We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
89
23
12
15
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
23
12
15
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traveling with pets historic inn baseball hall of fame minute drive lake view both mornings perfect stay downtown cooperstown yogurt gene lodge
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We took a dear friend who is like a father to my granddaughter for an early Father's Day Sunday lunch by Lake Canadarago. The weather was great we ate then sat by the water to enjoy the passing boats. The restaurant is rustic and has lodging available. The food was very good with average price for lunch. Around $10-13. The service was not the best. It could have been just our waitress. Some of the others seemed more attentive. We used a Groupon for the meal and had no problems.They have a summer concert series which I've heard is good.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

One star is being generous. We rented the 3rd floor (5 rooms) for our team moms. The entry way was cluttered with junk and musty smelling. The rooms were dirty, there was no water pressure in the showers. At times there was no hot water in the showers. The kitchenette area was disgusting and dirty. Mold in the coffee maker! The owner was not friendly or accommodating. We stayed for 2 of the 7 nights that we paid for. No refund and had to book rooms at a hotel closer to the baseball fields. Clean rooms and running water are not much too ask for and this place could not give that to us.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Sheilah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Do not stay at this place.
It was dirty
The bathroom door would not shut
The shower water was ice cold and there was no water pressure
The shower pan was loose and moved with every step
The walls are paper thin and you hear every time any other guest uses the restroom, flushed the toilet, showers, or walks
Totally unacceptable
We asked for a refund a the owner refused
We ended up moving to a different hotel and ate the cost of this place.
If you choose to stay here you will regret it.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Loynt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I will look into it to see if this is an ongoing issue or a unique unfortunate incident you experienced. Please accept my apology. If you decide to try us again, please ask for me so I may thank you for your feedback and ensure we do our best to serve you. Sincerely, The Lake House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Had dinner with friends last night, first visit to the Lake House this year. This was the best meal we have had all year. From the friendly staff to the menu updates, all was great. This Chef knows what she is doing! Try the Salmon on the Cauliflower Risotto, the Lack of Ram, or the Pan Seared Scallops

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for visiting with us. It is always pleasing when our customers elect to write a review so our future customers can see what we are all about… thank you. We appreciate your comments about our pricing, service and products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We spent this past weekend at Lake House, amazing restored property in the quaint town of Richfield Springs on Canadarago Lake. Close to Cooperstown we were looking for a place to spend a getaway weekend with friends. The Lodge is incredible - Christine has done an amazing job of renovating this 1843 historic property. Fully equipped and comfortable - we loved it. She had everything ready for our arrival - even a fire ready to light in the Fireplace. We cooked dinner in the large kitchen and had all the equipment we needed. If you are looking for a different experience off the beaten path this is the place for you. We highly recommend it and look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews