We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is a master chef trained at Culinary Institute of America , with 15 years' experience of running restaurants”
Review of Mountain Brook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Brook
Ranked #2 of 5 Tannersville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The resort is beautiful and quiet.Location is perfect, not too far from the main town(5mins.walk).The personal touch of the owner-couple makes the stay an absolute delight.Unlimited tea/coffee/coke in the main lounge ,gas-fired fireplace in the suites , outstanding breakfast, our stay was an absolute pleasure.Highly recommend it for a taste of Catskill mountains.Kaaterskill waterfalls are a short drive away.Kids loved it.Wifi was very good in the lounge, not so much in the rooms in East lounge, but that's OK.
The breakfast is really the highlight, with a freshly baked pie for every table.Everything was absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: East lodge has excellent views and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirupama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Visited for Mother's Day weekend for some local hiking with my daughter. The owners Terrence and Amy were incredibly kind and have cultivated a lovely Inn complete with indoor and outdoor seating areas accompanied by fireplaces. The wrap-around porch style main building housed some bedrooms with private baths as well as an indoor niche with seating, games, books and dvds for use in room. The main gathering area where a gourmet made to order breakfast is served each morning consists of table seating as well as a comfy couch in front of a beautiful fireplace. Terrence has a culinary backround which is evident in the taste and presentation of every meal. Breakfast starts with a different hot from the oven skillet style coffe crumb cake and is followed by one of at least six item choices. Over our two day stay, we enjoyed the breakfast skillet, the bread pudding french toast with a homemade sausage patty as well as the smoked salmon goat cheese frittata and eggs with thick bacon. The Inn has a small wine and beer bar which we did not take advantage of but will the next time. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: There is a main house, a seperate building and a couple cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnBrk5, Owner at Mountain Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Wow! Thank you for the kind words. We are grateful to have been part of your Mother's Day plans. We look forward to hosting you and your daughter in the future!
Many Thanks,
Terrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We spent 2 most pleasant nights at Mountain Brook and didn't want to leave. Our room (photos included) was on the 3rd (top) floor of their main building. We thought our room was very well-divided into 3 chambers: one with the queen bed, another with a sofa bed (not used), closet and small fridge, and next the bathroom. The bathroom was bright and spacious. The room was clean and it was equipped with a TV, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, etc. The TV offered Netflix and others, but I am not really familiar with TV providers, so cannot further comment. Who would want to watch TV in such a place anyway? Wi-fi was included and we got very good reception. Finally, everything was tastefully decorated to minor details. The fixtures were of very good quality and the room felt spacious and cozy. There were windows in every space with plenty of natural light coming in. The curtains blocked out the light in the morning and we slept soundly. Despite being quite full, we did not hear any noise coming from the corridors. The rest of the hotel was as cozy as our room. The reception area was very spacious with an adjacent game/resting room that had tea and coffee available for the whole day. The hotel was clean, very child-friendly with all games available and simple, safe spaces for small kids. The dining area was equally cozy and well-decorated. There, one will find a small bar, the dining room with tables quite comfortably apart and another resting area with a fireplace and comfortable couch and chairs. Outside there was a large porch with tables and chairs to be used on warm days and there were glass doors all around inviting one to go out of doors. Breakfast was amazing. All was freshly cooked as per request from a menu of choices that I think would cater to most people. Our waiter was very courteous and every morning he would bring us a coffee cake, freshly baked. At first, I thought it would be one of those fat-loaded, heavy crumble cakes, but when tasting it, I was pleasantly surprised with its lightness and flavor. What a nice addition! Breakfast also had the basics laid on a table: milk, coffee, tea, juices, cereal, oatmeal, granola, yogurt (but not just any yogurt: Chobani!), fruit, etc. We tried the omelet and it was amazing. The bread pudim french toast was a bit on the heavy side to me, but it was nice regardless. Terrence, the owner, was very helpful in giving ideas on where to go for hikes. We'll definitely return for longer stay and hikes. If I may suggest any improvements, fresh breads and juices would be a welcome addition to breakfast, but of course, it is understandable that choices need to be made depending on logistics and infrastructure. As for cost, I find this hotel to be fairly priced for what it offers. Unfortunately, Tannersville is poor in offering good quality dining choices for lunch and breakfast. If Mountain Brook offered lunch and dinner choices of the same quality as its breakfast, we'd for certain have chosen to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2NO-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We came here for a ski winter getaway and it was fantastic. The room we stayed in was cozy, smelled delightful and the gas fire place was very nice! While the lodge itself wasn't very large, it is right close to town and walking distance to several of the popular eating spots in Tannersville. But if anything, come just for the breakfast that is included with your stay. Every morning you are served a coffee cake baked in a cast iron skillet and the breakfast options itself are fantastic ranging from your basic scrambled eggs and bacon or omelettes to fancier "breakfast skillet", which was the hash brown, pork belly, fried egg and avocado tomato salsa. Delish! We have returned several weekends during the season, and I don't think I got one repeat type of coffee crumb cake! Plus the owners, Terrance and Amy are super friendly and have good recommendations of things to do for the area. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: East lodge is separated from main lodge with dining area so its a tad quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHotRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnBrk5, Owner at Mountain Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words! It was great to meet and host you both. Working on some new coffee cake recipes you will have to come and try.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,
Amy & Terrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights while skiing at Hunter Mountain. The Inn is warm and inviting with beautiful woodwork throughout. There was a wood fire burning in the Great Room from morning till night. Our room (# 5) was beautifully decorated and quite spacious with a walk-in closet, a gas fireplace and a large bathroom. The breakfasts were amazing. Our host could not have been more gracious. We loved this Inn and we will return in the fall to hike.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tannersville
13.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
307 reviews
14.3 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
517 reviews
11.1 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
139 reviews
17.9 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 2 in Tannersville
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook

Address: 57 Route 23C, Tannersville, NY 12485-5106
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Tannersville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tannersville
Price Range: RM 604 - RM 847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Brook 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areas only first class Adirondack style Lodge, featuring comfortable upscale accommodations with spectacular views of the Catskill Mountains. Relax in one of our spacious private cabins or in one of the distinctive suites or rooms inside the Lodge or East Lodge. All are luxuriously appointed and tastefully decorated and include modern amenities. Mountain Brook is an old world escape from the frantic pace of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Mountain Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing