We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times at Schulte's: Cabin: Oak #2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schulte's Family Lodge
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The booking process seems a little odd, but our reservation was fine. The family that owns this place is very nice and will try to get you anything you need (even a couple tlbs of butter). The cabins are rustic, but have everything you need. We stayed here for Ironman Lake Placid with another family and had a great time. we stayed in cabin "Oak 2" which has 3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, kitchen and dinner area. The kitchen is small and we wish there would have been a living room area, but the front porch served as that for us. The pool was great for the kids and the location to town was great. For Ironman the course passes by 5/6 times.

The biggest parts we found were to be disappointing was that we were told there was s full fridge and it was small and if it's hot you'd better hop you have a fan or two. Other than that can't complain. It was VERY reasonably priced for that weekend especially. We fit 4 adults and 4 children into this cabin. The only times it seems tight were while cooking dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomDad2toddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

Schulte's has housekeeping cottages (I stayed in Cedar) and a motel, which I'm not familiar with. The cottage was clean and comfortable. For a place that sleeps four, there weren't enough dishes or silverware. However, sheets & towels were provided, and the latter were changed daily. (Sheets might have been too - I know they were changed at least once in a week!)
With no waterfront and no view of the mountains, this isn't a place, for me, to hang out. But it's 5 minutes outside Lake Placid village, maybe 20 minutes to Whiteface and Saranac Lake (using backroads for the latter). So getting out to do anything from shopping outlets to canoeing the wilderness area is easy by car.
Mrs. Owner is very happy to accommodate; overall, the place is fine but showing its owners' age. They've had it 40 years.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stillgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

after several glasses of wine on a recent thursday night, my friends and i made the dubious decision to register for the xterra lake placid triathlon that sunday. another friend who had previously stayed at the lodge, called schultes that night and confirmed that they had a room for us. when we arrived two days later, we were warmly greeted by our host, birgit schulte (and the lodge kitty!). even though the one room was spacious enough for our party of four, birgit was kind enough to allow us an extra room--gratis! it was great to have the extra space for our bikes and gear. the rooms are actually little hansel-and-gretel-like cabins: charming, cozy, and clean. we left before dawn the next day to register for the race--a grueling off-road triathlon in the pouring rain! though we were way past checkout by the end of the race, birgit let us return to our rooms for hot showers--even though the rooms had already been cleaned. both of these gestures were the ultimate in hospitality...something you'd be hard pressed to find in a chain hotel and truly appreciated by our exhausted and muddy group! on top of that, this hidden gem is a great value for the money--even without the free extra room. we will definitely be back to the lodge for the xterra in 2011. and next time, we'll add on an extra day so we can relax and regroup in lovely lake placid before the long drive home!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
2  Thank supersonnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Schulte’s Family Lodge this Memorial Day weekend and just wanted share a little of my experience to help others who are thinking of staying in Lake Placid. The lodge is located minutes away from the center of town but even closer to mesmerizing beauty of the Adirondacks. The room was very neat, clean, and had an amazing private balcony with a view of mountains. The lodge and rooms are definitely unique and not you’re average Days Inn. It looks like it has been picked up from Southern Germany in the Alps and placed in Lake Placid with wonderful wood work and a very open country feel. It also has cabins and for sure next time I would like to stay in one. It seems weird to me to go to the Adirondacks and say that I stayed in a place like the Econolodge. Not only is the place great but the warmth, friendliness, and family atmosphere that the Schulte’s give you when you stay makes you feel like part of the family. I would definitely recommend staying with the Schulte’s and enjoying all of the beauty that the Adirondacks and Lake Placid has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Firecat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This little inn is a great deal. The owners are very warm and inviting. I've stayed here twice when visiting my daughter at her camp in Lake Placid. I paid about $60 a night which was relatively cheap in comparison to the bigger name hotels in the area. There are a few motels/inns that may even be cheaper than this but they're not as nice. This place is clean and a great value. Spacious rooms with pretty much everything you need and they serve complimentary breakfast (tea, coffee, bagels and fruit). Its definitely not luxury - far from it but it serves its purpose!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
4.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
6.3 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#12 of 31 in Lake Placid
246 reviews
5.5 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#16 of 31 in Lake Placid
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
121 reviews
5.0 km away
Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Spruce Lodge Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 14 in Lake Placid
63 reviews
7.1 km away
Woodlake Inn
Woodlake Inn
#14 of 14 in Lake Placid
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schulte's Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schulte's Family Lodge

Address: Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lake Placid
Price Range: RM270 - RM561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schulte's Family Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Schulte's Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schulte`s Family Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing