We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for visiting family in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting family in area”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We visited family in the area for a couple days. Needed a clean room, hot shower, and minor amenities. Get all that here quiet area, hot shower clean towels, comfortable bed, nice free breakfast options. Older building but it did the job. Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chifinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    92
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
98
40
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I never stay in these chain hotels, so I didn't know what to expect. I had to stay here though since friends got married nearby. This room was big and comfy. It even had a nice couch in it. The fridge was convenient too. I liked the free breakfast especially the pancake machine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed here for a week recently and thought the hotel very good value for what we paid (2nd night 1/2 price lay-a-way special). Our room on the 6th floor was large, clean, quiet, the huge bed was ultra-comfortable. Clean towels and bedding every day. Handy fridge and microwave in room. We used the shuttle most days and it was very prompt and convenient.

The only thing we did not like was the breakfast, everything was too sweet for our British tastes, waffles, bagels, cakes, cereals,sliced bread, even the(creamed) butter. We would prefer fresh fruit salad and plain fresh crusty rolls or croissants. But maybe that's just European versus American taste. And at least there was some fresh fruit available( bananas and apples).

Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again next time we visit Stony Brook.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maeveGlos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Hotel was very nice at check in even cute. When got to room was surprised at how large it was . Look new. But once we sat down noticed that the room had tons of crumbs on the floor even loose change . Hairs on the bathroom floors . Trash on the sides on the night stands. The pillows have no pillow protectors on them ! Yuk ... Breakfast yes free but the bacon is so thin it was funny! Eggs eek! Just stay with the bagels .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennylane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Staff was great! We needed an extra night at the last minute and were accommodated, no problem. Nice hotel, friendly, efficient staff, free breakfast, also better than most. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Brook
3.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
7.1 km away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
10.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
5.6 km away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
8.4 km away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Address: 3131 Nesconset Hwy, Stony Brook, NY 11720-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price range (per night): RM624 - RM1,111
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook-Long Island offers 143 newly renovated guest rooms: standard kings, queens, two room suites, spa rooms, and handicap accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook - Long Island hotel is a designated non-smoking property. All rooms feature: flat screen plasma cable TVs w/HBO, CNN, ESPN, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet access, iPod docking stations and pay-per-view movies. Additional in-room amenities are: microwave/refrigerator unit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, & a coffee maker in every room. Our hotel meeting rooms can accommodate 100 people theater style, up to 80 banquet style and we offer use of our audio/visual equipment. All guests enjoy complimentary hot Continental buffet breakfast, 20X40 indoor heated pool and use of our fully equipped fitness center. Roll away beds are available at no additional charge. Children stay free and the hotel has a playground, and there are plenty of local attractions geared toward children. Our amenities include a putting green, horseshoe courts, and athletic fields with basketball, tennis, softball and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook Hotel Stony Brook
Holiday Inn Stony Brook
Stony Brook Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing