We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
10
31
24
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
31
24
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken fresh food kenya meru music
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 92 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Went up with a group of friends to Nanyuki. We decided to go the 'loooong' route round Mount Kenya so as to get a decent view of the stunning country side that is KENYA!! Whilst on our journey we had numerous breakdowns and had to pull into the town of Embu. Whilst in Embu we discovered that the best place to stay was the Izaak Walton Inn hotel. Although we arrived at 10:30 pm the hotel seemed to have a warm welcoming sensation. The porters were very friendly and our room was world class. It contained a telly and a fridge (with cold beer). We had a really good time and found the pricing to be very fair. Breakfast was fairly plain and service was a little slack. Our rooms were very clean and the hotel had great facilities. It really was a jewel to find. I would definatley reccomend this hotel to anyone round this part of Kenya.xx

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We travelled to Embu for a family wedding & were informed that the Isaak Walton was the best hotel in the area. If this is the best, I'd love to see the worst!
We stayed several times over two weeks.
The first room we had [39] was full of bugs. Bedroom ok, no holes in mossie nets, bedding clean. Bathroom - dreadful. Taps fell off when having a shower & when the loo was flushed a pipe disconnected & flooded everywhere. On a plus side the water was hot.
At the next stay there was a real mix up with the rooms. We had booked superior after our stay in the basic rooms & reception denied all knowledge of this. Were offered superior basics, but stuck it out for better rooms. Eventually given a small room with double bed. This was obviously meant for single use, but as it was Christmas Eve & and it had a more modern bathroom, we accepted. This room [102] was right next to a wood fired boiler, despite this we had no hot water.
During this stay, we felt that all the best rooms were reserved for locals visiting their families.
The final one night stay started badly, as again reception had no idea of which rooms we had booked.
The room we finally had [95] was very good compared to the rest. Modern bathroom, space & a king sized bed, plus hot water.
Food - we only ate breakfast here. Omelettes could be ordered & these were fine.Tea , coffee, juice all available & a select of cereals & bread, plus what passes for bacon/sausage etc.
The grounds are amazing, well looked after & very green. This possibly because wedding pictures are taken there, charged for of course.
Service left a lot to be desired. It was very busy most of the time we stayed there & some staff were very inexperienced.
We did complain & were given a discount for the second stay only. The management stated that there was a refurbishment programme going on, so it may get better in time.
It was also very inexpensive to stay there [Basic rooms approx: £39 per room, Superior £55]

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank UkMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: Mehrere Zimmer zeigen lassen, manche sind besser renoviert
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josephine O, Manager at Izaak Walton Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews