We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunham's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Great wedding destination”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My brother had his wedding here and it was perfect. We booked all of the cabins, which were huge, so it was so convenient to all of the amenities. I personally stayed in one of the hotel rooms and if I went back I would definitely opt for the cabin. Great place overall

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    49
    15
    13
    10
See reviews for
80
46
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My family and I were guests at a wedding held at Dunham's Bay. The setting was absolutely beautiful and the entire staff was top notch--always happy to help and very friendly. To help my elderly relatives with mobility issues, staff used a golf cart to drive them to their destinations. We stayed in the 6-room cabin studio and used its adequate kitchen amenities. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, though needed minor maintenance. Activities for the whole family were enjoyed--especially the horseshoes, pool, and fire pit. The food was outstanding and there was a large selection from which to choose.

Room Tip: Very happy with the 6-room cabin studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My husband and I recently got married at Dunhams Bay. We had both a South Indian and American wedding ceremony. Lynn and all the staff were both supportive and proactive in helping our family plan and prepare for a double wedding in a relatively short period to of time. The Dunhams Bay team bent over backward create and organize the wedding we hoped for.

Dunhams Bay provided a relaxed yet elegant ambiance which is exactly what we were looking for !

Unfortunately cell phones do not work at Dunhams bay which makes communication especially prior to a wedding fairly difficult. We chose to only use local vendors and while most of them were fantastic, others were not so prepared or professional. In addition, dunhams bay is very difficult for handicap or older people to navigate.

All in all we had a beautiful wedding day and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Lynn and all the staff really know how to make even complicated, double-ceremony international weddings come off without major problems (lesson learned - cell phones may not work there, and emcees and photographers need to communicate more! other local wedding services are top-notch). The location is stunning, the food and ambiance and the pool were all great. Some access problems for mobility-impaired folks. More notice about the 'end' of the seasonal, restricted access to the lake front would be appreciated, as would more places to hang wet bathing suits (at least in the ADK cabins). Great base from which to explore a really lovely area.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. We really appreciated having a 'cabin' with a small kitchen/LR. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieMcL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed in one of the Queen hotel rooms. I probably would have had a better stay at the Howard Johnson. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the grounds were somewhat run down and the walls were PAPER thin. We were awakened at 7am by hearing the people next door doing what some couples do - and they were not being loud. The walls are just that thin, and there was a large gap in the doorway that connects the two rooms big enough that I could stick my fingers through. There was a wedding going on, and we had to turn on the AC unit and the TV to drown out the commotion.

The rooms could use an update, but it is clear that they are making every update possible without completely re-habing the whole place. Big flat screen TVs in the rooms (with HDMI hookups, for those bringing a Playstation), nice microfiber couches, updated bedding. Personally, I would have just liked a lamp or something so that I could put my makeup on. Look guys - if you are going to charge a minimum of $120 per night in the off season at least offer a continental breakfast. This is upstate NY, not the Hamptons.

If you are going here for the beach - BEWARE. It is minuscule. The beach is across the street and is part of a boat launch. Additionally, it is not owed by the hotel. This is not what I would consider an amenity. We took a walk down and before we made it across the street a very crass and unfriendly man came out and demanded to see our wrist bands (which we had). Still, we felt uncomfortable and left.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
5.6 km away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
6.5 km away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#20 of 89 in Lake George
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#3 of 89 in Lake George
134 reviews
5.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Property: Dunham's Bay Resort
Address: 2999 State Route 9l, Lake George, NY 12845-5009
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price range (per night): RM514 - RM1,375
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunham's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing