We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
31
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews set menu free wifi evening meal tents boiler curtains lodge afternoon wood namibia restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Valley lodge. The tents are spatious with good bed and shower plus a balcony that provides a top view of Waterberg plateau. We did all 5 hikes that are set out. They are all called easy but I would only classify the Giraffe trail and thr botanical trail as easy. The other 3 I would classify as medium due to the climbing over lots of boulders. All hikes are beautiful. The pool is small and would be greatly improved with a few pool beds. We actually took the car in the afternoon to the Wilderness lodge and used one of their pools and poolbeds. The food was average but sufficient. We received several times the answer "out of stock" with gin, sparling water, plain jogurt. My wife has a sugar allergy and the chef went out of his way to cook something for her without sugar. Praise for him! We took part in the Rhino drive. That was a superb experiencd and met their 6 white Rhinos in person. We would certainly return.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank topojack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

We like to apologise for the supply issues which were caused by an unfortunate internal misunderstanding.

Great that you enjoyed our nature trails. We will look into revising our descriptions.

Best regards from the whole team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve, including our white rhinos ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2019 via mobile

The accommodation is in quite good safari tents with good en-suite bathrooms. We were there in mid-September but had a couple of (apparently unseasonal) hot days. We were in Tent 4 and our verandah copped the full afternoon sun and became quite uncomfortable. The pool was refreshing (=cold) but there is nowhere to relax around the pool so it is just a quick dip to cool of and then back to the hot tent. The meals are reasonable except for the inedible kudu “schnitzel” (crumbed thick steak) one of us had one night. Some walking trails are not well defined and quite rocky, so take care!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Outnabout1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are planning some changes as soon as the high season is over, so your comments are most welcome.

However, all verandas are equipped with a canvas "curtain" to provide shade.

Apologies for the thick kudu schnitzel. We will remind our team in the butchery to cut the meat for schnitzels thin at all times.

The walking trails are well marked, but because of the severe drought there are passages where the bush died so you do have to look twice to see where to go...

Great to hear that you explored our valley on some of our six nature trails on your own.

Best greetings from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019

The Waterberg Valley is absolutely gorgeous and this lodge is right in the middle of it. The Waterberg plateau is all around, so you'll be sure to wake up with the most amazing views. We saw lots of birds and dikdiks around our tented chalet too.
The nights were very cold (2-5 degrees C), so the chalet was cold too - be prepared for that! The dinner and breakfast were served in an half open room with great views onto the valley. During those times it was cool as well but with a jacket it was all right. The staff sang me a birthday song and baked me a birthday cake: SO lovely. Thank you so much again!!
We took one of the hikes which I would definetely recommend to explore the beautiful nature.
And we did the rhino drive, where we encountered our first wildlife like ostriches, giraffes, zebras, several antilopes, white rhinos passing just a couple meters away from us.
I would love to come back and highly recommend this lodge.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vera N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Aaaw! Sounds like you had an unforgettable birthday at our Waterberg Valley Lodge. We are glad that our team and the four-legged members of our nature reserve could contribute to make it special ;-)

A big "thank you" for your five star comment!

Best regards from the whole team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

lovely comfortable tented rooms with great views of the plateau. It was COLD at night and we were snug under the extra furry blanket provided. Set menu at night was hearty and delicious, glad of a jumper and the massive campfire burning in the middle of the dining room as it was cold at night. Staff lovely here apart from a grumpy man on the desk where you booked the activities

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank Jonahdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Thank you for your feedback and your pointer to our receptionist, which enabled us to address this issue in our recent team meeting. Please accept his apologies.

We hope that you did not only enjoy our restaurant on top of the hill in the middle of the Waterberg valley and your tented chalet with the brick bath, but also explored the valley on one of our six nature trails...

Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

We stayed at Waterberg Valley Lodge for one night en route from Etosha to Windhoek. Really wish we could have stayed longer. It is so beautiful here. We'd spent most of our holiday camping, so the lodge tent was a welcome change, and the views from the balcony were incredible.

My husband and I did one of the well-marked hikes of the valley late in the afternoon. It took about 2.5 hours and was stunning. Just what we needed after long days sitting in cars. The scenery in the valley is so different to lots of what we'd seen around Namibia, the plants very different too. We saw some warthogs grazing on the grass near their other lodge, as well as some baboons on the rocks.

The meal was three-courses and was delicious - although you don't get to choose what you have - it's a set menu. After dinner we got to see some porcupines out the back of the restaurant - looking for scraps from people's plates. Amazing to see them up close like that.

Breakfast was ok - but not the best we'd had in Namibia.

We would have loved to stay longer here but unfortunately we ran out of time. The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 870carolinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Don't blame us for not having told you in advance ;-) On our website we explicitly recommend to stay at least two nights to have time to explore our nature reserve...

Nobody should visit the Waterberg to spend the night at a lodge, however comfortable or stunning it may be. The real experience is the nature, the typical African bush savannah on the endless plains of the Kalahari and the lush vegetation on the slope of the Waterberg. The diverse fauna, from white rhino and giraffe to damara dik-dik and rock hyrax. The history and the culture of the Herero people living in this area.

We offer game drives and Rhino Tracking tours (on foot), guided hikes onto the Waterberg plateau and a cultural tour to a homestead and a little town of the Herero, as well as six nature trails including our "Botanical Garden" and our "History Path".

So, yes, great that you did one of our nature trails in our idyllic valley. However, you will understand that you NEED to visit us again before you can really say that you experienced the Waterberg ;-)

Best regards from the private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews