We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I really like Best Westerns and this one was picked because of it's proximity to waterfalls. I didn't actually see a falls but there was a nice stream that ran past my window.

It was quiet and kind of tucked back away from everything else. The evening happy hour was a bonus and i liked that you could sit outside by the water.

From the train station it was about a $20 cab ride. You should know that if you don't have a car, you're kind of cut off. It's not like being in a hotel on a busy street with an Applebees across the parking lot and a Chipotle on the corner. For food, the only real option was a KIND of dicey walk to a place called Gibsons. Not dicey because of the neighborhood but because you need to dodge across a pretty busy road and there are no sidewalks. It's about five minutes away and REALLY good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Layover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Sorry about your not having a car and being able to get around. In Dutchess County you need a car or Uber is helpful. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting in the area. The hotel's appearance is a little unusual and the rooms are a little tired. Our welcome was unusual because for some unknown reason the manager on duty had notice from an unknown source that we were "no shows". That was remedied quickly although we never found the reason for the confusion. We fortunately DID have rooms and the desk quickly, friendly, and efficiently checked us in. The first evening, we had reservations for tour and dinner at the CIA which was a short drive away. The next night we came back from a day of sight-seeing and took part in the complimentary happy hour. The ambiance was so pleasant we extended our time on the deck overlooking the stream. Staff recommended a good pizza delivery and we spent the balance of the daylight on the deck watching the fly fishermen. Very pleasant location and the staff was great.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us and writing your review. The mix up with the reservation is something we are looking into. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I don't often write bad reviews but this was a spectacular fail in value. Room was large and expensive but depressing and icky. Not the fault of cleaning staff who did their job admirably. Window treatments and shower really icky with age.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank V9233AXkerrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

It would be helpful to know the room that you stayed in. This is not our norm and very trouble son. Please give me a call 845-462-5770. Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely hotel, nice view of the water, pleasant staff, comfortable rooms. I would highly recommend this hotel if you have business or vacation plans in the area. It was convenient to the Dutchess County Rail Trail.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank susanfX4080XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for the 5 star rating. We all work hard to try to make every guest's stay exceptional. Hopefully we will see you back in the future. The Rail Trail is beautiful in the fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel for a festival in the area. The rooms are neat and clean and they have a nice continental breakfast and small bar with cocktail hour also. The fitness center is just okay. The outside area at the falls is very pleasant as both times I was there the weather was nice. I would recommend this hotel if someone needed to be in the Poughkeepsie area and the price was good.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 184nataliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your nice review and for staying with us. We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
5.2 km away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
444 reviews
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
279 reviews
18.8 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
5.1 km away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls

Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603-3260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range: RM441 - RM915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing