We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Dunas de Sal(Santa Maria)
US$91
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Morabeza(Santa Maria)
US$167
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$236
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Odjo D'Agua(Santa Maria)
US$116
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Funana(Santa Maria)
US$309
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Surfactivity Guest House(Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
36
14
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
14
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedbuilding workfishcape verdenoisecocktailssaleurosseaisland
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Spent the week here B&B. The hotel was lovely and clean - which wasn’t surprising as we observed the staff looking after the public areas taking pride in their work. It was at the far end of Santa Maria so quiet area. We found the setting very peaceful and apart from our daily walk lazed by the pool.
The breakfast was really good - fresh food and all homemade. The Spanish omelette was particularly nice!
The reception staff were really nice and helpful as were most of the staff. Some waitresses had an unfortunate manner of ignoring you and slow service or serving others who arrived after us - so we just ate elsewhere - plenty of decent places to eat - just had to walk on an undeveloped road which in the dark did make you feel a bit uneasy, not that we had any problems.
Some building work being done at the hotel and the hotel gave us a free island tour on a day they were doing work - which despite being cold and windy we enjoyed! Thank you!
Sal would benefit from tlc especially the coastline as sadly full of rubbish so spoilt the landscape.
Cape Verde is windy! A kite surfers paradise. Don’t think I really appreciated just how windy it could be on a warm day!
The infrastructure on Sal is not quite there and lots of buildings started...,,,,,then abandoned.
The hawkers were a nuisance- but we soon worked out our route to avoid.
Will we go back to Sal? Maybe in 10 years (if google maps show proper development!)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

we"ve just got back from this beautiful hotel, and loved every minute. the hotel his at the end of the island going out in the desert, situated on the coastline. the room we had was room D overseeing the ocean wow.....the service was amazing with a smile from all the lady staff, lelia, lucy, and {vania crazy lady ha ha }.to name a few.
situated of a dirt track but who cares, were in africa.lovely rooms, big comfy beds, great air con too. the restaurant food was beautifully prepared and very tasty and fresh to eat. try the grilled tuna. had walks into town finding a nice little cafe for drinks, and walks upto the main beach past the harbour, very clean white sands, and more nice hotels.the harbour was a eye opener on a morning with the locals bringing the fish in to sell on, we bought a coconut 3 euros.the maintenance man was non stop painting, cleaning the pool, cleaning beds, and always handy to put your umbarellas up.nothing was a problem and done with a smile, they was building works ongoing in the hotel and looks like there extending on the side of kitchen we will be back next year same time. the only negatives was the language barrier and the safe not been sorted.

wayne elaine leeds

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Budha Beach Hotel is a very small quiet friendly hotel with lovely staff and excellent food. Our room was beautiful, overlooking both the pool and the sea. We were very well looked after. It is on the very outskirts of Santa Maria so perfect if you want to get away from it all but within easy walking distance of some very lovely local restaurants and bars :)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank crazypainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We have just returned from the Buddha Beach/Fashion Beach Hotel on Sal Island, Cape Verde after a 10 days half board holiday stay.

The hotel is a small and elegant hotel of about 18 rooms situated on the end of a dirt track on the out skirts of Santa Maria and about a 10 -15min. easy walk to the tourist centre of the town. There is currently building work on both ends of the hotel but it is barely noticeable as it is done in a very considerate way and when the works had to turn noisy the hotel organised a free of charge day tour of the island. This hotel is not suitable for families with young children as there is nothing there to keep them busy, therefore a paradise for adults. The beach/shore line in front of the hotel is rocky and not suitable for sun bathing or swimming but is interesting to look at and if you decide to walk into the sand dunes you will find nature at is purest as it homes many salt water plants. However, the swimming pool is large enough albeit very cold and is being cleaned daily just as the rest of the hotel with sufficient number of sun beds and chairs, unfortunately no umbrellas to provide some shade.

Our room faced the dirt track/road, yet it was fairly quite because there is hardly any traffic there. The room has a massive bed and a comfortable mattress that is if you prefer a firm mattress to the soft. The furniture in the room is sparse with 2 not very comfortable chairs and a very small table so if you want to relax in the room your only option is to lay on the bed, also at the time of writing this there was no safe fitted. I might be wrong, but a quick glance to a ‘Sea View’ room located on the 1st. floor showed a much better spec.

The hotel’s restaurant is excellent, the food is tasty and the service is very attentive with many smiles and lots and lots of good will. No request of mine for food that was not on the menu (of course within reason) was too hard for them to fulfil or was refused. Sometime there were misunderstandings due to language barriers but the waitresses did everything they could to understand and correct/resolve any issue. However, there is one major problem, which is down to the management. If you book half board stay you will get stuck with the same 3 options of starter, main and pudding menu daily. Whenever you want a change the only option is to order off the A La Carte menu, a credit of 20 Euros will be made towards your final bill. Therefore my advice is DO NOT book the half board stay, keep your options open.

To conclude: A small hotel with great staff that will not let you down. With some little improvements this hotel can be much in demand.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

January 2018 - stayed in a Suite, a very large room with very little furniture. Good sea view. Room had no safe so do you want to carry your valuables, passports and money with you all the time?
Staff were friendly and helpful although the housekeepers seem to like shouting to each other. More noise most days from building work.
The hotel is attractive but positioned at the edge of town in a very windy location - great if you're into windsurfing! Going into town involves a 400m walk across rough ground (dark at night) to reach the road.
Overall a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews