We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice start for the honeymoon”
Review of Ekuthuleni Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ekuthuleni Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This lodge lies in an fantastic environment. They have very kind staff memebers and made the days unforgetable. An absolute highlight on our trip. Service is perfect. We had some nice chats with other guests. Just have to say: Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dearestralphands2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This lodge is in a great picturesque location in heart of Welgevonden. Lodge is well-appointed, needs some attention to details (some lights not working, shower head clogged) but staff provide a homely and comfortable stay. Particularly enjoyed the hearty, uncomplicated yet delicious meals prepared by chef Steve.
Welgevonden is a great reserve with interesting scenery (Waterberg is truly a spectacular range) that adds to the game viewing.
Well worth a visit if you going to Welgevonden.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushdice, General Manager at Ekuthuleni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Warren, Kim and James Lowman,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments regarding our lodge. We are happy to hear that the location, staff and Chef Stevens delicious meals made a favourable impression on you.

We sincerely apologise that you suffered blown bulb(s) and poor water pressure during your stay with us. It is noted that you did not mention that the light bulb was faulty on your arrival and therefore must have expired during the three-day period that you were staying with us.

Our staff take immense pride in their service, but more so in being as respectful and unobtrusive when servicing guest rooms and this could have been an oversight from our side.

It is unfortunate that this was not brought to our attention whilst you were here, as it would have been promptly replaced.

The rain shower heads were de-scaled approximately a week prior to your stay. Upon investigation, we could find No Fault with it. We are however looking into changing the indoor shower heads to "Rose" heads with adjustable settings for those who prefer a Stronger Water Pressure, and leave the "Rain" shower heads on the outdoor showers for the "Spa" effect.

We would like to apologise for any discomfort you faced and we assure you that this is an unusual circumstance.

We hope too that James enjoyed the birthday cake, singing by the staff and his Welgevonden Cap and shared his birthday experience with everyone on his return home. Please send him our best regards.

Sincerely,

The Ekuthuleni Leloko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We had a great stay in Ekuthuleni Lodge. Everything was perfect. The people were so kind. The lodges beautifull. The game-drives were so exciting, we will never forget them. The nature was very beautifull. We are sure to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dearfamilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushdice, General Manager at Ekuthuleni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Family Costongs,

Greetings from Everyone at Ekuthuleni "Place of Peace"

We appreciate that you took the time to write such a great comment about your experience at our beautiful property & we cannot thank you enough for your wonderful description.

Your kind words are an inspiration for all of us to maintain the high standards of services and facilities that we are offering. Please know that your review has been shared with the team and everyone sends their regards.

Once again, thank you very much for being part of our family and we are looking forward to welcoming you back when next you are in S.A.

With Best Regards,

The Ekuthuleni Leloko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

5 star service from the first second we arrived. Personal attention and a warm welcome from Sam and her team. The room was spacious and contained all the amenities and more. The bathroom and shower...wow what a warm atmosphere created with subtle lighting.

The food was delicious and 5 star cuisine. More than enough to eat at all times.

Games drives were the best, Our ranger, Jonas, shared his vast knowledge at every opportunity. An excellent communication system between the lodges and rangers meant many sightings on every drive.

There was just too much too pick out one highlight, we enjoyed every aspect of our visit. We went for a romantic getaway in the bush and we came away with so much more. Well worth a visit...again and again

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushdice, General Manager at Ekuthuleni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear John and Nthabiseng,

On behalf of the entire Ekuthuleni Leloko,we would like to thank you for choosing us for your special weekend away.

Is is amazing to read that as your first time to Welgevonden you had a magical time at our property; with all the incredible services and facilities that we offer here. We enjoyed reading that our Leloko made your weekend so memorable, because that is the result we want to have from each of our wonderful guests.

We hope that you will return to us (with the kids) so that we may spoil you again ... and again

With Fondest Regards,

The Ekuthuleni Leloko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Colonial style, great views over plain, staff excellent. Sister lodge to Tshwene. Strangely room design means bathroom lacks privacy, didn't bother us but am sure would trouble the romantics. Still highly recommend lodge.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank rob471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushdice, General Manager at Ekuthuleni Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear rob471,

It was an absolute honour hosting you and the family. Thank you for the recommendation of our staff, the views and location and we were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this "place of peace"

The bathroom design is intended to give one a sense of being "outdoors" and one does sometimes feel like the "bushveld has eyes" ... but that is part of the adventure of stepping into "another world" away from the artificial noise and lights of the city.

We hope that you will return to the Limpopo Province soon, to experience more R&R and the magic of the summer season here in Welgevonden.

With Sincerest Regards,

The Ekuthuleni Leloko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
1.0 km away
Tshwene Lodge
Tshwene Lodge
#9 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
78 reviews
7.4 km away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
151 reviews
3.0 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
423 reviews
8.6 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
263 reviews
10.8 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#3 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekuthuleni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekuthuleni Lodge

Address: 53 Bompas Avenue, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: RM2,947 - RM3,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ekuthuleni Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the malaria-free Welgevonden Private Game Reserve in South Africa, Ekuthuleni Lodge invites you to savour true African luxury. Ekuthuleni Lodge, meaning "place of peace," has sweeping views of the Savannah plains, and is home to the Big Five and many other species of game. Ekuthuleni Lodge invites guests to relax next to the swimming pool overlooking sweeping grassy plains, or watch the sun as its sets at the end of an African day. If the weather is cool, curl up with a book in one of the comfortable lounges before enjoying a delicious meal prepared with the freshest ingredients available. Meals can be enjoyed in the cosy dining room or the open air deck, sheltered from the elements by a reed awning. Each of the five suites offer intimacy and privacy, with magnificent views of the grasslands, giving a whole new meaning to nature on your doorstep. The romantic bathrooms open onto a private courtyard and have both indoor and outdoor showers. Two daily game drives are conducted by experienced rangers who will provide intimate details of the abundant flora and fauna, many of which is unique to the Waterberg. Watch the morning sun scribble intriguing patterns across the veld and contemplate the day's journey. Enjoy an early morning safari and watch Africa awaken in front of your eyes. Then head home for a scrumptious breakfast before settling down for your midday siesta. After sundowner drinks, allow the darkness of the African bush to envelop you on your evening game safari. Nightlife abounds in the African bush and dangers lurk everywhere. Lions on the hunt and leopards stalking prey in the cover of darkness are truly magnificent sights to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ekuthuleni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing