We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Hook Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wenton Motel(Saugerties)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Courtyard Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$139
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Kingston(Kingston)(Great Value!)
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$475
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
277
59
7
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
59
7
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbard collegehudson valleyfresh eggschef nabildutchess countybed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciouswonderful hostshome away from homequaint towntwo night stayrestaurants and shopscomfortfireplaceaccommodationsnyrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed over President's Day weekend, it was our first trip with just myself, my husband and our 7 month-old son. The room was very comfortable and spacious, if not just a little warm, and we wanted to use the lovely fireplace so could have stood it to be a bit cooler inside. We asked them to turn down the heat and they did, but the insulation kept it very warm! The tub was HUGE! The breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts invited us to join them for dinner one evening, which we'll take them up on someday. Nabil took us out back to the chicken coop so Henri could pet the chickens, it was a great experience, and they have quite the playground, even a swing that perfectly fit a baby! It is conveniently located beside an amazing bakery, Me Oh My Pies. We will definitely visit the Inn again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hicountryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I lucked out and purchased a groupon for a 2 night stay here in room #6 for my one year wedding anniversary with my husband. A quick Amtrak ride up the Hudson and we escaped the crazy fast paced lifestyle of NYC and found ourselves spoiled at the inn! Pat, chef nabil, and the staff were so accommodating, attentive, informative, and loving! As if we were part of the fam! It was such a treat! Can't wait to go back! The bed was amazing, the jacuzzi my favorite, the fire place picturesque, the whole experience was so relaxing, charming, and lovely! Thanks for everything!!!! Oh, and we loved the chickens!!! Fresh eggs!!! And REAL flowers!!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeenajensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pat welcomed us like we were part of family, so we felt at home right away and we relaxed before going out for dinner then I had the most delicious sleep in a extremely comfortable bed. And what they say is true: at breakfast we met a very nice couple whose son was already in Bard so of course the conversation flowed. We felt part of it !

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Gorgonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you so much for your gracious comments! We hope to host you often should your become a "Bard Family'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Both the owners and the town are very quaint and nice, but the property is very dated and dark. The rooms are dusty and feel extremely old. The room were broiling hot even though it was in the 30's outside. The "fresh flowers" are plastic. The lamp shades are covered in plastic. The whole place reminded me of my grandmother's house of the 1980's in a bad way. The Eggs Benedict that was served for breakfast was basically inedible. Stale muffins, eggs cooked through, half a slice of Canadian bacon between the two English muffins. The Hollandaise was made with mustard! The place is on a main road so there is traffic noise all night, though the bed was comfortable. I have stayed in other B&B's for significantly less and been much much more satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

The Red Hook Country Inn is a lovely 170 year old building in the heart of the downtown Village of Red Hook conveniently located along Broadway within minutes to everything interesting that you would wish to visit in the Hudson Valley.

We are happy that you found our village quaint as it is truly a charming place to live, dine, shop and play. Our rooms are all different in theme, mostly kept in a 'dated' style to ensure that a guest who wishes to be visiting an 'antique' house will experience just that...memories of Grandma! While we do place fresh flowers daily in all of our rooms, for accent in two of our rooms we do have silk roses and giant sunflowers in the bathrooms. Fortunately thebathroom facilities are not dated, just the period furnishings, floors (170 years), floors and ceilings. We paint the plaster walls and the original house doors annually and during our winter season we have just completed the process.
As far as the excessive heat, we are very excited to hear about this as we just completed a full insulation project in our attic that is proving to maintain the heat in the inn! We now can turn off the heat at night and our 2 year old, triple glaze windows are able to be opened and closed securely and safely. Also, each room has a working ceiling fan and we also have table fans should anyone require more than that.
The Eggs Benedict is a favorite of our guests and is not made with mustard but with the true ingredients of a chef..lemon juice and worcestershire. We are very careful to give our recipe to anyone who questions and as my husband, Chef Nabil, is a Saucier, his soups and sauces are extraordinarily original and delicious. Since breakfast on Sunday features Eggs Benedict, with fresh fruit, all of our guests also have the option of eggs any style, french toast, fresh oatmal, granola style cereals, oatmeals, yogurts, bacon, sausage, fresh toast, homemade jellies & jams, fruit juices and farm fresh milk for their coffee and tea. If a guest prefers something other for dietary issues such as gluten free (we always have a loaf of gluten free 'bread' on hand)or for some reason or another requests an different or additional breakfast, the option is always available with a smile.
Our housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure that your stay is positive with careful ironing of our linens, daily dusting and vacuuming and whatever else it takes to make your experience wonderful.
We hope you will come back to give us another try and sleep in another one of our very comfortable beds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was delightfully surprised when my boyfriend took me here, and we had such a wonderful night! The meal had such incredible, unique flavors that I've never had before, and every bite was so savory and delicious!! The room was gorgeous with a nice fireplace, and it felt like you were a welcomed guest in someone's home, and it didn't have the feel like you get when you're simply at a hotel. The owners were so nice and they really have us looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleNegron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your Valentine's Day with us! We treat everyone as we would like to be treated so reviews such as yours lift our spirits to know that you enjoyed our hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews