We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in Welgevonden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fifty Seven Waterberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Our 1 night stay in 57 Waterberg was 1 big highlight, It started already on our pickup with a welcome drink in the Jeep. The Lodge perfect, the food excellent, the staff so friendly and the safari very informing and experienced. Sundowner wauw and early morning coffee break on a great spot.
1 night is way too short. We will be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grootaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear grootaj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it is such a pleasure to read it. To receive the full Five Stars is always heart warming for us as a team.

It is truly exciting that you enjoyed your time with us; we are constantly hard at work to perfect our experience, and it is feedback like yours that keeps us motivated to keep pushing the boundaries further.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

When we booked 57 Waterberg, we really didn't know what to expect. From the first minute of getting off the 4x4 car that brought us to the lodge, our experience was off the charts!
Simon, Piet and Gabriel, with the rest of the staff (7 in total), made the stay such an incredible experience. The lodge, based on the Welgevonden reserve regulations, is limited to five families. You therefore receive a very personal treatment, with the chef, Gabriel, tailoring the meals to the tastes of the guests; Piet, the man with the everlasting smile, knows each guest by name and by their desires; and Simon, the manager, is the most friendly and warm host one can expect.
We are a family of 5, with youngest 8 years old and oldest 18 - thus tailoring the experience to match such wide range of ages (incl. the parents...), is not easy. But this staff made it happen - big time!
We had two Safaris per day - 7am and 3pm - each 3-4 hours long. Seeing elephants, Rhinos, Zebras and more. Always coming back to a hot chocolate and to a warming liquor.
Rooms are very specious and spoiling...with very large bed, fireplace, bath tub and shower as well as a Jacuzzi on the patio.
As part of an all-inclusive package, all meals were made by the Gabriel, who came before each meal to introduce us to the dishes. A true Chef.

By the end of the visit, I truly had hard time getting my wife to agree to leave...we all fell in love with the place and the people.

Thank you 57 Waterberg for a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy001122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Guy001122,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and detailed review - it is such a pleasure to read it. To receive the full Five Stars is always heart warming for us as a team.

It is truly exciting that you enjoyed your time with us; we are constantly hard at work to perfect our experience, and it is feedback like yours that keeps us motivated to keep pushing the boundaries further.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We have been to Welgdvonden a few times, and to a number of other game lodges in South Africa. 57 Waterberg is right up there with the best of them. I couldn't find fault with the place. What a super getaway!

The staff at 57 Waterberg were all super. From the moment we arrived we were surrounded by happy, smiling faces and the attention to detail was excellent. Simon and Josphat were excellent rangers and very knowledgeable about all of the animals, plants and birds which we saw. Piet has the most lovely nature, and he really added something extra special to our trip. He took note of every little thing that we liked, and he made such an effort to make our stay as perfect as possible.

On to the food. WOW! We were very sceptical about going to this lodge based on some of the 2016 reviews about the food. Gabriel, who is fairly new to 57 Waterberg, is an extremely talented chef. His meals were all delicious and beautiful at the same time. He prepared everything to perfection and my husband requested second helpings whenever they were available. We had some restrictive dietary requirements, and he was able to prepare these incredible meals taking that into account.

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with all of the extras you could want: a great hairdryer, nespresso machine, tea and coffee, gas fireplace, heater, etc. The beds are large and very comfortable with crisp white linen and a variety of pillows to choose from.

We had magnificent game sightings which were such a treat.

Overall, I absolutely loved our time at 57 Waterberg. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SH27380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear SH27380,

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent and comprehensive review for us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a flawless experience with us and your compliments will be passed on to the team. It is especially exciting that you are familiar with Welgevonden, as well as being a well-travelled couple. Your review is very much appreciated.

We value your business and patronage and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Thanks again for joining us.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The service at Fifty Seven Waterberg was impeccable to say the least. From the moment you are welcomed with hot towels and friendly faces to when you go to your huge, luxurious and cozy chalet, your every need is tended to.

The location is perfect, far away from the noise of the city and the views are magnificent. To add to the fact that Fifty Seven Waterberg is absolutely beautiful, the staff are really what contributed to a fantastic stay. Every staff member ensured our needs were met and that we were happy with the service we were receiving.

Josphat is the best guide I have come across and the knowledge he possesses is unbelievable. He understands nature in a way I have never experienced and taught us so much while on the game drives.

This was a weekend I will never forget all thanks to the team at Fifty Seven Waterberg and the pure beauty of this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janien41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear janien41,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your positive feedback is appreciated, thank you so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best Regards,
The 57Waterberg Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Friendly warm service. Josephat was very knowledgeable about the bush and an excellent guide. The food was lovely, thanks Gabriel. We'll definitely be back.
Location was great. Loved the nespresso in the room.

Room Tip: Three hours from Johannesburg - door to door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Hayley G,

Thank you for rating us the full Five Stars and for taking the time to write a review for us.

It is exciting that you enjoyed your time; we are constantly hard at work to ensure service excellence.

Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
The 57W Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welgevonden Game Reserve
1.4 km away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
200 reviews
21.5 km away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
412 reviews
12.5 km away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Nungubane Game Lodge
Nungubane Game Lodge
#5 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
154 reviews
11.2 km away
Makweti Safari Lodge
Makweti Safari Lodge
#2 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
165 reviews
5.7 km away
Sediba Private Game Lodge
Sediba Private Game Lodge
#11 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifty Seven Waterberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty Seven Waterberg

Address: Site 57, Welgevonden Game Reserve 0043, South Africa (Formerly MolenVliet Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range: RM2,186 - RM2,784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fifty Seven Waterberg 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated three hours north of Johannesburg lies Fifty Seven Waterberg, a gem nestled in the heart of the Welgevonden Game Reserve and home to the Big Five in a malaria-free area. The Waterberg Biosphere Reserve was declared an official UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2001. This magnificent five-star establishment is synonymous with tranquility, solitude and luxury; not to mention the surroundings of the breath taking panoramic views of the Waterberg mountains. Guests can unwind next to the infinity pool that overlooks a shallow valley and mountain stream that flows to a waterhole. The five spacious suites are placed strategically along the small hill to provide maximum privacy and intimacy. All are equipped with king-sized beds, fireplace and relaxing private deck where you can unwind while listening to the birds sing. The honeymoon suites have their own private Jacuzzi for the ultimate distressing pleasure or sipping on a glass of sparkling wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fifty Seven Waterberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing