We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2019

We stayed at Waterberg Valley Lodge for one night en route from Etosha to Windhoek. Really wish we could have stayed longer. It is so beautiful here. We'd spent most of our holiday camping, so the lodge tent was a welcome change, and the views from the balcony were incredible.

My husband and I did one of the well-marked hikes of the valley late in the afternoon. It took about 2.5 hours and was stunning. Just what we needed after long days sitting in cars. The scenery in the valley is so different to lots of what we'd seen around Namibia, the plants very different too. We saw some warthogs grazing on the grass near their other lodge, as well as some baboons on the rocks.

The meal was three-courses and was delicious - although you don't get to choose what you have - it's a set menu. After dinner we got to see some porcupines out the back of the restaurant - looking for scraps from people's plates. Amazing to see them up close like that.

Breakfast was ok - but not the best we'd had in Namibia.

We would have loved to stay longer here but unfortunately we ran out of time. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 870carolinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Don't blame us for not having told you in advance ;-) On our website we explicitly recommend to stay at least two nights to have time to explore our nature reserve...

Nobody should visit the Waterberg to spend the night at a lodge, however comfortable or stunning it may be. The real experience is the nature, the typical African bush savannah on the endless plains of the Kalahari and the lush vegetation on the slope of the Waterberg. The diverse fauna, from white rhino and giraffe to damara dik-dik and rock hyrax. The history and the culture of the Herero people living in this area.

We offer game drives and Rhino Tracking tours (on foot), guided hikes onto the Waterberg plateau and a cultural tour to a homestead and a little town of the Herero, as well as six nature trails including our "Botanical Garden" and our "History Path".

So, yes, great that you did one of our nature trails in our idyllic valley. However, you will understand that you NEED to visit us again before you can really say that you experienced the Waterberg ;-)

Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2019

We did not like this lodge. On the website the rooms looks like tents but they are in fact steel structures with canvas on the outside. There is little privacy. The food was below average (normally I do not complain about food but at this lodge it really was below standard compared to all the other lodges we've stayed.
Staff was not super friendly We talk to a guide and he was not speaking positively about his employer which probably explains the attitude of the staff.

Room tip: In ieder geval niet nummer 6, iedereen loopt dan langs je veranda.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

Our chalets have canvas walls, as we clearly state on our website. Don't forget to mention that the Waterberg Valley Lodge is the low-budget accommodation option in our private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness, offering the feeling of living in nature without denying yourself the comfort of a brick bath.

We have about 2,500 guests a year, the majority of which praises our lodge team as very friendly and helpful. However, in April we hired a new waitress and a new waiters who are in the process of being trained. They might be insecure in certain situations and come across unfriendly.

As in any company, now and then there are things an employee is not happy about. These issues are discussed and solved in our monthly staff meetings. This also refers to the specific problem of the guide you spoke to.

Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

All the people working here are very helpful

The view from the bar is spot on
The sanitary are above average
The swimming pools have a very nice atmosphere
The hiking trails are nice
The rhino drive is worth it

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julien_F_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2019

And your comment is great ;-)

Thank you!

Best regards from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spend 2 nights at the magnificent Valley Lodge. Tranquility is the name of the game. The tent,complete with a little stoep and chairs, offered a breathtaking view of the valley and cliffs. I missed a small table on the stoep... The on suite brick bathroom with hot water is a nice-to-have, especially in winter. The restaurant has a splendid view of the platou. Because of the considerable temperature drop during winter it gets very cold and unfortunaly the fire is not enough to heat up the restaurant. Maybe it would be wise to replace the curtain with glass doors. Dinner and breakfast was good but I strongly suggest a hot plate or bay marines to keep food warm. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Worth a visit for families and couples alike.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, although you were really unlucky to have been with us during an unusually strong "cold front": This one even pushed clouds from the cape all the way up to northern central of Namibia and let it rain in Windhoek (!).

On chilly winter evenings we don't only light a fire in our restaurant but also have blankets on the chairs. We are a bit reluctant to close off the open side of our restaurant with glass segments & doors, because the openness is part of the "close to nature" concept...

Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

As a family of 4 we visited the Valley lodge last week - we really enjoyed our stay - the tents with their build bathrooms is surely a winner!! as it was very cold a nice hot shower and then jumping into the bed kept us smiling. We suggest a canvas "door" with see through panel for the restaurant as the wind was really cold in the evening and the fire not quite reaching all over. Dinner was good and well served. what about a hot-tray for keeping the lovely pap warm in the mornings? and the sausages as they was cold and lying in the fat. just a little extra care to the breakfast station ( cups, spoons etc ) would be super. The afternoon tea and cake was a real treat!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Owner at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and suggestions for improvement. We are in the process to convert/extend the lodge and its kitchen & restaurant area - so your input is coming at the right time.

Best greetings, also in the name of the whole team of Waterberg Valley Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews