We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
47
30
7
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
30
7
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house bridge view historic street west point nancy victorian privacy
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

The photos depict a charming historic home on the water. Upon our arrival we were met with a rundown inn in need of major renovations. The excellent Trip Advisor decal on the inner vestibule was dated 2015 so I was hopeful that the interior was in better condition. The reality is that not only was this place a "gem in the raw" but it was filthy. The windowsills were black with soot, the bathroom was dirty, the carpets stained, the screened in porch affording a view of the water was, not only dirty, but a safety hazard as the cable for the TV was in plain sight and stuck out of the window which had to remain open to accommodate the shoddy installation. The Inn keeper, Mike, was very helpful and prepared a good breakfast of muffins, eggs, and fresh fruit. But the peeling wallpaper, water-stained ceilings, cracked tiles and filthy floors can't negate the simple fact that we were deceived into believing we would be spending time in a beautiful old home. To be fair, the bed linens were clean and fresh and the mattress firm. However, booking the most expensive room with a view was a total waste of our money.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple for 2 nights while we were in the area visiting West Point and Hyde Park. The location in the historic district of Newburgh and the views of the Hudson River were great. However, the building and furnishings need major renovation. The portable air conditioning units were duct taped to the windows where they were vented but didn't hold so insects came into the room. The bathrooms need major work. The dark wood winding staircase needs to have better lighting because you could easily fall down carrying luggage. There are ceiling stains from multiple leaks. Wallpaper is peeling off of many walls.
The caretaker Mike was wonderful. He prepared two delicious breakfasts for us. He was very attentive to our needs and requests. We told him our pillows were very hard and uncomfortable and immediately provided new ones for the second night.
This Victorian home could be restored beautifully but it would most likely cost upwards of $150-200K. I would probably not recommend this place unless it gets serious rehab. It's costly for what you get.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We were shocked at the condition of this property given the price we paid ($175 a night), The carpets were old and filthy, there were cobwebs on the furniture, and the whole place was shabby and in general disrepair. One example: the inside of our glass-paned bedroom door someone had pinned up some quilt scraps for privacy, but the fabric had large stains on it. The back rooms all have views of the beautiful Hudson River but that view was partially blocked, at least in the room we stayed in (called “Bridge View”), by a window air conditioner, unnecessary curtains hung on a flimsy tension rod, and dirty windows. Some of the other bedrooms had prettier, unobstructed views so if a view is important to you consider that when selecting a room here.

The best thing about this place is the sole employee, Mike, who lives on the premises and is apparently responsible for doing everything including greeting guests, cleaning the rooms, cooking breakfast, and fixing/maintaining the property. Mike is a hardworking guy and he served a delicious breakfast, but this is just WAY too much for one person to do. The owners don’t identify themselves on the website or in the “welcome” and “thank you” pre- and post-stay emails I received (the signature line was simply the address of the B&B), which I think is telling. The owners really should spend some time living in their property and seeing it from the perspective of their guests. Or lower their prices so that guests are not misled about what they are getting when they make a reservation to stay here.

Bottom line – the house looks nice from the outside but don’t expect luxury accommodations inside.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This B&B is in a fabulous old house on an historic street of beautiful houses. The rooms are quaint and authentic, many with a stunning view of the grand Hudson River. The caretaker is dedicated to guests' comfort, and cooks a generous, delicious big breakfast to order. An amazing deal for the price!!

Room tip: choose rooms with porches overlooking the river
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorklady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Just wrapped up my second stay at Stockbridge-Ramsdell BnB. The place was always a little worn for wear, but it was cozy and the prior owner, Nancy, was so gracious and made the best breakfast. The place was full of books and comfortable furniture. It was a little dusty, could have been cleaner. But the overall experience was so warm that we overlooked the shabbiness.

Apparently the BnB has changed hands. Mike is the caretaker now and the owners live off-site. Mike works very hard to take care of the guests. But I sincerely believe the house is way more than he can care for alone. The personal touches, like books, art and cozy nooks to relax in are gone. Instead of a formal table in the dining room, there are two patio tables. The house overall was quite dirty, cobwebs were everywhere, the bathroom was not as clean as one would like, and the carpets were dingy. It definitely needs a deep clean, a fresh coat of paint and some more help for Mike to keep it up.

Otherwise, the house is charming and you can't beat the view or the location for seeing the Hudson and nearby museums. Newburgh is a really interesting town full of history and grand old homes. I hope Stockbridge Ramsdell has better days ahead. It holds a special place in my heart.

Room tip: The room on the third floor with the private balcony overlooking the Hudson is great.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineK1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews