We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible glorified motel worthy of $199/night charging $1100+”
Review of Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capri
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This is a terrible glorified motel with small room, uncomfortable beds, bright lights and loud noise coming inside from the bad excuse for a "club" until 3am. None of this information was disclosed before or upon booking the motel. They are gauging money. The check in area smells like mildew. They didn't even give separate bars of soap for the shower and the sink...only 1 bar of soap. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SLDDGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. Sorry, that is an overstatement. I was booked at the hotel ZE and they had some issue with the rooms. I was forced to sleep in this hellish place. Music was on until 3am, and I couldn’t sleep. Stay away from this place. There was a smoky smell in our room, and the bathroom was somewhat gross, and there wasn’t even shampoo and conditioner in our “room”, more like 4 thin walls connected to each other. If you want to go to a hotel then go to a hotel. If you want to go to hell, then come here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Viren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The Hotel GM said that it could be a bit noisy at night. The crazy house party music, the cigar and cigarette smoking, the gross people at the pool, the noise was all day and into the eve, when we finally left without sleeping there. Would rather throw $1000 in the toilet than actually sleep there. DO NOT PAY IN ADVANCE OF CHECK IN, YOU WILL NOT WANT TO STAY

Room Tip: Run away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This place deserves zero stars. Note-the restaurant, which is half of this 'hotel''s property, is great. If they are open, then you have access to food and drinks, and you can enjoy the property. It is run as a separate business, and if it's not open, then the 'hotel' literally has no employees outside of a girl that checks you in and a maid to clean the rooms. Sadly, it only opens for dinner starting at 5:30pm. So you are staying in a $600 per night room, with zero chance of getting a towel or a drink or a snack to be able to lounge at the pool. But you will get loud aggro meathead EDM music until 3am.

I came on a Sunday night, surprised that I was able to book last minute on 4th of July weekend. During our afternoon check-in, we were foreshadowed of the night to come with pounding meathead music and when we politely asked about it, the check in girl-who clearly has a battle face act for likely dealing with this complaint often-told us flippantly that this is the music that will play all night long. We are three young girls who love to have a great time, and one of us is a F-ing DJ. Partying and music is AOK with us. But we booked this $600 per night room in Southampton to getaway from a cray night of partying we had in Montauk, hoping for peace, lured by the gorgeous photos of the property that promised serenity and some class. The website is sparse with zero information outside of a photo gallery and option to book, but there was a disclaimer at the bottom that LOUD music plays until 3am. I noticed this after trying to find information on this place after we arrived, but it was SUNDAY...this shouldn't have been happening!!!

It made no sense, as just a small handful of jersey bros were populating the space, and there were several 'hotel' guests peering out their window late at night, wondering WTF was going on, just as I was. Loud, aggro, meathead, EDM music in the central bar by the pool, which every single room on the property faces.

The next morning, all these terrified normal humans came out of their room bleary eyed with major PTSD from what we had gone through all night. Zero employees outside of a teenaged looking hostess that had no clue and a bewildered maid to ask about the promised breakfast, and why the heck there is no one to talk to about anything at this 'hotel'.

This place is not a hotel. It is a night club/restaurant you can sleep at. They must describe it this way on their website, because it's simply not fair to charge ultra luxury prices for a hotel room, when it's not one.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Hairyjuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Check-in was fine, but when we walked into our room, it reeked of mildew and chlorine. Barely any towels, no tissues, and no 'do not disturb' sign. The music was BLARING from check-in to the moment we finally were able to get some sleep around 2 AM. Mind you it was a Saturday and they do have a "lounge." We thought Sunday would be better, but even though their restaurant/lounge are scheduled to close at 10 PM, the music continued to bump past midnight, keeping us up yet again. We spent almost $600/night on our room and got very little sleep. Not worth it!! Also the complimentary breakfast that they provided was less than mediocre, which was to be expected being free. We were disgusted by VERY dirty silverware. The pool has no lounge chairs, only beds, so forget about sitting up at all while laying out. Towels for pool were oddly at front desk instead of by pool. Blaring music by pool began at 10AM. So much for a relaxing getaway. Never coming back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank cmb4103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
13.5 km away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
255 reviews
5.4 km away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
1.7 km away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
119 reviews
2.1 km away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
95 reviews
35.8 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri

Address: 281 County Road 39a, Route 27, Southampton, NY 11968-5213
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: RM3,727 - RM5,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capri Southampton is a boutique hotel that exudes classic sophistication in a beach-chic setting. Conveniently located just minutes from the Hampton Jitney and Long Island Rail Road stations, the Capri has a total of 30 guest rooms including 27 standard rooms and 3 club suites. While the standard guest rooms surround the vibrant pool scene at the hotel's Bathing Club, the suites are tucked away in a quiet corner of the property, providing serenity and complete privacy for guests. Every room features a High Definition TV, in-room safe, and complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. Guests at the Capri enjoy the very finest amenities, such as SFERRA luxury linens, an exclusive line of L'OCCITANE bath products, CROC premium blow dryers, and fully stocked minibars. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, guests at the hotel may also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast. *PLEASE NOTE that loud music is played on the property on the weekends and can be heard in the guest rooms until late on Friday and Saturday nights. The Capri Southampton is also not suitable for children on the weekends. On weekdays, however, the hotel is very tranquil and a great place for guests of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Southampton, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing