We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadet Motel(Cornwall)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$69
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Windsor Motel(New Windsor)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
US$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
456
36
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
456
36
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshudson valleywest pointthe main housestorm kingbrotherhood winerybreakfast was deliciouswonderful hostsgas fireplaceother guestsmodern conveniencesperfect weekendbridal suiteb bshouse is beautifuljacuzzi tubevery amenitybear mountain
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We've stayed here many times and continue to enjoy this lovely experience created by the owners. We always stay in the same room - Fields of Athenry. It's high ceiling, gas fireplace, giant bubble tub, comfy furnishings and outdoor space make it the perfect choice for us. This stay we were delighted to see the thoughtful additions to the room including a private ice maker, wine cooler and microwave, as well as, all the usual luxuries and amenities. With all these conveniences it was difficult to drag ourselves out of the room and explore the area, but Storm King Art Center is too gorgeous to miss. This was our first spring stay and winter is next on our list. The Caldwell House and the area are beautiful and peaceful no matter when we've visited. Dena and John seem to truly enjoy what they've built and continue to provide a lovely getaway, meeting place or quick stop over for guests new and "old". With the combination of exploring the area and relaxing in this romantic, peaceful setting, you'll feel like you had a refreshing vacation, no matter how long your stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEC1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

There is nothing more gratifying in our business than to have happy repeat guests! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and we are so happy you continue to enjoy your stays so much.
Looking forward to your next visit with us!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Our room was lovely, the grounds are gorgeous and breakfast was so yummy. The location is really close to Storm King Arts Center (which was also wonderful). The staff was so sweet and helpful. We could tell by the size and amenities of the property that it is capable of hosting a beautiful wedding if that's what you're looking for. There's a cute gazebo and a grand dining hall where I presume a reception could be held. I would definitely recommend a stay at Caldwell House!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspersions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it!
Please come see us again soon,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay! On the day we arrived, the weather outside was crappy and rainy, so we opted to enjoy some quiet time in front of the fireplace in the main sitting room.
It was so cozy.

Deena & John are wonderful hosts. Deena came in to chat with us while we were in the sitting room. We had a great time talking with her; she has a fantastic sense of humor! John gave us several good options for dinner down on the waterfront. We had a very engaging conversation with him and the other guests the next morning during breakfast.

We stayed in the Antrim room. The bed was very comfortable, and it was great to relax in bed with the fireplace roaring.

There were many nice touches in this B&B that helped to make our stay more comfortable. We loved the beverages and snacks that were available throughout the day. We also loved that they provided a little shaving kit and water bottles (to get water from the bubbler) in the room. It also helped that John and Deena were available and responsive.

If you’re there during the warmer months, take advantage of the outdoor space! Have some tea and a snack out in the gazebo/patio area.

Deena makes great eggs! ;)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Foustivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. Sorry the weather didn't cooperate but we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back now that the weather has finally turned and things here in the Hudson Valley are beautiful.
Hope to see you here again soon,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Caldwell House was a charming and sublimely comfortable inn that I would highly recommend. Rooms were immaculate and the bed was so comfortable and cozy. Fireplace in each room was also wonderful and warm.

Room Tip: Freedom Road room has plenty of room and a wonderfully plush bathroom
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denisekaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Denise,
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay with us. Our staff will be very pleased with your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms and property - they really pride themselves on doing a great job!
We hope to see you here again real soon,

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We really enjoyed staying at the Caldwell House B&B for a quick weekend getaway from NYC. The breakfast in the morning was great and we really enjoyed the french toast. We hope to be back again sometime soon!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, Owner at Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the kind remarks.
Please come visit us again soon!

John and Dena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews