We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beacon Hotel Oswego
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Our room was small with a queen size bed. There was a noisy plastic cover on the very hard mattress. The pillows were very thin.
The hotel was clean, and the people were friendly, except for the man on night duty with his glib remark about the air conditioning problem.
The continental breakfast was mediocre. Only pastries, fruit, yogurt and instant oatmeal. I would have expected there to be cheeses and sliced meats such as ham, turkey and salamis. Boiled eggs would have been appropriate.
The real clincher was our air conditioning not working correctly on our last night of stay. Their response: "it's too late to call a repairman. We can offer you a box fan; people have used these before when we have had trouble with this room and others."
Our room was right by the hotel desk, and was noisy too.
We would not stay there again, nor can we recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend a stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ncoasttravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconOswego, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

I would personally like to thank you for taking the time to review the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY with your honest feedback. While we are happy to hear you found the property clean and the majority of the staff friendly and welcoming we are very sorry to hear of your troubles during your reservation. We are continually making improvements to provide our guests with the best experience possible while they visit our historic city of Oswego. I would be happy to set aside some time to discuss the specifics of your stay and the best ways to improve our property for future guests. If you would like to reach out please feel free to contact me via e-mail at BeaconHotelOswegoNY@gmail.com or via phone at (315) 343-3300. Thank you again for staying with the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY as well as your timely and honest review. ~Kyle W. (Beacon Hotel Office Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016

Very clean and renovated rooms. We stayed one evening and slept comfortably. No issues with noise when we stayed, but SUNY Oswego was no in Fall session yet. Neighborhood surrounding was fine. Would recommend for a clean nights stay. In fact, a woman came in as we were checking in and tried to get a room because the place she booked was dirty.

Room Tip: Second Floor are quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TazAmato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconOswego, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

We would sincerely like to thank you for staying with the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY during your most recent trip to Oswego! In addition we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are proud and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. In order to continue to provide a high standard of attention to detail and service we welcome any thoughts or ideas you have for making your stay even better the next time you are in town. Thank you again for booking, reviewing and enjoying the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

The hotel was clean and well represented by all personnel. Everyone was extremely friendly and all requests were handled professionally. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Oswego area.

Many thanks,

Alfred,

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but of course the honeymoon suite with the jacuzzi would be tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconOswego, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

We would sincerely like to thank you for staying with the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY during your most recent trip to Oswego! In addition we greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are proud and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our historic, boutique hotel to family and friends. In order to continue to provide a high standard of attention to detail and service we welcome any thoughts or ideas you have for making your stay even better the next time you are in town. Thank you again for booking, reviewing and enjoying the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

One of the top four hotels in Oswego, that we stayed in during HarborFest and Speedway. All include a free breakfast and each has its pros and cons.
The Beacon is a small quaint hotel with character and very pleasant staff; not a busy chain hotel. Spotlessly clean. No milling crowds, very pleasant lounge with comfortable chairs to sit in, compute or just read (several books on Oswego that make interesting browsing). Easy walk to downtown for restaurants and shops; no bar or restaurant in hotel. Free large parking lot at the back door.
Beds tend to be on the hard-side and the continental breakfast is minimal. There is traffic noise most noticeable in the morning, so you might want to choose a room on the back.

Room Tip: Each room is different, you can look and select on booking. Those in the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stangina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconOswego, Front Office Manager at Beacon Hotel Oswego, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

From all of the staff here at the Beacon I would like to thank you for staying with us during your most recent trip to Oswego! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and welcome any thoughts or ideas you have for making your stay even better the next time you are in town. Thank you again for booking, reviewing and enjoying the Beacon Hotel Oswego NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Beacon is a terrific hotel, it combines all the interest and charm of a historical property with all modern comforts and conveniences. It's located walking distance to good restaurants and to views of one of the great sunsets in the world. The staff are fantastic; friendly and helpful and double as unofficial Oswego tourist guides. The rooms, as in many historical inns are not large but neither are they cramped. Ours had a beautiful decorative fireplace, a great large bed and a great bathroom. There is a large comfortable common room and ample parking.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertalexander j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oswego hotels
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oswego
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Oswego Hotel And Conference Center
2.9 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
K&G Lodge
K&G Lodge
#6 of 11 in Oswego
75 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
7.7 km away
All Seasons Inn
All Seasons Inn
#7 of 11 in Oswego
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel Oswego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel Oswego

Address: 75 West Bridge Street, Oswego, NY 13126
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Oswego
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Oswego
Price Range: RM 502 - RM 631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beacon Hotel Oswego 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Hotel Oswego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing