We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Clifftop Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$640
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nedile Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sediba Private Game Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$596
US$578
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nungubane Game Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tshwene Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
US$701
US$680
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ekuthuleni Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
US$701
US$680
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Ndlovu(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$912
US$521
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamila Game Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$383
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Mhondoro Safari Lodge & Villa(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
    US$695
    US$626
    SA Hotels
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Makweti Safari Lodge(Welgevonden Game Reserve)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (155)
    Filter reviews
    155 results
    Traveller rating
    142
    5
    8
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    142
    5
    8
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewschef gabrielfood preparedgame drivesamazing experiencecream cheeseevery staff memberlovely poolblue cheesestuffed chicken breastfresh rocketpoultryfriendly and accommodating staffsquash pureegreat respectstar luxuryexceeded our expectationsfauna and flora
    Filter
    Updating list...
    72 - 77 of 155 reviews
    Reviewed 21 July 2017

    When we booked 57 Waterberg, we really didn't know what to expect. From the first minute of getting off the 4x4 car that brought us to the lodge, our experience was off the charts!
    Simon, Piet and Gabriel, with the rest of the staff (7 in total), made the stay such an incredible experience. The lodge, based on the Welgevonden reserve regulations, is limited to five families. You therefore receive a very personal treatment, with the chef, Gabriel, tailoring the meals to the tastes of the guests; Piet, the man with the everlasting smile, knows each guest by name and by their desires; and Simon, the manager, is the most friendly and warm host one can expect.
    We are a family of 5, with youngest 8 years old and oldest 18 - thus tailoring the experience to match such wide range of ages (incl. the parents...), is not easy. But this staff made it happen - big time!
    We had two Safaris per day - 7am and 3pm - each 3-4 hours long. Seeing elephants, Rhinos, Zebras and more. Always coming back to a hot chocolate and to a warming liquor.
    Rooms are very specious and spoiling...with very large bed, fireplace, bath tub and shower as well as a Jacuzzi on the patio.
    As part of an all-inclusive package, all meals were made by the Gabriel, who came before each meal to introduce us to the dishes. A true Chef.

    By the end of the visit, I truly had hard time getting my wife to agree to leave...we all fell in love with the place and the people.

    Thank you 57 Waterberg for a great experience!

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Guy001122
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

    Dear Guy001122,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive and detailed review - it is such a pleasure to read it. To receive the full Five Stars is always heart warming for us as a team.

    It is truly exciting that you enjoyed your time with us; we are constantly hard at work to perfect our experience, and it is feedback like yours that keeps us motivated to keep pushing the boundaries further.

    Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Best Regards,
    The 57W Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 July 2017

    We have been to Welgdvonden a few times, and to a number of other game lodges in South Africa. 57 Waterberg is right up there with the best of them. I couldn't find fault with the place. What a super getaway!

    The staff at 57 Waterberg were all super. From the moment we arrived we were surrounded by happy, smiling faces and the attention to detail was excellent. Simon and Josphat were excellent rangers and very knowledgeable about all of the animals, plants and birds which we saw. Piet has the most lovely nature, and he really added something extra special to our trip. He took note of every little thing that we liked, and he made such an effort to make our stay as perfect as possible.

    On to the food. WOW! We were very sceptical about going to this lodge based on some of the 2016 reviews about the food. Gabriel, who is fairly new to 57 Waterberg, is an extremely talented chef. His meals were all delicious and beautiful at the same time. He prepared everything to perfection and my husband requested second helpings whenever they were available. We had some restrictive dietary requirements, and he was able to prepare these incredible meals taking that into account.

    The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with all of the extras you could want: a great hairdryer, nespresso machine, tea and coffee, gas fireplace, heater, etc. The beds are large and very comfortable with crisp white linen and a variety of pillows to choose from.

    We had magnificent game sightings which were such a treat.

    Overall, I absolutely loved our time at 57 Waterberg. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank SH27380
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

    Dear SH27380,

    Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent and comprehensive review for us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a flawless experience with us and your compliments will be passed on to the team. It is especially exciting that you are familiar with Welgevonden, as well as being a well-travelled couple. Your review is very much appreciated.

    We value your business and patronage and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

    Thanks again for joining us.

    Best Regards,
    The 57W Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 July 2017

    The service at Fifty Seven Waterberg was impeccable to say the least. From the moment you are welcomed with hot towels and friendly faces to when you go to your huge, luxurious and cozy chalet, your every need is tended to.

    The location is perfect, far away from the noise of the city and the views are magnificent. To add to the fact that Fifty Seven Waterberg is absolutely beautiful, the staff are really what contributed to a fantastic stay. Every staff member ensured our needs were met and that we were happy with the service we were receiving.

    Josphat is the best guide I have come across and the knowledge he possesses is unbelievable. He understands nature in a way I have never experienced and taught us so much while on the game drives.

    This was a weekend I will never forget all thanks to the team at Fifty Seven Waterberg and the pure beauty of this establishment.

    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank janien41
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

    Dear janien41,

    Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your positive feedback is appreciated, thank you so much. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

    Best Regards,
    The 57Waterberg Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 June 2017

    Friendly warm service. Josephat was very knowledgeable about the bush and an excellent guide. The food was lovely, thanks Gabriel. We'll definitely be back.
    Location was great. Loved the nespresso in the room.

    Room Tip: Three hours from Johannesburg - door to door.
    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Hayley G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

    Dear Hayley G,

    Thank you for rating us the full Five Stars and for taking the time to write a review for us.

    It is exciting that you enjoyed your time; we are constantly hard at work to ensure service excellence.

    Thank you for choosing our establishment and your valuable support and business. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Best Regards,
    The 57W Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 June 2017

    My mum and I went up to 57 Waterberg for a special mum/daughter bush break #makingmemories in June this year. Simon and his team were super hospitable and saw to our every need. From the welcoming line-up song at the front door with all of the staff in attendance, to the warm face cloths served on a tray each time you arrived back from game drive. A happy crew of staff who make every effort! The lodge itself is beautifully appointed and luxurious, which for me is key to comfort and enjoyment. Mum and I shared a honeymoon suite and so we also had the additional benefit of a jacuzzi on the deck which we lazed around in whilst the warthog strolled by towards the watering hole. Thanks 57 Waterberg team for a memorable break!

    Room Tip: All of the rooms are very well appointed. Only two have jacuzzi's
    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank karenf902
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    PRManage, Manager at Fifty Seven Waterberg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

    Dear karenf902,

    Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing our establishment. It is always great to receive positive feedback, thank you so much. We are excited to welcoming you back in the near future.

    Best Regards,
    The 57 Waterberg Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews