We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Busy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I chose this hotel for my business trip as it was the preferred hotel by my company. I hadn't realized that it was located directly in the heart of the downtown section of Rochester.

The hotel staff was very friendly, and the room was adequately sized. I did find a long blonde hair on my bed, that I assume belonged to the maintenance staff, but other than that the room seemed clean and tidy.

I was on the 10th floor, facing the river and had a spectacular view across the city including the "Kodak" building. The hotel is located next to the convention center, which really didn't help me at all as I was not going there, I'm just mentioning it for location. I went for a walk in the evening of the first night that I checked in so that I could find a restaurant, and after walking for about 20 minutes I seemed to be in a bit of a run down section of the city - due to the number of closed business locations that I passed. I also did not find a restaurant that suited by tastes, and in fact only saw about 4 or 5 restaurants in my travels. I returned to the hotel and stopped at a Subway on the way back. I'm just not a "downtown" type person so I felt out of place and not entirely comfortable.

I had breakfast at the hotel both days, and the food was excellent, and the service was adequate and friendly.

The first night I was there I think there was a wedding occurring due to the amount of people I saw dressed up roaming the halls. This didn't disturb my sleep.

The second night I was there, there was a "future business leaders of america" conference happening, and the hotel was overrun with 100's of high school students. They were not rowdy, but did tend to tie up the elevators constantly, as well as were up late roaming the halls.

Neither of these are things about the hotel, but it does tie into how big and busy the hotel seems to be during weekdays.

Overall my stay was pleasant, but knowing now about the location, I would have tried to find a different spot for my own personal liking. If you like being in the middle of everything this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Try and get a "river side" room, the views are really great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecretSauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your recent stay at our property! I am glad that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the food in Legend's Restaurant. Since it is our goal to ensure the 100% satisfaction of all of our guests, I would recommend that during your next visit to Rochester, you experience our business plan rooms. As it relates to the area surrounding the property, we continue to work closely with our hotel security staff and the Downtown Rochester Community to ensure safety and security for all of our guests. We look forward to your next trip to Rochester! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,366 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in a family room with 2 large beds for one night only en route to NY from Canada. To be honest for a Radisson it was fairly average. The place felt old and a little grimy. The room was way too small. We could hardly move once we had hauled in our luggage. Other than that it was OK, just nothing stood out. Breakfast was not complimentary and was expensive. The staff in the hotel restaurant refused to warm up some food for us for our daughter in the microwave, as it was 'against federal law'. Give me a break. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkDara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your recent stay at our property! I am disappointed that you were not satisfied with your room or breakfast experience. I have addressed these concerns with our team and I am confident that we will exceed your expectations during your next stay at our property. Please contact me directly so that I may personally make your room reservations the next time you are in town. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at the Radisson for a wedding and the hotel and staff were great. Check in and out was quick and the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for the feedback that you provided regarding your recent stay at our property! We are glad that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended and look forward to your next visit to our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is our 5th year having Easter Brunch at the Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside. We are never dissappointed great food, comfortable atmosphere, and lots for the the kids to do. This year they had a great Easter Bunny that came aroound to each table, kids loved it! See you next Easter or maybe Mothers Day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback on our Easter Brunch! We are glad that you enjoyed you and your family enjoyed themselves and look forward to seeing you on Mother's Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

One night we arrived back at the hotel late, and discovered our room had not been made up yet. We called down to the front desk, and Dan got the supplies himself and came up to make our beds and put out clean towels in his 3-piece suit! He also offered us free breakfast at the hotel restaurant as well as free parking validation. Thanks, Dan!
Also, Crystal in the restaurant was very attentive to us. She was an excellent server both mornings we ate breakfast there.

Room Tip: there is no indoor pool or sauna, but I'm sure the outdoor pool will be delightful in the summer...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelMarsch, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you so much for the feedback that you provided regarding your stay! I apologize for your inconvenience and am glad that both Dan and Crystal took extra special care of you during your stay! We look forward to your next trip to Rochester! Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#24 of 29 in Rochester
1,096 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.3 km away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
7.8 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside

Address: 120 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: RM496 - RM765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient downtown location central to all of Rochester's attractions and businesses. Newly renovated and rebranded, The Radisson Riverside Hotel Rochester offers Legends Bar and Grill onsite, fitness center, business center and free wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Rochester Riverside
Clarion Rochester
Rochester Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing