We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
US$167
View deal
Agoda.comUS$168
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
37
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
37
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decorated rooms private garden quiet corner made us feel at home isa manuel mixture fort museum chill ruins character africa sunset roof guests transfer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2022

We stayed at Terraco for 7 nights which is located in a quiet corner with a private garden leading onto the most beautiful little beach. Terraco offers you a mixture of premier comfort, central location, an intimate atmosphere with beautiful furniture pieces hand selected by the Owners from all over the world on their travels. The staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating which made us feel at home. With a mixture of exquisitely decorated rooms, they cater for solo, couples and family stays. The owners are hands on and very dedicated to their guests. This place is HIGHLY recommended. Unforgettable.

Room tip: Top Room offers a roof top Terrance with magnificent panoramic views of the ocean and city center.
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JSBez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terraço das quitandas, Proprietário at Terraco das Quitandas Design Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2022

It is always a pleasure for us to share our home with our guests and make them feel at home. This desire is redoubled when we receive guests like you, who allow us to be part of our family, that of Terraço das Quitandas. a big thank you for your sympathy and affectionate comment. Best wishes for a great year for you and see you soon. Quitandas staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019

Quitandas will take you back in time when the Portuguese Caravel's first arrived at Ilha. The well maintained interiors with a truly amazing design touch will leave you dazzled.
Add all this to the amazing rooms and you will wan't to comeback definitely.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustavod2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
okhwiri, Manager at Terraco das Quitandas Design Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2019

Dear Gustavo Silva

Was a pleasure to meet you and serve you. We are really happy and proud with your lovelly comment. Hope to see you soon!
Staff Quitandas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019

We only stayed here for one night as part of our honeymoon trip to Mozambique, but we will never forget it. The building has been wonderfully restored and is among the grandest hotels we've ever stayed in. The location, in Stone Town with a sea view, was perfect. We especially want to thank Antonio who was wonderfully welcoming and helpful - thanks Antonio for making us feel at home.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LindsayT818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
okhwiri, Owner at Terraco das Quitandas Design Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Thanks for your kind comnent.
Was a real pleasure to wellcome such a lovely couple. Will be a pleasure to have you again in the future. All the best from Quitandas Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018

Terraco is tucked away in a quiet corner of the historic heart of Ilha, with a private garden along the beach. The hotel itself reflects the ambience, a traditional old building beautifully restored and filled with elegant furnishings and decorations.

There are only 4 or 5 rooms, all with sea views, and Ricardo, Mocambique-born Portuguese, is a fount of information about and enthusiasm for local history.

No credit cards, so you have to reserve by bank transfer. More expensive than the modern and comfortable Feitora, but much more atmospheric and better located, closer to the Fortaleza and old heart of this fascinating outpost..

3 very good restaurants a short walk away, and an additional bonus is the helpful staff including Fatima the grumpy maid.

Memorable, distinctive and highly recommended.

Obs! Avoid the long and uncomfortable chapa/autocarro ride from Nampula with an a/c transfer at the reliable Isaac.executivetransfers@gmail.com

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Irlantilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
okhwiri, Owner at Terraco das Quitandas Design Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2019

We would like to thank you once again to give us the pleasure to serve you at our Guest House.
From all Quitandas staff accept our warm regards.
Antonio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Terraço das Quitandas combines perfect location, family atmosphere, spacious rooms, elegant furniture and total comfort. It was a real pleasure to spend 3 days in this renovated historic building and discover the island from this privileged base camp. Dona da Casa Isabel, a local celebrity and dedicated host, knows everyone around. She and her staff are a great promoters of the island secrets. Ask for a boat tour (Quitandas has its own dhow) to one of the pristine beaches nearby....

Room tip: all rooms are excellent. The one on the terrace is special (view)
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jeanmichelc761
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terraco Q, Gerente at Terraco das Quitandas Design Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Was a pleasure to wellcome you, looking forward to see you again in a close future.
Warm Regards
Antonio, Issufo and Fatima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews