We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
US$219
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super 8 by Wyndham Ithaca(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
US$152
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Ithaca(Ithaca)(Great Value!)
US$170
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
175
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonfinger lakesfrittatapecan french toastmy husband and iguest kitchenat homecayuga lakeoffering suggestionslocal winebed and breakfastmade us feelwonderful experiencechocolate candyhistoric farmhouselocated convenientlyhearty breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Wonderful, comfortable stay again at the The Black Walnut. Jack was a great host. He had wine and snacks set out upon our arrival. A night cap was left for us in our room. Nice touches. Breakfast was fantastic - French toast which was a small loaf of bread (homemade I am sure) partially sliced through and topped with pecans. The toast was so sweet so did not have to put the real maple syrup on it. Also a fresh dish of fruit was provided along with the usual coffee and juice. Very filling and delicious breakfast.
Upon checking out, Jack gave us a gift bag filled with snacks for our travels. Highly recommend this BnB.

Room Tip: Suite available as well as other rooms.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank richdick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

It was my pleasure hosting you two again, and hope to see you again for a third stay when your travels bring you back to the Finger Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

We enjoyed our one night stay last year so much that we returned for an entire weekend. After our first visit, we recommended this B&B to friends that enjoyed their stay, so as soon as we knew our Finger Lake's vineyard plans, we made reservations. Innkeeper Jack Moore greeted us as old friends. We stayed in the same room as last year (Owasco Room) and were very comfortable. The B&B itself is welcoming with a sun room, guest kitchen, dining room and siting room. 4 different guest rooms are upstairs. Breakfast the first day was a wonderful frittata with 3 types of cheese and fresh cherry tomatoes. The next day we had Jack's famous baked Southern French Toast. It was heavenly! Juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit and other surprises are served with the meal. Jack is an expert on the area and can give your wonderful suggestions for sightseeing, wine tasting and dining. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAS_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience this past weekend at the Black Walnut - much appreciated! I greatly enjoy and am humbled by having repeat guests; thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Great location close to all the different state parks. Quiet and quaint.Jack the innkeeper was great and helpful. Healthy breakfast included. Short drive to all the various vineyards and Amish stores.Comp wine upon arrival and in the evenings. I love having a resident cat there as well. Feel right at home.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ray61123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you very much! I hope you guys can come back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

My boyfriend, Tomas, and I stayed here two nights on a Halloween weekend trip to the Finger Lakes area. We were in the Blue moon suite. I have never been to a bed and breakfast before but this one was awesome! The house is 200 some years old, which is noticeable in the flooring (uneven in some places), but rather than the age being a deterrent to the comfort of the stay, it really adds a nice homey feel and a ton of character to the bed and breakfast.

Jack, the owner inn-keep, went above and beyond. He was kind, funny. friendly, knowledgeable, and had plenty of good suggestions. I had to have part of my Halloween costume shipped to the B & B and Jack was completely fine with that. The day Tomas and I were checking in we were running really late, so we called Jack to let him know. Jack was so kind about it; he made arrangements to make sure we could get in and also left cookies and wine out for us! Not to mention that his breakfasts were super delicious and really filling.

I loved our room, and felt very comfortable there. It was very clean and spacious. The inn itself was really close to a bunch of wineries, Ithaca, Watkin's Glen, Taughannock Falls, and Cornell. I really hope that if Tomas and I go back next year that we stay in the same B & B.

Room Tip: The Blue Moon suite is the biggest room
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This was our first time to the Finger Lakes area. This historic farmhouse was inviting and nicely decorated. Jack the Innkeeper made our stay very comfortable and relaxing he really made you feel at home. He goes that little extra mile by offering amazingly delicious hot breakfasts and other delicious refreshments throughout the afternoon/evening. He was very knowledgable about the area and places to visit, eat, etc. This Bed and Breakfast is located on the Finger Lakes Wine & Beer trail it is close to Watkins Glenn, Trumansburg and Ithaca. We will definitely stay here again when in the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MGK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews