We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
12
80
94
41
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
80
94
41
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019 via mobile

We were met at reception by two of the sassiest woman I’ve ever met who could not have been less helpful if they’d tried. Rude, sarcastic and zero customer service. Don’t think we even got a smile! Anyway, campsite is basic but supplied with a tap, BBQ and light! Best bits were the warthogs wondering around and hot shower which was great! We went on two of their walking trails and got lost both times. The markings are really poor and need re-doing! Pool is nice but poorly maintained with lots of leaves in and because the bricks are brown it doesn’t make for an inviting looking pool but is very refreshing after the walks! I wouldn’t recommend paying the camping price plus entrance fees! It’s not like staying in other National Parks where you benefit from early morning or evening game drives. Stay outside, somewhere welcoming where people are friendly and the price is better value for money!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 200dayzofSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019

Had one night camping here. Wish it had been two as it's a long way to drive for one night but great location. Lovely walk up to the viewpoint behind. Went on the rhino tour but didnt see any rhino. Saw two rare antelopes. Was worth it for the drive and scenery but the tour itself was overpriced compared with other tours we had done in Namibia.
Had a lovely meal in the restaurant but it is quite a walk from the campsite and uphill. Need headtorches to get there even along the road. The swimming pool is also up near the restaurant and is lovely to relax by. Baboons around in the morning so you cant leave anything outside the tent/car.
Camp areas are nicely spread out with a BBQ pit.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank hpmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed here at the campsite. They have 2, make sure to request the Anderson camp as it’s much more beautiful.
The area is stunning, such a green environment with potential to see some cool animals like the 5 rhino they have at the park.
I took the plateau walk which was amazing but can only be done with a guide and at 200 per person it’s a bit steep for what you get but on the bright side the views are unbelievable.

The staff could be better and there is no power or lights at the campsite spots.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank travelwithcarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2019

The road that directly leads to the Park entrance can be tough going if there has been rain, so it is wiser to consider driving with a 4x4 or other suitable vehicle. The lady at reception was friendly but not completely organised, and the 2 gentlemen at the petrol station were helpful and spoke enthusiastically about the Park. The staff at the dining-room and bar were of the same listless ilk as those at Etosha - a drastically reduced notion of service, lethargic and needing to be asked repeatedly to fill up the milk jug, to fill up the coffee pots, etc. The omelettes were good, but the breakfast is overpriced. We went for a drink at the bar and eventually walked out without our drinks. The bar man just disappeared. I nearly jumped over the bar counter to serve myself. Namibian Wildlife Services has not sufficiently trained their staff in terms of efficiency and attitude.
We had a bush chalet, which was fine, with a small fridge and a user-friendly braai area. Some lights didn't work, but that wasn't a train smash.
There are a few trails / paths laid out around the camp. The walk that goes to the top of the berg is a good one, because there are superb views over the camp and surrounds. Bird life around the camp is good.
What we felt to be way too expensive is the game drives. You cannot drive around the Park in your own vehicle, and some of the walks near the camp are short, so you don't get a sense of the Park and its fauna and flora unless you do the official game drive, which comes in at Nam dollars 650 per person. For a family, this becomes very expensive. Also, before we got to the Park, we didn't realise that we had to pay every time we wanted to go on a game drive. We certainly wouldn't have stayed 4 nights had we known.
The graveyard near the reception is a reminder of a tragic event in German - Herero relations, but read up before visiting. The staff didn't seem too clued up about the history.

Room tip: Ask for a chalet with a view.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Whereintheworlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We booked a deluxe chalet for two nights, which was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. It was not glamorous or imaginatively designed, but everything worked. Dinners at the restaurant were good and tasty, although service was a bit haphazard and disorganised, especially when busy, and at the breakfast buffets were a bit hit and miss, with guests always having to ask for things that should have been on the table, while five or six staff chatted at the bar. The afternoon safari to the plateau was very pleasurable and informative, and the walks are well signposted. The swimming pool looked dirty with bugs and leaves floating on it, so we chose to avoid it. No wifi or internet anywhere on site, which is not a problem, so long as you know in advance!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzyPacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews