We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty service”

Heid's of Liverpool
Get food delivered
Ranked #1 of 9 Quick Bites in Liverpool
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Established in 1917, Heid’s is a Central New York landmark. A must stop for old friends, family, and travelers from around the globe! At Heid’s, our Hofmann dogs have a uniquely delectable flavor that only a Heid’s visitor can describe. Customers feel it’s the way they’re grilled; others are convinced it’s the formulation of the product itself that lends Heid’s dogs an aroma and taste that – despite the efforts of others – simply can’t be duplicated. Ask any of the thousands of tourists that stop at Heid’s while traveling through Syracuse on the nearby New York Thruway, high-school kids, Syracuse University students, and the general public. All who experience Heid’s will tell you “there’s just nothing like the taste of a Heid’s hot dog.”
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Minus one star for the “I am making minimum wage and I really don’t want to be here” service. That said, the hot dogs were delicious. Surprisingly not too salty.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Adv4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

My husband and I have been going to Heid’s for literally four decades. It has always been great and we never had a single complaint. On Monday we had to go to Liverpool for an appointment and thought it would be a wonderful quick lunch stop. It was the worst lunch we had in years. What a disappointment. First of all the onion rings were grease soaked and saturated. Obviously the cooking oil was not the right temperature. For $5.50 for three small rings and two large rings, a total of five onion rings, they should have been edible. The hot dogs were smaller than usual and didn’t”t even fill the bun. Has their brand changed again? There was about an inch of unfilled bun on one side and a half inch in the other. The macaroni salad tasted awful and was discarded along with the rings. They were out of potato salad. We wanted sodas but their soda machine was down and had a water leak. The only great thing was the Byrne chocolate milk! Yay for Byrne! Boo for Heid’s.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank eyerishwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

Perfect spot. Great hot dogs. Get the combo and then get one and one to try both kinds. The mustard is phenomenal. They have ketchup, but that's for animals. The hot dogs are better than the fries. Next time I'll try the onion rings.

Go across the street and sit by the lake and enjoy life. This is the way.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GCC14173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heid's of LIverpool, Marketing at Heid's of Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2021

Thanks for the wonderful review of Heid's! You won't be disappointed with the onion rings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Because. Best ever hot dog. Lots of other lunch items on the menu but hot dogs are the main attraction.

Date of visit: February 2021
9  Thank 542jerryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heid's of LIverpool, Marketing at Heid's of Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2021

If you stop by this summer, we will have our mobile food trailer ONSITE to help speed up the lines! Thanks for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

Delicious hot dogs, fries and onion rings. The pepper relish is an excellent condiment. Friendly staff and a old school vibe. They've been doing things right here for years.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank AHRESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heid's of LIverpool, Marketing at Heid's of Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2021

Why thank you! Over 100 years in business and still trying to do things right!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heid's of Liverpool also viewed

 
Liverpool, Salina
 

Been to Heid's of Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.