We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great value”
Review of Laokasti Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laokasti Villas
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I would strongly recommend this place. What I liked about it:

- Close to everything, but quiet. Before I came, I thought I wanted to stay in the old village area of Oia, but everything was too expensive. But this is actually a better location - you're right next to the main village, but it's a lot quieter (you don't have to deal with hordes of tourists at sunset!) and if you want to go other places on the island, you're right next to the main road.

- Really friendly, helpful staff. In fact, one day they had to make a tiny bit of noise (running a generator, I think) and they gave me a bottle of their house wine as an apology. Totally unnecessary, but I appreciated the gesture (and the wine was great).

- Nice pool - which was great as it can get pretty hot and sunny on Santorini. The pool was a great place to relax after sightseeing.

My only quibble is that the rooms are pretty dark - the only source of light is the doorway, if you have the door or shutters open. This seems common on Santorini (it's the cave house style, I guess) and keeps things cool but it's something to be aware of if that's an issue for you.

Room Tip: The rooms behind the pool (down the stairs) are very secluded and quiet, and have little outdoor sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahtravels78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Laokasti Villas are some of the more reasonably priced accommodation in Oia. They are not cheap, but cost much less than the fancy cave dwellings a few hundred meters away. We stayed four nights with two children.

The positives:
Popi is very friendly and extremely helpful. In addition to corresponding with me many times in advance, she booked us concert reservations, organized a rental car and bought our ferry tickets. She did it all with a warm smile making us feel as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Well done!

The fellow working the night shift, Michael, was also very kind and helpful. He welcomed us and took care of anything we needed after hours.

The location is great, right across from the beginning of the main strip of Oia. Also next to a supermarket.

The pool was nice and clean and our kids enjoyed a morning swim each day before we set off exploring.

Our maisonette with sea view room was spacious enough for four people. The room was clean and comfortable. The balcony off the back was lovely and the front door opened right onto the pool deck.

The negatives:
Breakfast is rather boring. You have to fill out a form the night before telling them what you want the next day, but the food just isn't much to get exited about. Sliced white bread, cold cuts, hard boiled egg, yogurt, cereal. It filled the belly, but not the soul. Furthermore, they charge extra for water and other "premium" foods. One day I paid €20 for 4 plates of bacon and eggs for the family. The food was plain and simple.

The barrier at the foot of the bed on the maisonette is so low one could easily fall over it. There's very little room to maneuver so a catastrophic fall would not be hard to imagine.

We didn't like the shower gel and conditioner. It smelled unpleasant.

Overall this is a great place in Oia and I'd stay again, all things considered.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Laokasti Villas for 3 nights. It was excellent! The rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. It is the perfect location. Popi was extremely helpful and had great recommendations. She booked taxis, dinner reservations and tours for us. Thank you so much!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stelly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Laokasti Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear stelly1234, Thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review of your recent visit. We are delighted to read how much you appreciated the villa and how highly you enjoyed the experience. Always at your disposal, Laokasti Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Stayed two nights May 15/16. Right from check in, Poppy was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and well looked after. Location could not have been better and were able to walk everywhere. Had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Food was amazing and our waiter for dinner made excellent recommendations, super friendly, and if that wasn't enough he and the chef surprised us with a complimentary dessert. If I am ever able to return to Santorini I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creativeatrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Laokasti Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear creativeatrophy, thank you very much for your glowing review and we are delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Laokasti Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, the lady on the reception desk went out of her way to help out my friend and I when we had trouble with booking a transfer. Rooms were a good size and The pool was lovely. Breakfast included is a bonus. Would recommend :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannis A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Laokasti Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Liz C, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, as it will serve as a further source of inspiration for all of us. We hope you got lifetime memories and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Laokasti Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oia hotels
0.6 km away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
0.9 km away
VIP Suites
VIP Suites
#47 of 58 in Oia
272 reviews
0.8 km away
Residence Suites
Residence Suites
#42 of 58 in Oia
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Alexander's Boutique Hotel of Oia
0.3 km away
Anemomilos Hotel Apartments
0.5 km away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laokasti Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laokasti Villas

Address: Ia (Across St. George's church), Oia 847 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Oia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oia
#12 Spa Hotel in Oia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Oia
Price Range: RM 445 - RM 1,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laokasti Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laokasti is a hotel and restaurant that is established and run by the same family since 1985. It is located in the most picturesque of all Santorini villages, Oia and offers a fantastic opportunity to enjoy the beauty that Santorini is. The hotel is a complex of 17 fully autonomous villas built in the traditional Santorini style (four maisonettes-suites, three apartments and 10 studios/ studio-suites).The hotel has a swimming pool with a pool bar and a small spa with a sauna and a Jacuzzi. It also has a restaurant that offers traditional Greek and ethnic cuisine and an excellent service.All suites are located by the pool and have private balconies or verandas with a panoramic view of the deep blue sea and the island of Ios, while the sun sets. All villas offer all facilities necessary to enjoy your holidays: air-conditioning, hair dryer, safety box, satellite TV and a kitchen equipped with utensils.We look forward to your arrival at Laokasti Villas Hotel and promise that you will enjoy unforgettable holidays in Santorini in a family environment that will make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Laokasti Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laokasti Villas Hotel Oia
Laokasti Hotel Oia
Laokasti Resort Oia
Laokasti Villas Oia, Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing