We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Located in Verona, New York, just east of Syracuse, this large casino offers several accommodation venues from which to choose. We stayed in the "Hotel" and check-in was quick (we checked-in at about 4pm) The room had two double beds that included a safe, large screen TV, coffee maker, and fast Wi-Fi access. No refrigerator. The room and bathroom were very clean. The grounds of this casino are well-groomed and beautiful and well worth a walk. The nearby "Lodge" is extremely beautify with well-manicured grounds and worth a look. Our room in the Hotel overlooked the roof so the view was not-so-much, but very quiet. The casino offers all types of games and a large variety of slot machines. Smoking is allowed throughout the casino and at times was noticeable (being a non-smoker). A large selection of restaurants are available within the casino. A convenient, small food court (Corner Market) offered pizza, burgers, sandwiches, ice cream, etc. We ate dinner at the Season's Harvest Buffet ($17.95) that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It is a station-styled buffet with a large selection of food options. The food was very tasty and constantly made fresh. The wait staff was very friendly, and were attentive to drinks and clearing off tables. We had breakfast the next morning at the Emerald Restaurant (open 24-hours) which was convenient because we were leaving early. The food was very good, quickly prepared, and reasonably priced for the portions. Also located on the grounds is a large 800-seat showroom that hosts numerous headliner acts, but nothing was scheduled during our stay. I was impressed with the staff throughout the casino, asking about how they may serve us. This is a large casino, and exquisitely decorated. A pool and Jacuzzi are located conveniently near the elevators. Casino great, food great, grounds great, staff great, second-had-smoke not-so-great.


Emerald Restaurant Season's Harvest Buffet

Room Tip: Make sure room is a "smoking" or "non-smoking" depending on preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda44149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2015

Very much enjoyed our stay in the hotel. There were a couple downsides. Ironically we're not big gamblers, we just happened to have a free night stay. There's not much to do there if you don't gamble. The gym is $15 per visit, which includes the lap pool and jacuzzi. The accommodations are awesome though. We didn't much like the smoke smell throughout the place either. I suppose if you like to gamble and like the nightlife, it's a perfect place to stay!

Stayed: February 2015
Thank KylersKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

I recently attended a business conference at Turning Stone and felt their hospitality could have been much better. I arrived around 11:30 AM and when I went to check in, I was told to return at 1:00 PM. I happened by the lobby at 12:40 only to discover that they were now checking people into their rooms so I got into a very long line and waited to check in. When I finally got to the front of the line I was informed that my room was clean, but not yet inspected and I would have to come back a third time to get my key! In the meantime, I couldn't help but notice that many of my conference attendee colleagues were being given room keys. This was quite aggravating and when I questioned the hotel clerk I was reminded that technically we weren't supposed to be able to check in until 3 PM and they were doing us a "favor" by letting us check in at 1PM. I simply do not understand why in the world hotel management can not predict these peak times and put more staff on duty to check people in and/or clean/inspect the rooms. I then returned 2 hours later to get my room key. Imagine how special I felt when I finally got to my room and looked out the window upon the glorious view (see photo)!

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank LJR1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

The hotel was good except for the fact people are allowed to smoke almost all over the property. We knew this prior to staying but due to the fact the show we were seeing was at the event center on property we stayed even with all the smoke. It was really bad... Clothes and eyes paid the price! Poor due to the smoke.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RnRfamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Great place to see a show, gamble as long as you like and eat delectable dishes. Plenty of restaurants to please your pocketbook and palate. Action aplenty in the casino and entertainment to satisfy everyone's taste. The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean with free wifi and in-room coffee pots. Flat screen tvs and inviting bedding. Be prepared to walk a lot as the hotel and casino floors are quite large. Also, they do not allow alcohol in coolers in your hotel room. And, I did not find the reception desk personnel to be very welcoming. There is also free parking in the adjoining ramp.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the elevator or be prepared to walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
1.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
7.4 km away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vernon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
21.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
17.8 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort

Address: 5218 Patrick Rd, Vernon, NY 13478-3012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: RM 557 - RM 1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at Turning Stone – AAA 3 Diamond award-winning low-rise hotel, located in the heart of casino excitement, provides full service at mid-level prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing