We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So near and yet so far”

Boathouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 170 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The Boathouse Restaurant, we invite you to enjoy casual and fine shoreline dining, stunning views, and exemplary service in a casual, nautical-inspired atmosphere. Located on the picturesque Lake George in a beautiful boathouse originally constructed in 1876, we’re the perfect place to relax, unwind, and enjoy fresh, simple bites and sips -- a delicious dining experience steeped in Adirondack history and charm. Join us for a meal on a lazy summer afternoon or celebrate special moments over a fresh-caught seafood dinner. No matter the occasion, The Boathouse Restaurant is sure to delight your senses. All aboard -- your table awaits!
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My family selected the restaurant for the view. Little did we know how many stairs it would take to finally reach our destination. From the road it is deceiving. The food was average but ample. Service was good. Not worth the hike.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dorothy, thank you for enjoying our place! We'd like to invite you back to dine with us again. We're sure that you'll find a dish you'll absolutely love.

Thank you for the review,
Your Friends at The Boathouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Right over top of the water, so view of the Lake is pretty good, but food and service is all a bit wet. Nothing bad, just average. A bit more expensive than other places around Lake George but you're probably paying for the view. There were a lot of regulars there though, so people obviously keep coming back. I just think that like most tourist-based businesses, at a certain point they realize they don't really need to try so hard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank idonotusescreennames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennica V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

While I am glad you enjoyed the food, I wish the food and service could have equally impressed. True, we do have our fair share of tourists that visit, but that doesn't mean we're going to stop trying to deliver on a five-star meal. While we didn't do that for you this time, I hope we'll have a chance to truly impress you the next time you're visiting Lake George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Had a great meal by the water! Good drinks, nice reasonably priced meal. We will be back! Wonderful view of the boats going by.

Thank aimstera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

You're free to come by again anytime! You can always count on us for good drinks and great meals.

Thank you for stopping by,
Your Friends at The Boathouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

The Boathouse is very nice located but they do so incredibly nothing out of it! You feel like placed in a fast food restaurant next to the lake.
The food is so fu... overpriced for it's quality, I have no words...
Nobody must belive in what I'm writing here, but try it out by yourself and get dissapointed...

Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred V, Owner at Boathouse Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy our place, Markus. We hope you do give us another chance, as we know that you'll find a dish that you'll love.

We appreciate the feedback,
Your Friends at The Boathouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The food was very good, staff was friendly and quick to serve you. The view at sunset is unbelievable !!

Thank martinmN977MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing