We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
162
6
8
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
6
8
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef gabriel food prepared game drives star luxury amazing experience cream cheese blue cheese stuffed chicken breast fresh rocket poultry friendly and accommodating staff squash puree pastry chef great respect pleasure of staying surrounded by nature gas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017

My mum and I went up to 57 Waterberg for a special mum/daughter bush break #makingmemories in June this year. Simon and his team were super hospitable and saw to our every need. From the welcoming line-up song at the front door with all of the staff in attendance, to the warm face cloths served on a tray each time you arrived back from game drive. A happy crew of staff who make every effort! The lodge itself is beautifully appointed and luxurious, which for me is key to comfort and enjoyment. Mum and I shared a honeymoon suite and so we also had the additional benefit of a jacuzzi on the deck which we lazed around in whilst the warthog strolled by towards the watering hole. Thanks 57 Waterberg team for a memorable break!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very well appointed. Only two have jacuzzi's
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear karenf902,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing our establishment. It is always great to receive positive feedback, thank you so much. We are excited to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57 Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The staff was just amazing: very friendly, helpful and professional. The five houses very stylish and luxurious. I was in the game lodge at the end of may - perfect weather conditions with little guests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 719elianes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear 719elianes,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your positive feedback is appreciated, thank you so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Put this one on your Bucket list as on of the best Big 5 Lodges within 2,5hrs drive from Gauteng. The place is beautiful, the food is excellent and the scenery's fantastic. The staff is also well trained with everything....food, game trips, birds etc

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JohanXt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear JohanXt,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always great to receive positive feedback, thank you so much. We are excited to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

57 Waterberg is a very special place. Not because the setting is spectacular- because it is is, not because the lodge is fantastic- because it is is, but because the people that work there a very special.

Simon, Lucas, Michael and Josphat gave us an experience we cannot stop thinking about and will never forget. As a kid growing up I have always dreamt of going on Safari and this did not disappoint.

The main lodge itself is beautiful with a view over the hills, tree tops and watering hole, whilst the lodges themselves are huge, well decorated, maintained and appointed. The water piping hot, the bed huge and comfortable, heating to keep you warm and night and a massive balcony to give you some private outdoor space.

The food prepared by Lucas at every meal was excellent- cakes and biscuits on the game drive, 2 course breakfast, "light" lunch and 3 course meals in the evening were fantastic. The meals were cooked with love and presented in immaculate detail.

The game drives- driven by Simon and Josphat were un believable. Seeing the animals so close up, in their natural habitat was fantastic but the resilience and determination of both of them to find the animals in the right location was incredible, extending drives, going on less used roads, getting out of the car and peering at tracks with lions evidently near by.

But the greatest thing about this lodge was the feel of the place. They have made it feel like a home. When we left we felt like we were leaving some of our best friends behind. Michael was never without a smile, making us laugh and feel welcome at every step. Josphats knowledge of the reserve, animals and just about everything else was immense. Simons determination through hail, rain and thunderstorms to find us hunting lionesses and generosity in helping us with a few small things and finally Lucas's ability to deliver fantastic fresh food at a moments notice when his epic laugh and smile made this a wonderful trip.

I am sure there are more "beautiful" lodges, with "better quality" ingredients and more "private" tours but what I can tell you is that this place is very very special and it is because of the people that work there. Thank you to everyone for having us and we will see you again.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Mark J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and detailed review - it is such a pleasure to read it. To receive the full Five Stars is always heart warming for us as a team.

It is truly exciting that you enjoyed your time with us; we are constantly hard at work to perfect our experience, and it is feedback like yours that keeps us motivated to keep pushing the boundaries further.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I was looking forward to spoiling my wife at a 5 star lodge for her 50th birthday, but this establishment definitely does not deserve to display 5 stars. I dearly paid for what I though would be a memorable week-end but the lodge and the way it is run lacks the fundamentals generally present at these special (expensive) places. The staff are friendly and the food was ok (at best 4 star) but too many things confirmed this place is not worthy of a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeonNel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintin W, Owner at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and we are very concerned about your comments.

Firstly I would like to apologise that you didn't have a 5 star experience at Fifty Seven Waterberg.

As a five star establishment we have to adhere to extremely strict grading criteria. Our grading gets done yearly and we have achieved more than the required points to be awarded 5 starts. Further to this we pride ourselves on delivering service and an overall experience above 5 stars.

It is very disappointing to hear that we did not deliver to your expectations, although your comments are very vague on how we specifically fell short.
We strive to continuously improve our facilities and service and can only do so with constructive criticism from our guests.

Therefore I will personally be in contact with you to discuss your concerns in more detail to ensure that the TEAM gets briefed on how we can improve on specific points.

Once again thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews