We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accurate Reporting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon O
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Accurate Reporting”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Probably the nicest apartment we have ever stayed in. Very spacious, extremely clean, private modern apartment which is immaculately decorated and furnished to a high standard and has it’s own roof level sun deck. Exactly as described and full credit to Vanessa, the owner who always works hard to please and responds promptly to communications.
Useful info: Walk to Sante Maria (where it all happens) along the beach is beautiful but hard work and can take 2 hours. Walking a similar route on the uneven parallel volcanic cobbled road takes about an hour and a quarter but walking out of the hotel main gate, turn left along the uneven cobbled path to the roundabout then right alone the smooth pavement along the main road only takes 25 minutes at a brisk pace or half an hour relaxed. A Taxi will cost 3€ until 6pm then 4€ after 6pm. Taxi to/from Airport is 20 minutes and 15€.
Hotel supermarket is extremely poor. Best supermarket in Sante Maria is Supermercado Kazu although everything is 2, 3 or 4 times more expensive than UK. Bread is fresh and superb, milk is longlife but ok. Plenty of restaurants in Sante Maria, most of which have nightly live music but our favourite was the Ocean Cafe in the main square although they have a limited menu of fish & chips, pizza, chicken & chips and some pasta meals all of which are 8 to 15 €. Half litre of draught Strela beer is 3€ (300 escudos. Rough exchange rate is £1 = 1€ = 100 escudos. Don’t bring escudos home as they can only be used in CV. We heard of some petty money theft whilst there so keep your money safe. Buy freshly caught fish such as Tuna and Wahoo in the afternoon directly from the fishermen on the pier. Very tasty and tuna was around 8€ per kilo. Be aware that Sal is very quiet and the main activities are kite surfing, wind surfing and some diving. Beyond this there are very few tours so you can expect a very quiet, chilled out, relaxing holiday. Island motto is “No Stress”. We would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated. We do use it ourselves so try to keep it how we like it. Wish I could go more often after reading that, reminds me what I’m missing! Glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidrigg...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect penthouse on a large complex”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

5 minute walk to beautiful beach,35/50 minute walk into Santa Maria depending on route and walking speed,although only 3 euros back by taxi.
Lots of restaurants and a good coffee bar in town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiness...
2 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

everything as mentioned, appart super vast and crispy clean, taxi driver on time at the airport for the transfer to the Hotel. The owner Vanessa was always responsive and dynamic. The management company also, despite the new year festivities.we took the all inclusive for the whole stay (easier for the kids), and only tried 4 of the 9 pools! We'll come again next year for sure. Thanks again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The trip went seamlessly. It is a truly lovely apartment, spacious and beautifully decorated and the roof terrace was a super bonus. It had everythg you could want the owner was really accommodating and super helpful in organising the taxi from the airport and a welcome pack with wine on arrival :):) Wld recommend, be mindful though it is on the third floor and there is no lift available so suitcases have to be taken up and down the stairs if there is not a staff member around to help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality pent house”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the pent house towards the end of March 2016.
I would like to thank Vanessa for the fabulous customer service in arranging the apartment.
The apartment is just as you see on the photos to a very clean and high quality.
The apartment is in a central location on the complex which is spacious and also of a high standard.
We found the pools and the facilities excellent and was right on the beach and a five min taxi ride to main town Santa marina.
We decided to upgrade to all inclusive for our stay for convenience as there are no other restaurants around without taking a taxi which is very cheap 3-4 euros or complimentary hotel shuttle to town.
It was £65 euro under 12,s half price, both food and drinks plentiful and of a good quality, you can upgrade at reception for your choice of days if you fancy mix and match with all inclusive / self catering/meal out in town.
The option is there to self cater as the apartment is fully equipped and has extras like microwave, washer, iron, hair dryer etc.
There is a big supermarket a short taxi away to stock up.
We ate in Santa marina on our first night which was very nice and reasonable and I believe there are many good restaurants so don't miss out.
The weather was hot windy with a bit of cloud.
I hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The quality of the spacious apartment and the lovely setting
Liked least: Not much out and about the hotel, though five mins in a taxi into town
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for you're kind comments, I'm really pleased you enjoyed it and hope you do return in the future. Kind regards Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing