We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$171
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Placid Bay Inn(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$449
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$593
US$578
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
89
90
67
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
90
67
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdelta bluemain streetdouble doorslimited parkingmemory foammunicipal parkingsitting areamirror lakecentrally located hotelwalls are thincan't beat the locationmiddle of townhear everythingthe wi fipull out sofaking bedcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We had read some of the other reviews and we were expecting to be staying in a noisy hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. Yes near the door you can hear traffic in the hall similar to most hotels. But this hotel is no more noisy then any other we have stayed in. In fact we had a couple great nights sleep.

The rooms are modernly decorated and quite spacious with a separate sitting room. We stayed in the King size bedroom with lake view. You can see the lake across the street if you stand at the window. We had one issue with our room which was quickly resolved after we contacted the main desk. We would not have any hesitations of staying here again and I would recommend it for anyone looking for an inexpensive centrally located hotel

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Marc,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the kind words and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of making the rooms even more sound proof. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Lake Placid. Until then, safe travels.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel was a bit outdated with a pungent smell through the hallway. The television was broken and rude front desk personnel. It was in a good location but definitely going to try a different place next year.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Adkventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

I am sorry to hear that you had troubles with your t.v. during your stay. I am very surprised to hear that you felt that the front desk staff member was rude to you and if that is the case I would like to express my apologies and assure you the matter will be addressed as our goal is for all of our guests to have a pleasant stay and experience. I am curious of what you felt was outdated and I encourage you to email the hotel directly, as all of our guest rooms have been fully renovated less than two and a half years ago. Unfortunately, during your stay there was also a large Adult Hockey Tournament that took place in town. Most all of the hotels were full with athletes and their equipment. That may or may not have contributed to the smell that you spoke of. Regardless, we appreciate your feedback and review as we continue to strive to improve. We hope that you will visit our beautiful Olympic Village again and allow us to have a second chance to meet you needs and expectations.
Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed here one night. The parking was horrible. The room was clean and quiet. Service was good, and employees were pleasant and polite. There is a restaurant that serves breakfast within the building, but it is not included in the cost of the room. The location is convenient to walk around town.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was quiet
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cwhitmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear cwhitmarsh,


Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you might have experienced with our limited parking situation. However, we are thankful for the numerous municipal parking lots that are within just a minutes walk from the hotel.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

John Hikalea-Tryon
Front Office Manager
Hotel North Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was our second time staying here. The location is perfect and very convenient to anything you’re looking to do in town. However, we were very disappointed in our past trip. Upon getting back to the room late at night, I discovered a stain on the comforter. We slept with the sheets only and were up extremely early due to the noise in the hotel. During check out I was sure to let them know of the stain on the comforter (which looked like blood) and was assured the manager would be in in ten minutes and they would have them take a look at it and let them know of our concern. No one ever reached out to us to discuss this or for an apology. Very disappointed in the customer service and cleanliness.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M, Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. Our sincerest apologies for the problems you mentioned during your getaway with us. I am sorry that you are were not satisfied with your stay.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

John Hikalea-Tryon
Front Office Manager
Hotel North Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My wife & I stayed for 5 mid-week nights and had a good experience!
Prices were reasonable (by Lake Placid standards). The room was comfortable (with one notable exception) and clean. The bed was a nice memory foam with high quality linens and warm blankets.

The warm bed was very important because we had to sleep with the heat off despite that it was -10 deg C outside. The heater makes so much noise and it either never shuts off or it cycles on/off every 30 seconds. We had to heat the room up before we went to bed and then turn it off for the night. The room got cool but not cold. I would then get up early to turn it on before my wife got out of bed. We made it work but I suspect not everyone will be so accommodating.

Being mid-week during a low-demand time, we had the hotel mostly to ourselves from Sunday to Wednesday but things picked up by Thursday. On Thursday we were unable to find parking and had to park down the street in the city lot. That means getting up at 7am to go and feed the meter in the city lot or risk getting a ticket. The hotel *really* should work out some agreement with the city to let us pre-pay and just put a ticket on our car the night before. It's a stupid parking system that needs work.

The coffee that is supplied for the in-room k-cup coffee maker was pretty much undrinkable; however, the coffee in the lobby was spectacular so a quick walk downstairs took care of the coffee!

Staff was friendly and helpful.
Despite some deficiencies, we'll likely stay here again some day for another mid-week getaway.

Room Tip: You can hear the room above so I'm guessing top floor might be best.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ott2ToyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hikalea-Tryon
Front Office Manager
Hotel North Woods

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews