We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Vosilla(Tannersville)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$149
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Washington Irving Inn(Tannersville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Hunter Inn(Hunter)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winter Clove Inn(Round Top)
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
177
24
5
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
24
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgegas fireplacecoffee cakekaaterskill fallsadirondack stylefrench toasteach morningwine barget awaybreakfast was delicioustub with jetspork bellycast iron skilletsuperior roomthe bread puddingprofessional chefhiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Visited for Mother's Day weekend for some local hiking with my daughter. The owners Terrence and Amy were incredibly kind and have cultivated a lovely Inn complete with indoor and outdoor seating areas accompanied by fireplaces. The wrap-around porch style main building housed some bedrooms with private baths as well as an indoor niche with seating, games, books and dvds for use in room. The main gathering area where a gourmet made to order breakfast is served each morning consists of table seating as well as a comfy couch in front of a beautiful fireplace. Terrence has a culinary backround which is evident in the taste and presentation of every meal. Breakfast starts with a different hot from the oven skillet style coffe crumb cake and is followed by one of at least six item choices. Over our two day stay, we enjoyed the breakfast skillet, the bread pudding french toast with a homemade sausage patty as well as the smoked salmon goat cheese frittata and eggs with thick bacon. The Inn has a small wine and beer bar which we did not take advantage of but will the next time. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: There is a main house, a seperate building and a couple cabins.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnBrk5, Owner at Mountain Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Wow! Thank you for the kind words. We are grateful to have been part of your Mother's Day plans. We look forward to hosting you and your daughter in the future!
Many Thanks,
Terrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We spent 2 most pleasant nights at Mountain Brook and didn't want to leave. Our room (photos included) was on the 3rd (top) floor of their main building. We thought our room was very well-divided into 3 chambers: one with the queen bed, another with a sofa bed (not used), closet and small fridge, and next the bathroom. The bathroom was bright and spacious. The room was clean and it was equipped with a TV, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, shampoo, conditioner, etc. The TV offered Netflix and others, but I am not really familiar with TV providers, so cannot further comment. Who would want to watch TV in such a place anyway? Wi-fi was included and we got very good reception. Finally, everything was tastefully decorated to minor details. The fixtures were of very good quality and the room felt spacious and cozy. There were windows in every space with plenty of natural light coming in. The curtains blocked out the light in the morning and we slept soundly. Despite being quite full, we did not hear any noise coming from the corridors. The rest of the hotel was as cozy as our room. The reception area was very spacious with an adjacent game/resting room that had tea and coffee available for the whole day. The hotel was clean, very child-friendly with all games available and simple, safe spaces for small kids. The dining area was equally cozy and well-decorated. There, one will find a small bar, the dining room with tables quite comfortably apart and another resting area with a fireplace and comfortable couch and chairs. Outside there was a large porch with tables and chairs to be used on warm days and there were glass doors all around inviting one to go out of doors. Breakfast was amazing. All was freshly cooked as per request from a menu of choices that I think would cater to most people. Our waiter was very courteous and every morning he would bring us a coffee cake, freshly baked. At first, I thought it would be one of those fat-loaded, heavy crumble cakes, but when tasting it, I was pleasantly surprised with its lightness and flavor. What a nice addition! Breakfast also had the basics laid on a table: milk, coffee, tea, juices, cereal, oatmeal, granola, yogurt (but not just any yogurt: Chobani!), fruit, etc. We tried the omelet and it was amazing. The bread pudim french toast was a bit on the heavy side to me, but it was nice regardless. Terrence, the owner, was very helpful in giving ideas on where to go for hikes. We'll definitely return for longer stay and hikes. If I may suggest any improvements, fresh breads and juices would be a welcome addition to breakfast, but of course, it is understandable that choices need to be made depending on logistics and infrastructure. As for cost, I find this hotel to be fairly priced for what it offers. Unfortunately, Tannersville is poor in offering good quality dining choices for lunch and breakfast. If Mountain Brook offered lunch and dinner choices of the same quality as its breakfast, we'd for certain have chosen to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2NO-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We came here for a ski winter getaway and it was fantastic. The room we stayed in was cozy, smelled delightful and the gas fire place was very nice! While the lodge itself wasn't very large, it is right close to town and walking distance to several of the popular eating spots in Tannersville. But if anything, come just for the breakfast that is included with your stay. Every morning you are served a coffee cake baked in a cast iron skillet and the breakfast options itself are fantastic ranging from your basic scrambled eggs and bacon or omelettes to fancier "breakfast skillet", which was the hash brown, pork belly, fried egg and avocado tomato salsa. Delish! We have returned several weekends during the season, and I don't think I got one repeat type of coffee crumb cake! Plus the owners, Terrance and Amy are super friendly and have good recommendations of things to do for the area. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: East lodge is separated from main lodge with dining area so its a tad quieter
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHotRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnBrk5, Owner at Mountain Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words! It was great to meet and host you both. Working on some new coffee cake recipes you will have to come and try.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,
Amy & Terrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights while skiing at Hunter Mountain. The Inn is warm and inviting with beautiful woodwork throughout. There was a wood fire burning in the Great Room from morning till night. Our room (# 5) was beautifully decorated and quite spacious with a walk-in closet, a gas fireplace and a large bathroom. The breakfasts were amazing. Our host could not have been more gracious. We loved this Inn and we will return in the fall to hike.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The Private Cabins are very close to the lodge and 2 cabins are within a foot of each other. The view is okay, but the school is right in front of both cabins. At night the lodge leaves the lights on all night and they are blinding through the shades on the windows, it was a struggle to sleep. The 2 person whirlpool tub took too long to fill so we didn't even have the advantage of using it (the water wasn't hot enough for it to be enjoyable). There is a Keurig in the cabin that didn't work in the morning. The toilet kept sticking which we fixed ourselves throughout our stay. The light in the center of the bedroom did not work either. The cabin was clean, but for $380.00 a night I believe there are better places to stay in the Catskills.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dsttn426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtnBrk5, Owner at Mountain Brook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was less than expected. As we tell all of our guests, if you have any issues during your stay please contact us as we will be able to fix the issue immediately. Had you alerted us while here we would have shown you how to close the black out curtains in the room to block the street lamps which we have to keep on for guest safety, how to use the jacuzzi bathtub, use the lights in the room and also how to work the Keurig machine - all of these were in working order. After inspection we found the toilet did need a new part, which Terrence easily could have fixed for you so you would not have had to deal with that! Guests sometimes think it is bothersome to reach out, but we would much rather have you be happy than leave feeling let down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews