We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
4
2
5
3
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
2
5
3
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2015

If you like train watching this place is PERFECT. A double track runs right out front and you get a great view of every CSX train going by. The first room we were given had problems with the curtain rod and we were given another room. The rooms are bare bones - but clean. The heat is a space heater that did just fine for us. The A/C is a window unit stuck in the back wall. The bathroom was TINY - but functional and clean as a "vintage motel" can be. The staff was friendly and helpful. We needed to be in Canajoharie so the location was the important factor in choosing this place. Overall, it is a budget, no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TravelJudy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Enjoyed the Budget Inn after having stayed at a one star motel in Albany that had a lot less to offer. This place is homey and has excellent staff. The door shuts fully and you do feel like you are somewhere-- close to trains, boats, nature...

Just down the road is a shopping center and within walking distance is the quaint country town of Canajoharie. Coffee was excellent. Yes, there is no breakfast but take time to walk into town and you can eat at several interesting restaurants... Convenient and picturesque...

See video tour by hotel staff here:

http://youtu.be/w-BGABy_a4A

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Omonike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was the ONLY hotel close to my business call the next day...I have stayed here before. bare essentials ONLY.

Old style motel BUT clean........

No breakfast or luxuries here....

Railroad right next to hotel also...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Space heater for heat - not enough to keep the room warm,
Shower and fridge, covered with mold and mildew

The worst hotel I have ever visited, walked in, walked out - the first ever that we refused to stay.

Disputing the charges that the hotel staff refused to refund.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmjflo1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This inn was easy to get to. Located right on Route 5 and close to several convenient stores-- Stewarts, Big Lots, ACE Hardware, and McDonalds. The innkeeper was friendly and immediately let us know that there was free coffee in the lobby area until midnight. When we got to our room, we saw clean sheets, a decent television with cable access, a microwave, and clean little refrigerator. The room had an old rug, but besides that everything was in good repair and the innkeeper had provided us with an additional space heater which made the room snug and cozy. The best thing about this inn was the view. Just stepping outside of the room, one could see the historic Erie Canal and a train track -- We only saw a few freight trains go by, but the sound of the trains and height on the hill gave us a feeling of nostalgia. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in need of a quiet place to stay on a visit to Central New York. It is under new management and the current owner has succeeded in eradicating the hotel of delinquent types. I saw a few long term guests chat with the innkeeper as they were on their way to their rooms. The Budget Inn at Palatine Bridge is worth the trip -- affordable and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel so feel free to let the innkeeper know you want to bring your pet and he will show you to a great room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omonike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews