We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clifftop Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$626
US$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nedile Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nungubane Game Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jamila Game Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$358
US$294
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Camp Ndlovu(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
    US$846
    US$824
    Priceline
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Mhondoro Safari Lodge & Villa(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
    US$1,267
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Zulu Camp(Vaalwater)
    US$748
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    US$1,098
    US$919
    Hotwire.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$1,071/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Thaba 'Nkwe Lodge(Thabazimbi)(Great Value!)
    US$56
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (155)
    Filter reviews
    155 results
    Traveller rating
    142
    5
    8
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    142
    5
    8
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewschef gabrielfood preparedamazing experiencegame drivesstar luxurycream cheeseblue cheesestuffed chicken breastfresh rocketpoultryfriendly and accommodating staffsquash pureegreat respectsurrounded by naturegas fireplacehead chefnespresso machine
    Filter
    Updating list...
    83 - 88 of 155 reviews
    Reviewed 4 January 2017

    We spent 3 blissful days and nights at Fifty Seven Waterburg, even though the weather was unseasonably cool, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The suites are spacious and well furnished, with stunning verandas. The main lodge is relaxing (we didn't get chance to dip in the pool, too chilly, but would be great on a hot day). With a maximum capacity of 10 guests, one and all feel as though they are personally welcome. Our guide Jo treated us to 3 days of knowledgeable sunrise and sunset drives, during which we had sightings of lion, cheetah, elephant, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, kudu, to mention just a few. His knowledge of flora as well as fauna is very impressive, he endeared us with his calm, professional approach.
    We must also mention Mike.....THE best barman we have ever come across - his timing is perfect, never too early to top up a drink and NEVER too late!
    The food at the lodge is great, we were even treated to a delicious Christmas Day dinner, completed perfectly by a trifle! Post-drive breakfasts plentiful and varied, lunches spot on, dinners perfect.
    Take some quiet time at the viewing hide by the entrance to the lodge. Just a few minutes watching the prolific birdlife and we were treated to the sight of 6 beautiful female Waterbuck coming to drink at the water hole.

    Room Tip: All private and secluded
    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jacqueline M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 December 2016

    I just returned from a tremendous 2 days at 57 Waterberg in the Welgevonden Game Reserve. The entire staff and program was excellent: good food, good rooms, good cheer and great animal sightings including a breathtaking sighting of a herd of elephants. Special praise for our guide Josphat. His knowledge of the South African ecosystem, wildlife, fauna, and ecology was endless and freely shared. He cheerfully educated us on the magic of South Africa today.

    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank tcurran2016
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

    We spent four nights at 57 Waterberg and I must admit it was difficult to leave it... The chalets were spacious and with full of character; the setting was breathtaking but the most important thing for us was the team who made their absolute best to comfort us...Simon is a great ranger and manager; he was very professional from the start to the end. He went that extra mile to make sure we get the best experience from our game drives (we saw lions, cheetahs, giraffe, rhinos, zebras and many many more thanks to Simon!).

    The meals that prepared by Lucas were really tasty. He has done a great job coming up with new dishes everyday (don't forget this place is literally in the middle of nowhere so credit should be given for his efforts to come up with creative dishes three times a day!)

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone who would like to have their peace of mind, intends to see wonderful animals in their own habitat and experience South African hospitality. It is a bit of a drive from Jburg but it is definitely worth it!

    Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    Thank denizoskay
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 November 2016

    We stayed at the lodge for 5 days - and it could have been 50 more. As in the headline written: we spent the most exciting days of vacation there we ever made. It started with being picked up at the Westgate of the resort getting a glas of champagne as a welcome drink to Southafrica through Jo, the tour guide from whom we will talk later again. The arrival at the lodge was as coming to friends and all staff gave us a very warm welcome.
    The room, placed in a private house, was excellent and so we had our own small hideaway if not been on the trips or together with the other guests having food or drinks.
    Food: if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, everything was excellent and the young cook did a great job. He came out of the kitchen and explained his ideas of modern African meals he prepared as art. Also the service was excellent: they are quick, well prepared and have a excellent knowledge of wine corresponding to the food.
    We can just tell about our "room", from which there are 5 in the whole lodge: they are well furnished with an excellent bed, good storage possibilities and a big bathroom. The room girls do a fantastic job early in the morning when been on the trips and in the evening as a turn down service, the complientary water was filled up every day and it was perfect clean during the whole stay there.
    The game drives made it very special: Jo, the guide is a young expert in his job. He finds every animal even if it tries to disappear, he can explain their behavior and all things which are necessary to understand the animals and how they react. But that is not all: he also has a great knowledge of the nature by itself, planting and why the animals feed what ever is healthy for them. He did not give up even if it took longer then expected to make every game drive to a special experience. It was not boring for a second.
    As a highlight on every trip we got either a morning coffee or a sundowner outside the car - together with some animals around us.
    All in all: if you would like to have a ever lasting vacation in your mind: go to this lodge and you will find it there.

    Room Tip: every room is excellent
    • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Ulli0805
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 November 2016

    Our trip was lovely from beginning to end. The accommodation was great. The service was excellent. But the food was beyond awful. Twice we had to send back our food as it was inedible. It really spoilt our 5 star experience : (

    • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank angelaH1761CT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews