We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrium hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Stayed here for a wedding. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is a popular place for weddings around the area. (They do give a generously discounted rate for wedding groups.) So noisy people may be coming back late at night on weekends, but I doubt this happens during the week.

This is an atrium hotel so about half the rooms face the atrium, and some face an inner hallway/corridor where there are conference rooms, and sliding doors face the hallway. I got a hallway room and immediately requested a change, which they did the next day. The room is the same as other rooms - but I felt like I was sleeping in a hallway. You have zero privacy with curtains open, no sun, and if people are noisy in the conference rooms you will hear it.

The atrium has an open chlorinated indoor pool and there can be a smell of chlorine in the long hallways you walk down to get to all rooms, even the outside rooms - not just on the first floor but other floors. If you're sensitive to this, it would be best to stay somewhere else. The outside room I was switched to was much more pleasant but windows don't open, so again, if you're chemically sensitive, be aware.

You have to call a couple of days in advance to avoid an inner or atrium room as they do get completely booked up. The staff are nice and try to be helpful / accommodating but if they're booked up, there's nothing they can do to change your room.

Otherwise, the hotel was more or less what you would expect of a Marriott and once my room was changed, I was happy and comfortable there.

Room Tip: If you don't want an atrium or hallway-facing room, call in advance to request an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I was travelling alone for work & this stay was Awesome. The hotel was so clean, staff so friendly & helpful i kept thinking this place is unreal! I don't want to mention anyone by name because everyone i encountered was exceptional!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank JanRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I had a great experience at Melville Marriott Long Island , the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms are well kept and clean. The restaurant & bar had great food & service as well.

Sana Arshad was so accommodating & helpful, I thank her for her warm reception & service! Thank Melville Marriott Long Island

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Randa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I recently gave a seminar at the Melville Marriott and stayed in their beautiful hotel . The rooms are very nice and very clean . There is a great bar and restaurant the food was great I loved the calamari ! There is valet parking if you are staying at least one night and the staff was extremely helpful . I would stay here again .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel several times in recent years on business. .It has generally been an outstanding place - the atrium inside is majestic and the staff if helpful. But I had trouble this week. This is the time of year(October) when it gets warm in the day and cool at night. However this hotel is either not capable or not willing to provide both heating and air conditioning at the same time. Most hotels that charge like this one have both simultaneous heat and air. I had to order blankets and a space heater. The pool is huge but the cold water was not inviting. But the main problem was that the lock on the door would not accept my keys. I demonstrated the problem to engineering , who promised to fix it and they did not, I had to repeat showing that my keys did not work to convince them a problem existed. Replacement keys malfunctioned They also did not report the problem to the oncoming shift. So I kept getting locked out of my room over and over and finally was a captive in the room I left the room unlocked to go out and get breakfast.. They offered to change rooms but I do not travel lightly and it would be inconvenient They needed to fix the lock !

The rate varied from one night to the next by over $100.

Room Tip: get an outside room not facing the LIE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
2.2 km away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
2.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Long Island - Melville
6.3 km away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Rd, Melville, NY 11747-3012
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range: RM625 - RM1,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Marriott Long Island offers sophisticated accommodations and thoughtful amenities, for business and leisure travel in the Huntington area. Our Melville hotel's location is close to several major airports, making us a perfect destinations for weddings and meetings. Near us, you'll find many things to do in Huntington and Woodbury, including attending a concert at NYCB Theatre at Westbury and visiting the Long Island Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing