We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 169 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$55
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Locally inspired farm to table cuisine located in a 19th century Queen Ann mansion on the shores of Lake George NY. Enjoy fine dining and eloquent lodging in 10 unique suites that match the style of the Inn.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Enjoyed New Years’ Eve dinner at the Inn. Ate here several times during the year and, once again, the food and wine was outstanding! Gillian also provided exceptional service demonstrating knowledge of menu items and was attentive but not intrusive.
Chef Adam Padilla created a fixed tasting menu for this special evening with enjoyable 5 course options. It was a fun special night! Upon other visits during the year we ordered off the menu and always found multiple beef/pork/poultry/fish choices that were cooked to perfection.

Thank jklkbkjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Erlowest. We are very happy that you chose to ring in the new year with us!

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I️ celebrated a recent anniversary weekend at the Inn at Erlowest. We loved the property and the service. Our room was on the small side but had a view of the lake.

There were weddings Friday, Saturday and Sunday. The second floor lounge area turns into the bridal party prep area. We didn’t mind since we were out and about enjoying the area.

The outdoor fireplace was great at night time with a night cap. They brought out blankets to keep us warm as the evening got chilly.

Breakfast is included and prepared to order. We enjoyed dinner Saturday evening in the Inn restaurant.


Thank Deb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for choosing The Inn at Erlowest! We are sorry if you found your suite a bit small. Each king bed suite at Erlowest is unique and we have a range of room sizes and views. Perhaps on your next stay I could suggest the St. Sacrement or Erlowest Suites which are both larger, or our Lake George suite which is quite large and offers lake views!

We hope to see you again.

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Attended a wedding over the weekend. Gorgeous location in the fall; it was a little chilly for an outside ceremony and cocktail hour. The reception food was good, servers weren't overly friendly which surprised me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suzi1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for attending a recent wedding celebration at The Inn at Erlowest. We work with the bride and groom along with their parents for a year or more to prepare for the best day of their lives. Of course, the weather is not anything that can be perfectly planned. In some events, the bride and groom are insistent that they want an outside focus. Erlowest offers heaters and fire tables in that event to be sure that our client's guests are as comfortable as possible. If it was cooler than your comfort level, we apologize.

Regarding our servers, we apologize if our presentation and delivery left you with a feeling that the team is not friendly. We are sharing this unique feedback with the team in order to be sure that the entire team is focused on our overall guest experience.

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The food and service was over the top. Delicious food, wonderful service.The breakfast that comes with the room was enough to keep us full for most of the day. The dining rooms are beautiful and very very clean.

Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Inn at Erlowest! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will see you again soon!

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We recently had dinner there, and it was somewhat of a disappointment.
What was originally a stone mansion overlooking Lake George has now been cobbled into a wedding venue and restaurant, neither of which is ideal.
If your destination is a wedding venue, you will not have the entire house to yourself because it is still a restaurant and inn that is open to the public. If it is a restaurant you’re looking for, it may well be overrun with large wedding.
The original building is undoubtedly elegant and beautiful, and it has a rich history. There is a delightful stone terrace overlooking Lake George, but the view has been obstructed with a number of box-like timeshares between the inn and the lake. The view is still impressive, but it is significantly detracted by the rental units and the pool. You can get a better, if not more humble, view from the Blue Water, further up the lake.
As for the food, it was was average, as was the service, considering the price. It was not worth the fairly substantial tariff.
In short, I might go back but it is not the breathtaking locale that it purports to be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

We are sorry that your experience did not match your expectations, but would take exception from your summary of our property. The entire team at The Inn at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort are dedicated to delivering the expected service to all of our guests at the highest level.

The Inn at Erlowest is far from a cobbled together combination of lodging, dining and event space. The entire staff is dedicated to delivering exceptional service no matter your reason for visiting with us. We routinely and seamlessly balance the interests of our events (typically weddings) with in-house bed and breakfast guests along with our dining room guests.

With all due respect to other properties along Lake George, The Inn at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort share 15 acres and over 1,000 feet of lake front including to private beach locations that are unmatched on Lake George. Comparisons with other properties in fairness need to factor the full set of services (Erlowest includes welcome amenity, turn down service with house made chocolates and made to order breakfast by on of our chefs; Sun Castle Resort offers lake view villas and townhouses; the property offers complementary kayaks, 2-beachs, docks and a heated pool). Our dining room is one of a handful of 4-Diamond AAA restaurants in NY State and the only restaurant in the Capital District. We do not offer a bar oriented dinner service, nor do we we offer routine dinner choices with a baked potato. Our Executive Chef is charged and delivers exceptional dinner choices with a wonderful blend of products from local (within an hour) providers along with fish from New Zealand. As far as we know, this reach is restricted to Erlowest and our guests.

We are sorry that your experience with us was not as is appears. We would extend an invitation to a future stay if you are looking for a high-touch exceptional stay along Lake George.

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Erlowest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing