We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Beaulieu sur Dordogne! Literally means beautiful place on the river and it is!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Beaulieu sur Dordogne! Literally means beautiful place on the river and it is!
Our street Rue St CATHERINE. The wishing well in the foreground and our house left at the end. The beautiful river. Great for fishing, swimming, canoeing or a trip on a Gabarre.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Beautiful Beaulieu sur Dordogne! Literally means beautiful place on the river and it is!
Our street Rue St CATHERINE. The wishing well in the foreground and our house left at the end.
The beautiful river. Great for fishing, swimming, canoeing or a trip on a Gabarre.
Our apartment in this gorgeous medieval old town.
Our main living area with wonderful open fireplace.
The loft bedroom with two comfy single air beds. Inflate to your desired firmness.
Your hosts. Rae and Neil Fisenden from Australia.
The Gabarre operating from July through October.
Another shot of the apartment.
Our very lovely dining room table where many a yummy meal has been shared. Plus some wine!
Our spacious bathroom.
This is a shot taken whilst picnicking on the river the other side of Beaulieu.
One of the double bedrooms with comfy bed. Wardrobe and drawers not in this pic.
The main bedroom. Again wardrobe and draws not pictured.
My favourite cafe. Cafe Douceur. Fantastic!!
Our street during festival time.
The main living area with lovely windows.
Another view from the dining room table. Such a spacious home. Photos don't do it justice.
From the other end.
One of my lovely mirrors.
The Abbey St Pierre. Right near the house. You hear the bells !
The town of Turenne 20 minutes away.
That lovely wishing well again.
My flower planters. Red and white impatiens.
The Portal of the Abbey. Very famous throughout France!
My husband's favourite coupe! Peche Melba!
Festival Angels.
Our glorious river!! Sit by and relax and watch the world go by!
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne, Correze, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharyn G
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fabulous 3br house in this medieval village. The house is really well set up and furnished. It has some quirky elements which just add to its charm. Well positioned in the centre of town but in a very quiet street. The owners communicate really well.
I can't recommend this place highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
Thank you Sharon for staying with us and leaving our home in such a clean condition. We enjoyed hosting you very much and trust one day you might be back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Buderim, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beaulieu - a beautiful village and beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked this accommodation from Australia as part of a 70th birthday celebration in France. The owners are English and French speaking Australians which made the booking process a breeze. The owners Rae-Helen and Neil were very responsive and provided us with with all the information we needed and more, about the property, places to see and things to do. We fell in love with the pristine apartment with it's exquisite furnishings. We had to pinch ourselves when we arrived - a week of luxury in a house that is hundreds of years old and greeted with a welcome note and a bottle of wine! It it is in a perfect location within the medieval walled village within easy walking distance to restaurants, the Dordogne river and the beautiful Benedictine Abbey. The local market provided us with amazing local produce, we sampled many of the great local restaurants and we were lucky enough to attend a concert in the Abbey. We did a number of the recommended day trips and loved every minute and want to go back so we can finish the to do list! Just an amazing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of staying within walking distance of everything in such a beautiful historic house in Beaulieu
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Helen. We enjoyed helping you plan your special holiday in France and we are thrilled you had such a lovely, memorable stay. Do come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makka2460...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away form Home”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in this beautiful medieval townhouse was everything we had hoped for.
The house looked exactly as it appeared in the photos but even more spacious. It is elegant, yet comfortable and the clean presentation with a welcoming bottle of wine was much appreciated. Nestled within the old walls of the town, this 17th Century home is perfectly located to access everything Beaulieu has to offer. The stunning Abby, literally around the corner, the Dordogne River only meters away, superb french restaurants and the shops....and Patisseries!!!! All within easy walking distance. The owners were great and so helpful with our planning, nothing was too much trouble. We absolutely LOVED every minute of our stay in stunning Beaulieu especially coming home each day to this welcoming townhouse and a comfortable bed. This was a highlight of our European experience in this ' Home away from Home. Merci Neil & Rae... PS Your suggestion regarding Cafe Douceur was fantastic. Sweet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable matress
Liked least: Jetlag
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and to know it was a highlight of your trip is so gratifying!
Warm regards and a bient�t.
RF.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
111Travel...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Village Life”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were delighted to arrive at this charming cottage nestled in the heart of beautiful Beaulieu, and were warmly welcomed with a lovely bottle of wine awaiting us from the owners, Rae-Helen and Neil.
The three bedroom apartment was spacious, and tastefully decorated. We especially enjoyed many relaxed meals around the large, communal dining table, along with cosy nights around the fireplace. It was like a 'home away from home'.

Parking was easy and accessible.
The location was perfect, with a short stroll to shops, cafes, restaurants, along with the peaceful and picturesque Dordogne river. There were so many hidden treasures to discover in the village.

This 'home away from home' allowed us opportunity to take wonderful day-trips around the region, and then return to the comfort of quiet village life at the end of the day.

Neil and Rae-Helen were extremely helpful with the process of receiving our booking, planning our trip, along with all communication needed to ensure a relaxed holiday. They were always quick to respond to any requests and are perfect hosts.

If I ever get the opportunity to visit this wonderful region again, I would not hesitate to re-book this charming cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a clean, comfortable 'home away from home' in a beautiful village
Liked least: It was the quiet season, some village shops were closed for the whole week.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We always hoped the house would be warm and welcoming and a "home away from home" for our guests. I'm also thrilled you enjoyed it's location so close to the beautiful river but within a lovely and treasure-filled village. It was our pleasure to have you and we would love to again some time in the future.
RF.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieEil...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You are the Cleaner”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was obvious when we arrived that the place had not been cleaned to an acceptable standard, in our opinion, and upon reading the "Rules" we found that they do not employ professional cleaners so the guests are "kindly" requested to vacuum and scrub the bathrooms and toilets before they leave. The sponge in the sink was unfit for use, in our opinion, so we had to buy one before we could wash the dishes which we did before use. The dishes were in the open and in the same room as bird droppings on the hearth, fire grate and indoor plant. There were other cleaning issues and the bath had quite a bit of mould and there was used soap and an old scrubber ready for us to use.

We were expecting a Queen sized bed in the sunny loft but these had been replaced by "State of the Art" single Air Beds with strict rules as to their use. Their website still advertises the Queen bed including pictures. The double beds were very hard and uncomfortable.

Beaulieu, itself, is a beautiful place. The river is stunning and the restaurants were excellent in particularly Les Carmilles. There is so much to see around such as Gouffre de Padiric, Rocamadour, Turenne and Castlenou Bretenoux. Certainly recommend Beaulieu if not this cottage.

Also suggest checking the security as to how often the Combination Lock is changed. Just seemed strange that the code was typed in the list of rules.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bed and that we were the cleaners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
We make it clear on our website that the house is to be left in a "genuinely proper and clean condition" when vacating. There are no "rules" as you stated and clearly there was definitely a lack of understanding on your part. Having said that, the cleanliness of the house for your stay was definitely not up to the standard that we promote or expect and we are genuinely upset about this, however we would have hoped that you could have dealt with this matter in a more conciliatory manner. We have made the necessary change to the Management of the property . In addition, we no longer require guests to clean the property at the conclusion of their stay and employ professional cleaners. As anyone can see in the photos on Trip Advisor there are two single Air beds in the loft and not a Queen bed. Also we beg to differ on the comfortability of the two Double beds. The bird droppings were simply the result of a pigeon landing on the chimney and a couple of tiny splodges of bird poo resulting in the hearth. The many emails and photos we received as "evidence" from you were quite trivial in our opinion. In stark contradiction to your poor review I received a glowing report from ecstatic guests yesterday. You obviously enjoyed all that the village had to offer which we are so happy about, particularly the restaurants which we recommended to you. Whilst we consider our elegant town house to be of a very high standard it is an entire "home" and not a five star hotel room.
On a final note we did not appreciate your comment regarding the security code which is now compromised and has had to be changed as a result!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$152
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing