diamond wedding anniversary. We celebrated my Dads 80th birthday here and it was such a success, I decided to bring them back. It was every bit as good as our previous visit. The moment you arrive you know you are going to be well looked after - greeted by the porter, bags unloaded, car parked for us, a very swift check in, where my parents were wished a happy anniversary, to being given free upgrades on both rooms (stayed in the follifoot wing) and a welcome bottle of prosecco, chilling on ice, in the parents room. We both had cards welcoming us back, and I had a mini pot of rudding park strawberry preserve waiting for me - a lovely touch. The staff here are exceptional. Everyone is so attentive and polite, from housekeeping, to reception, bar and restaurant staff. Nothing is too much trouble, and attention to detail is everything. Our rooms were perfect, we ate in the clocktower in the first night (reviewed separately), and had lovely breakfasts each morning. Everything is cleared so effortlessly without you even noticing, juice glasses and empty plates whisked away, and a new serving of butter appeared without asking, as the staff noticed it was low. As always, the turn down service, bottled water, weather forecast and the rudding park ladybird (!) happened on the night time, and the bathroom with the molton brown toiletries make for a leisurely soak after a day out and about in the area. I could go on, but will finish by saying, a trip to rudding park is not merely a stay, its an experience. Once you have been here, nothing else ever quite seems to measure up! You set the standard for hotels, as the one to beat! I have just booked another stay in May to celebrate mine and my best friends 50th birthdays. It will be her first time with you and I look forward to her experiencing the Rudding Park treatment for herself. Another excellent break - I cant wait to come back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room in the follifoot wing and no noise at all which meant a perfect nights sleep.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so thrilled that you decided to choose Rudding Park for your celebrations. We would never tire of hearing we offer exceptional service, neither would we take it for granted. Your reviews are important to us all, so thank you for your kind comments complimenting the entire team. They prove to us we are all doing our job well and are a constant source of motivation to each and every one of us.

It sounds as though the extra little touches were very welcome and that the restaurant more than catered for your needs with ensuring the attention to detail that the team love to achieve for our guests during both your evening and breakfast dining experiences.

We cannot wait for your return in May where we will look forward to spoiling you all over again. So we can create even more lasting memories for you.

Kind Regards
The Rudding Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Rudding Park on the 23.03.2018. I just wanted to leave a review to let you know how amazing of a day we had! I keep telling people that it was the best day ever and it wouldn’t have been possible without the help of certain staff members at Rudding Park.

Our first contact was Amy Herring, and although she is no longer at Rudding Park, I still want to make sure that she gets credit as she did an incredible job from the moment we met her at first appointment to the day she left. She was very responsive and was happy to answer any questions we had. We were very worried about the hand over to Lucy Galway; however, this was all done smoothly.

It’s very hard to organize a wedding when you are miles away from the miles you are getting married at (we live in Bournemouth!) It was really good of Lucy to introduce herself even just by email! It made us feel more at ease knowing she was proactive and ready to help at any time. Our meeting with her was also very good. She asked us a lot about where we are with the wedding planning and we found that really helpful as it prompted us to do more planning as we realized there were certain things we were missing! Like Amy, she was very responsive and was happy to answer any questions we had. There were quite a lot of changes to table plans (some due to unfortunate circumstances) and Lucy was very patient and was very clear on the changes and always sends updated function sheets and table plan. She was very helpful right up until the point everything was handed over to the duty manager, Izabella.

The Wedding day was an absolute ball! Scott and I arrived before the guests and Izabella was there ready to introduce herself which we thought was really good of her considering we’d never met! She gave us a little brief on how the day will go and ensured us not to worry about anything. I was particularly worried about timings; however, Izabella and another male staff member (I’m afraid I do not know his name) were very reassuring. She was very communicative with the photographer about timings and was very casual about it and constantly reminded us that it’s our day! And we really liked that as you do tend to forget and can easily get caught up in the chaos! Izabella also showed us Radcliffe room before anyone else and that was really nice of her as we weren’t sure how it was going to look like. I thought when we decorated the night before that the tables looked bare with just the books but after Colette put the flowers on, it looked so amazing and we were so happy! Izabella was also very attentive and was happy to do whatever we asked! Scott was very nervous about his speech so I asked Izabella if they could get Scott a Caipirinha cocktail (his favorite drink) so he can sip on it to put him at ease and when we got to the top table, it was there! Overall, we thought she did an amazing job from the moment we arrived until we left the day after!

The guests were massively impressed with Rudding Park! We had a couple attending who came all the way from London who was staying at Rudding Park on the night of the wedding. They didn’t want to come straight to the Church from their travels so asked if they could freshen up at Rudding Park and you guys were so on it and happy for them to have a shower and it’s gestures like this that sets this hotel apart! It is going above and beyond customer’s need that gets people coming back! Our guests were also very impressed with the fact that Rudding Park staff was happy to collect belongings from cars and get them sent to the room.

Scott and I were personally impressed that our belongings including our marriage certificate were already in our room! Our junior suite was amazing! Thank you, Rudding Park, for the lovely picture and the Champagne! We are so happy we chose this hotel for our wedding venue. We have no regrets!

The only negative is that early on with the booking process of the room, our guests were being told that all the rooms have been taken (which was not possible as we haven’t even sent invitations then) only close friends and family knew. We also had friends who would call to book a room and leave a voicemail but they didn’t get a callback, They had to call man times just to pay. It was all sorted in the end though, so all is good. Our guests were very impressed with their rooms!

Well done Rudding Park and staff. You guys do an amazing job and you should all be proud! Thank you for having us! No doubt we will see you soon! Thank you for making our Wedding day, THE BEST DAY EVER!

From,

Mr and Mrs Jackson <3

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Jackson

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and once again may we take the opportunity to say Congratulations to you both.

We are absolutely thrilled to read that you had an amazing day, despite your initial worries of a change in your wedding coordinator. Our team strive to ensure you are thoroughly looked after from the start and it sounds as though we achieved this through our proactive and friendly approach.

We are so delighted to hear that you were put at ease by the team and that after the gorgeous flowers were displayed, the room looked amazing for you. The entire team thrive on hearing positive reviews, they are important to each and every one of us. They also confirm to us we are doing our job well, so the team thank you so much for all your kind words complimenting us.

It is just so wonderful that not only did we impress you on your special day, that we also delighted your guests, which is such an outstanding accolade to us.

It sounds as though you appreciated the extra little touches and that you thoroughly enjoyed the junior suite and we couldn’t be happier that you decided to choose Rudding Park for such a momentous special occasion.

We were so disheartened after such an astounding review, to read that your guests encountered difficulty in getting in touch with our Reservations team to book, for which we profusely apologise. Unfortunately it is not always easy to predict how many enquiries we will have during the day and our Reservations team continually strive to work at maximum efficiency so that every guest is assisted as quickly as possible. We do appreciate your feedback however, as it highlights areas in which we can improve the service we offer to our guests.

It was an absolute pleasure for our team to be part of making your day so amazing and once again we cannot thank you enough for all the amazing things you have written about us.

We are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you back to Rudding Park in the not too distant future, where we will strive to create even more lasting memories for you. When you have a suitable date in mind, please contact us directly to ensure you receive details of our best available rates and special promotions.

Kindest Regards
The Rudding Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

What an amazingly beautiful setting. We hired the clock tower for a 80th Birthday. We had this room Because we had a wide age range and you could open the doors and the children were able to play in the gardens and we could see them. They had a wonderful time running around
The Staff couldn’t do enough for us. And I mean all of them from the lovely welcome from the receptionists to the waitress and waiters and Bar staff. Not forgetting the Porters who helped us with our luggage. Everyone had smiles and a kind word
The food was good and everyone was catered for. Plus some of us stayed the night and our rooms were gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. The swimming pool was great.
Yes it’s expensive but we all felt it was worth it
And for the next special occasion we will definitely go back.
One of our groups list an earring and we received a phone call from the hotel saying they found it. We were very impressed with speed they handled the situation my friend was so very grateful to have the earring returned as it was very sentimental.
The whole party had a wonderful time and we would recommend Rudding Park Spar for a visit
Even if you just go for a stroll around the grounds and a wonderful afternoon tea.
Thank you everyone for making our weekend so special we look forward to coming back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank AngelaM1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review.

We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the stunning surroundings and facilities Rudding Park has to offer, it sounds like you all had a wonderful time during your celebrations. The entire team strive to ensure your visit is a memorable one and we are so delighted to hear we achieved this through our friendliness, so thank you for your kind words complimenting us.

It is also great to read that those of you who stayed over for the evening, managed to take advantage of the swimming pool and the comfortable facilities within the room. We are so relieved to hear that the person in question was reunited with their earring with it being of such sentimental value.

We really do appreciate the recommendation and we hope you return to Rudding Park very soon, when you have a date in mind please contact us directly so we can offer you our best available rates and special promotions.

Kind Regards
The Rudding Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

I was at a wedding and can tel you there is no justification for the prices they demand its a massive ripoff, £46 for a £6 proseco or £11 a glass, and as for a vodka and tonic and a bottle of beer, the accommodation is average but over priced, other hotels offer the same for far less and equally placed

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our prices, for which i can only apologise. Please be assured that we do compare our prices regularly with local hotels of the same standard and have found them to be priced reasonably.

We do hope that despite your comments you had a thoroughly enjoyable day with the happy couple. We do hope to welcome you back to Rudding Park soon.

Kind Regards
The Rudding Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Such a fabulous place, with an essence of quaint character. Charming, warm and friendly staff.

Included in the room is access to the indoor sauna and pool (although I feel access to the rooftop should also be complimentary for hotel guests). All facilities however are pristinely clean.

There are three options available for eating out in the grounds, of which we found the food in the Clock Tower appealingly Fresh but also very rich.

All in all a fabulous getaway in a beautiful location.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 30rebeccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddingPark, The Rudding Park Team at Rudding Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so delighted that you were impressed with the beautiful surroundings of Rudding Park and the charm and friendliness of the team. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities the Spa has to offer. However, not all our guests want to take advantage of the Roof Top Spa, so if they want to utilise this area it can be added to the package at the time of booking or at a later stage, to ensure the flexibility for our guests, although we do strongly recommend you book early to avoid disappointment.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the fresh food in the Clocktower which was appealing to you, we were disheartened to read that is was a little rich for you though, for which I can only apologise.

We do hope you return to Rudding Park soon, where you may want to try our fine dining restaurant Horto. Please contact us directly to ensure you receive details of our best available rates and special promotions.

Kind Regards
The Rudding Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews