We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
160
85
36
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
85
36
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator dining room third floor breakfast was included skaneateles lake in town unique rooms great view of the lake finger lakes old world scones my husband and i the main street granola new england wedding reception king bed
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

I read about the Inn in a book I got from the Library on the Finger Lakes, and was intrigued by the description of a 200-year old charming inn on Skaneateles lake. We booked what at the time was the least expensive room ($185 a night in August). Upon arrival we were welcomed by uber friendly and well informed staff at reception, who answered all our questions about the local area and provided maps and brochures. We headed up to the second floor, to our room, which, in line with the "low cost" did not have a lake view, and was quite small. We loved the Inn overall, oozing as it was with old world charm, and spent three days there, dining there twice. First night we had the "steak sandwich" which turned out to be a full NY strip steak on a big slice of toasted panini bread, and was cooked to perfection and was delicious. We tried an array of the appetizers, all terrific, and especially enjoyed the excellent French Onion Soup. Breakfast was a nice buffet of assorted items. We would have liked some variety; the same dishes were served each morning. The service, the location right on the lake, the charming and comfortable bar and restaurant area, historic ambience, generous parking lot, and superb service make this Inn an excellent choice from which to explore the Finger Lakes area. We plan to go back, and will book one of the rooms on the lake-front side.
We took a look at 3-4 other rooms, all of which were much bigger than the one we booked. If you don't care about space or view, and/or are on a budget but want the old-world charm, book No. 26. The bed and shower were great, but the window-mounted AC was noisy and went on and off all night; the bathroom is super small and needs to be renovated (as most of the others have been); and when I used my own hairdryer, I blew the fuse (which the staff very quickly reset).
I look forward to trying the rooms on the other side of the hallway, all of which are furnished, like the hallway and sitting area, with tasteful antiques. Kudos to the young, enthusiastic staff. We look forward to a return visit!

Room tip: Ask for a room on the Lake side, to get a good view and more space.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KMFinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

During our trip thru the Finger Lakes, we just had to get back to the Sherwood. We spent 3 nights in Room 23, that had perfect views of Lake Skaneateles from 3 windows. The Sherwood has become our favorite Inn, and we seem to find any excuse to come back to Skaneateles. The continental breakfast was perfect and enough food that we often found ourselves skipping lunch. The tavern was great as usual and the hotel quite busy during the Curbstone Festival weekend..

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We only get here every couple of years but I still love coming here. We had a vey nice lunch and the staff are always great. The food was good and the setting was nice as usual. Just a very comfortable place. And Skaneateles is the closest in CNY I can get to feel like my home in Seattle. I could live there!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank bpacker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Travelled to Skaneateles to attend a wedding and booked a room at the Sherwood as this was the reception location. Overall we were very pleased with our experience and would stay again if our travels took us back to the Finger Lakes region.

The Inn was constructed in 1807 so there’s plenty of charm built in. Happily, the current ownership and management work hard to give guests a modern experience. We stayed in Room 35, a small corner room on the 3rd floor, bright, airy and comfortable with gorgeous lake views. The queen-sized bed was comfortable, with extra pillows and blankets supplied. The modern bathroom has a large walk-in shower with a sitting bench, massaging shower head and separate hand-held nozzle. A small armoire is provided as there is no closet, but it was more than enough space to hang up our things. An iron and table-top ironing board were provided as well. The one downside to the room was that the AC unit was noisy and cycled on and off frequently, so the room alternated between cool and warm. In retrospect we would have been better off shutting the unit off and opening the windows. Other reviews on this site were critical of the size of the room and bath, but we did not find that to be a problem. Having stayed at hotels around the world we’ve seen some very small accommodations., This room was more than adequate for us.

Continental breakfast was complementary and quite substantial. In addition to a generous selection of fruit pastries and breads, guests can opt for yogurt and granola, cold cereal or a hot entree. Coffee, tea and juice were available of course. The French Toast was outstanding!

The Inn has no elevator, which may pose a problem for guests with limited mobility but we found that the walk up and down the wooden staircases fit perfectly with the charm of the old building.

Bottom line: if your travels take you to the Finger Lakes region, you won’t go wrong by choosing the Sherwood Inn for your accommodations.

Room tip: Rooms on the front side of the Inn are a bit noisier but they have the best views of the lake. We accepted the noise in favor of the views!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJB-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

My girlfriends and I happened upon this cute place!! Enjoyed a delicious quiche for lunch. We were seated in the closed-in porch, overlooking the lake. What a great view! Great service! Highly recommend !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MamademAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews