We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Friendly warm service. Josephat was very knowledgeable about the bush and an excellent guide. The food was lovely, thanks Gabriel. We'll definitely be back.
Location was great. Loved the nespresso in the room.

Room Tip: Three hours from Johannesburg - door to door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Hayley G,

Thank you for rating us the full Five Stars and for taking the time to write a review for us.

It is exciting that you enjoyed your time; we are constantly hard at work to ensure service excellence.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

My mum and I went up to 57 Waterberg for a special mum/daughter bush break #makingmemories in June this year. Simon and his team were super hospitable and saw to our every need. From the welcoming line-up song at the front door with all of the staff in attendance, to the warm face cloths served on a tray each time you arrived back from game drive. A happy crew of staff who make every effort! The lodge itself is beautifully appointed and luxurious, which for me is key to comfort and enjoyment. Mum and I shared a honeymoon suite and so we also had the additional benefit of a jacuzzi on the deck which we lazed around in whilst the warthog strolled by towards the watering hole. Thanks 57 Waterberg team for a memorable break!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very well appointed. Only two have jacuzzi's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karenf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear karenf902,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing our establishment. It is always great to receive positive feedback, thank you so much. We are excited to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57 Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

The staff was just amazing: very friendly, helpful and professional. The five houses very stylish and luxurious. I was in the game lodge at the end of may - perfect weather conditions with little guests.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 719elianes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear 719elianes,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your positive feedback is appreciated, thank you so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Put this one on your Bucket list as on of the best Big 5 Lodges within 2,5hrs drive from Gauteng. The place is beautiful, the food is excellent and the scenery's fantastic. The staff is also well trained with everything....food, game trips, birds etc

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JohanXt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear JohanXt,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always great to receive positive feedback, thank you so much. We are excited to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

57 Waterberg is a very special place. Not because the setting is spectacular- because it is is, not because the lodge is fantastic- because it is is, but because the people that work there a very special.

Simon, Lucas, Michael and Josphat gave us an experience we cannot stop thinking about and will never forget. As a kid growing up I have always dreamt of going on Safari and this did not disappoint.

The main lodge itself is beautiful with a view over the hills, tree tops and watering hole, whilst the lodges themselves are huge, well decorated, maintained and appointed. The water piping hot, the bed huge and comfortable, heating to keep you warm and night and a massive balcony to give you some private outdoor space.

The food prepared by Lucas at every meal was excellent- cakes and biscuits on the game drive, 2 course breakfast, "light" lunch and 3 course meals in the evening were fantastic. The meals were cooked with love and presented in immaculate detail.

The game drives- driven by Simon and Josphat were un believable. Seeing the animals so close up, in their natural habitat was fantastic but the resilience and determination of both of them to find the animals in the right location was incredible, extending drives, going on less used roads, getting out of the car and peering at tracks with lions evidently near by.

But the greatest thing about this lodge was the feel of the place. They have made it feel like a home. When we left we felt like we were leaving some of our best friends behind. Michael was never without a smile, making us laugh and feel welcome at every step. Josphats knowledge of the reserve, animals and just about everything else was immense. Simons determination through hail, rain and thunderstorms to find us hunting lionesses and generosity in helping us with a few small things and finally Lucas's ability to deliver fantastic fresh food at a moments notice when his epic laugh and smile made this a wonderful trip.

I am sure there are more "beautiful" lodges, with "better quality" ingredients and more "private" tours but what I can tell you is that this place is very very special and it is because of the people that work there. Thank you to everyone for having us and we will see you again.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBamboo1, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Mark J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and detailed review - it is such a pleasure to read it. To receive the full Five Stars is always heart warming for us as a team.

It is truly exciting that you enjoyed your time with us; we are constantly hard at work to perfect our experience, and it is feedback like yours that keeps us motivated to keep pushing the boundaries further.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
21.5 km away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
407 reviews
12.5 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
175 reviews
1.4 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#4 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#6 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
11.2 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
158 reviews
17.3 km away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#5 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty Seven Waterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty Seven Waterberg

Address: Site 57, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0043, South Africa (Formerly MolenVliet Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: RM1,691 - RM2,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fifty Seven Waterberg 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated three hours north of Johannesburg lies Fifty Seven Waterberg, a gem nestled in the heart of the Welgevonden Game Reserve and home to the Big Five in a malaria-free area. The Waterberg Biosphere Reserve was declared an official UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001. This magnificent five-star establishment is synonymous with tranquility, solitude and luxury; not to mention the surroundings of the breath taking panoramic views of the Waterberg mountains. Guests can unwind next to the infinity pool that overlooks a shallow valley and mountain stream that flows to a waterhole. The five spacious suites are placed strategically along the small hill to provide maximum privacy and intimacy. All are equipped with king-sized beds, fireplace and relaxing private deck where you can unwind while listening to the birds sing. The honeymoon suites have their own private Jacuzzi for the ultimate distressing pleasure or sipping on a glass of sparkling wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fifty Seven Waterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing