We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

All the people working here are very helpful

The view from the bar is spot on
The sanitary are above average
The swimming pools have a very nice atmosphere
The hiking trails are nice
The rhino drive is worth it

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julien_F_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

And your comment is great ;-)

Thank you!

Best regards from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spend 2 nights at the magnificent Valley Lodge. Tranquility is the name of the game. The tent,complete with a little stoep and chairs, offered a breathtaking view of the valley and cliffs. I missed a small table on the stoep... The on suite brick bathroom with hot water is a nice-to-have, especially in winter. The restaurant has a splendid view of the platou. Because of the considerable temperature drop during winter it gets very cold and unfortunaly the fire is not enough to heat up the restaurant. Maybe it would be wise to replace the curtain with glass doors. Dinner and breakfast was good but I strongly suggest a hot plate or bay marines to keep food warm. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Worth a visit for families and couples alike.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, although you were really unlucky to have been with us during an unusually strong "cold front": This one even pushed clouds from the cape all the way up to northern central of Namibia and let it rain in Windhoek (!).

On chilly winter evenings we don't only light a fire in our restaurant but also have blankets on the chairs. We are a bit reluctant to close off the open side of our restaurant with glass segments & doors, because the openness is part of the "close to nature" concept...

Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

As a family of 4 we visited the Valley lodge last week - we really enjoyed our stay - the tents with their build bathrooms is surely a winner!! as it was very cold a nice hot shower and then jumping into the bed kept us smiling. We suggest a canvas "door" with see through panel for the restaurant as the wind was really cold in the evening and the fire not quite reaching all over. Dinner was good and well served. what about a hot-tray for keeping the lovely pap warm in the mornings? and the sausages as they was cold and lying in the fat. just a little extra care to the breakfast station ( cups, spoons etc ) would be super. The afternoon tea and cake was a real treat!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and suggestions for improvement. We are in the process to convert/extend the lodge and its kitchen & restaurant area - so your input is coming at the right time.

Best greetings, also in the name of the whole team of Waterberg Valley Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

as expected the tented room was very basic but comfortable with decent bathroom.the fixed menu dinner was excellent and the staff friendly but the breakfast needs to be upgraded with more choices and better presentation.
we did the rhino drive at 3 pm and this was very very good with great guides and we actually stood within metres of the white rhinos who seemed very calm but they are wild animals so the guides were very careful and watchful..

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Four stars - thank you!

For breakfast we offer three sorts of cereals, two sorts of yogurt, grapes, bananas, fruit cocktail, milk, coffee, a variety of teas, two sorts of fruit juice, cold meat, cheese, self-baked bread, scones - and cooked or fried eggs or omelettes to be ordered by the guest. We constantly look into further options and will check again the presentation.

Great that you enjoyed our Rhino Drive. Should you come back, you might like to experience the Plateau Hike or one of our six walking trails to explore our nature reserve on your own.

Greetings from Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We chose this accommodation for its location near the Waterberg NP. We knew we would be staying in basic tent-like rooms and we did not mind that at all. In fact the tents with private bathrooms (!) were more spacious and comfortable than we had expected. What we did not took into account was that for this affordable price the food would also be basic. The kitchen staff certainly did their best, but we did not enjoy the food.
Apart from this we had a positive experience in this camp: the rhino drive was fantastic. We saw several rhinos, but also mangoose, ostrich, etc. The guides were very passionate. The coffee at breakfast and in the afternoon, was made with a French press and it was the best coffee of our roadtrip through Namibia.
So don't put your gastronomic expectations to high, then you will certainly enjoy this camp ... or choose one of the other, more expensive camps of Wilderness Resorts. I suppose these also offer better dinner.

Room tip: All rooms are the same.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingegent68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Usually we get a lot of positive comments about the food. Maybe it is a matter of taste, maybe a matter of expectation. We offer a set four course menu for dinner: Soup or other starter, salad, main course and dessert, based on European cuisine but with Namibian farm-style recipes and local ingredients. We only charge N$ 190 (12 Euro) for dinner (when ordered by a camping guest), which is way below the price for an equivalent dinner in many other lodges and restaurants in Namibia.

Thank you for your positive feedback on the Rhino drive which we passed on to our guides.

Greetings from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews