We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've Found My New Home in the Daks”
Review of RoosterComb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RoosterComb Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this place and its owner, Steve. I have been going to the Daks since the mid-90s, always staying at the same place, until it was sold two years ago. Looking for a new "home," I stumbled upon this charming inn. I was there 9 days, and I felt like I knew the innkeeper and his cleaning lady my entire life. The place is furnished with hand-made wood furniture, made in the barn behind the inn by Steve and his buddy John. The lodging prices are beyond reasonable, and you have full access to the kitchen and bathrooms. You can cook your own food and save a ton of $$$ by eating in. There are getaway places on the property, such as his porches with handmade chairs, a deck, and a fire pit surrounded, again, by his handmade chairs. Steve offered to make bonfires for us almost every night, and in the winter, there is a warming room for guests. There are places to dine within walking distance, as well as a grocery store, liquor store, and mountaineer shop. The location is in the heart of the High Peaks, where the hiking is sublime.....and it is away from the hustle and bustle of Lake Placid, but close enough for a drive in to town. If you are visiting the Daks, this place is where it's at. I will not go anywhere else in my travels north.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigkelt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed at the roostercomb this week after hiking..the roostercomb ! With our golden- perfectly located for your hiking convenience ,this dogfriendly inn was also super personfriendly- its owner, steve, its small size and cozy decor, its proximity to great food ( both noonmark and ausable inn ) as well as awesome shopping ( birch store for the fashionista and home decor lover is across the street, and the mountaineer is just down the street ) in short, great value, great vibe :)

Room Tip: Tho The suite ( with private bath) seems ideal- it was booked in our case but we encountered no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimbin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Rooster Comb is an excellent base for an Adirondack vacation. It's conveniently located near some great hiking trails. The rustic decor is gorgeous and perfect considering the location. The bedrooms and shared bath are very clean considering that most guests are hikers. There is a washer and dryer available for guest use. I didn't use it but I can see it being a valuable resource after an unexpected muddy outing. There is a full kitchen available for guests but if you don't want to cook, the Noonmark diner is right across the street. We were there on a cold, rainy weekend so Steve built a fire for us in the sitting room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Second time staying with Steve at the Rooster Comb Inn. Very charming and clean B&B, very reasonably priced. It's within walking distance of the Noonmark Diner for a great breakfast and the Ausable Inn for hearty dinners. There's a common kitchen/dining area with a large refrigerator for guests, along with a coffee maker, right next to the outdoor deck that has a picnic table. On chilly nights, there's a downstairs sitting area with a pot belly stove, that is part of the downstairs display area for beautiful rustic furniture and art. Also an outside fire pit to imbide under the starts on warm evenings. All-in-all, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Roostercomb was a great base for hiking and exploring the Adirondacks. With the rooms upstairs, the Rustics store downstairs (including a wonderful, cozy room where guests could sit around the wood-burning stove in beautiful handmade furniture), and the woodshop in the back, it's a great setup. Keene Valley is a small, simple mountain town and Roostercomb is just off the main road (which is not a big or busy road), across from a tasty down-home restaurant.

Everything was clean and well-maintained, including the shared kitchen and laundry and back deck. We stayed in the Suite, the only room with its own bathroom. It's an amazing deal!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrinningOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
19.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,344 reviews
17.9 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 32 in Lake Placid
27 reviews
13.4 km away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Keene Valley
206 reviews
Show Prices

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Address: 3 Market St, Keene Valley, NY 12943-0678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range: RM346 - RM393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — RoosterComb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is located in Keene Valley,NY walking distance or short drive to many trails. Our Adirondack style six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. Large deck area and fire pit offer summer hangout. In winter we have cozy room with wood stove to rest after your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your RoosterComb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing