We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Newburgh
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Economy Inn(Newburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Roundhouse(Beacon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Motel(New Windsor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
47
30
7
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
30
7
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bold housebridge viewhistoric streetwest pointnancyvictorianquiltprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This B&B is in a fabulous old house on an historic street of beautiful houses. The rooms are quaint and authentic, many with a stunning view of the grand Hudson River. The caretaker is dedicated to guests' comfort, and cooks a generous, delicious big breakfast to order. An amazing deal for the price!!

Room Tip: choose rooms with porches overlooking the river
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorklady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Just wrapped up my second stay at Stockbridge-Ramsdell BnB. The place was always a little worn for wear, but it was cozy and the prior owner, Nancy, was so gracious and made the best breakfast. The place was full of books and comfortable furniture. It was a little dusty, could have been cleaner. But the overall experience was so warm that we overlooked the shabbiness.

Apparently the BnB has changed hands. Mike is the caretaker now and the owners live off-site. Mike works very hard to take care of the guests. But I sincerely believe the house is way more than he can care for alone. The personal touches, like books, art and cozy nooks to relax in are gone. Instead of a formal table in the dining room, there are two patio tables. The house overall was quite dirty, cobwebs were everywhere, the bathroom was not as clean as one would like, and the carpets were dingy. It definitely needs a deep clean, a fresh coat of paint and some more help for Mike to keep it up.

Otherwise, the house is charming and you can't beat the view or the location for seeing the Hudson and nearby museums. Newburgh is a really interesting town full of history and grand old homes. I hope Stockbridge Ramsdell has better days ahead. It holds a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: The room on the third floor with the private balcony overlooking the Hudson is great.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

After looking at the photos and reading the reviews I booked a night here with my wife, we were horrified, it was run down which I could deal with but it was FILTHY! There was a vacuum cleaner in the hallway but our room never saw. Here is a photo, I gave the bathroom floor wipe before I would step in.
The reviews from trip advisor are old and from the previous owner.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank crindini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is a house that was built in the 1800's with a sweeping view of the Hudson. It's currently situated across the street from a school in a neighborhood undergoing significant change. The house has the potential to be charming, which is obviously something Nancy, the current owner, feel in love with. Nancy is a sweet woman, at the property on the weekends. She makes an amazingly light quiche. Mike, the caretaker since February, lives on the property and is the main point of contact if you arrive during the week. He is personable, nice and believes the facility is a lot of work for which he is under compensated, which is something he expresses within minutes of checking in. The breakfast is average, coffee is Maxwell house and not strong. The house needs work as well as a deep cleaning. We stayed in the best room on the property with the enclosed terrace offering sweeping views of the Hudson. The views were spectacular. However, during our stay weather was not in our favor - it was a heat wave in the final days of July accompanied by heavy late afternoon rain. The air conditioner in the room failed to cool the room was not turned on prior to our arrival at 3:40 p.m. and failed to cool the room below 79 degrees the first night. The second night featured late afternoon monsoon, the terrace leaked so badly from the rain - it was actually raining indoors! The indoor rain reactivated some mold and the terrace smelled terrible. There was no way we could stay in the room the second night. Nancy and Mike eventually moved us into another room, after a series of text messages over the course of a couple of hours. They apologized and were gracious.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy R, Owner at Stockbridge Ramsdell House on Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

So sorry you had an unformtuate and disappointing experience! We did our best to make you comfortable under the circumstances. The leak did not become evident until the severe rainstorm and it has been repaired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Old vintage mansion. Owner there on weekends. Has one caretaker, cook. He does great job with the 5 vintage rooms and cooks a delicious breakfast. More work than one man should have to do during week. Delightful man, though. The B&B is near two completely different areas. Two blocks down the hill lies the Hudson River(which can be seen from B&B) and ferry to Beacon, nice restaurants. Two blocks the other way, is a rather poor area. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: View of Hudson and Beacon Bridge
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kmarializ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews