We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st overnight stay - Wonderful!”
Review of Vernon Downs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vernon Downs Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We received a deal for a room for $44 for 1 night. When we checked in, Simon, at the desk heard this and gave us a top floor room facing the track (nice touch!). The room was very clean and fresh (I always notice when a room smells clean!) The room was nicely stocked and detailed, we appreciate that. My wife checked out the pool and whirlpool after a few hours at the connecting casino and loved it! Both heated and very clean. The eaterys are very nice, we had lunch at the 777 cafe and dinner at the buffet. Knowing that the owner of Vernon also owns Tioga Downs in Nichols, NY (near our home), my only thought was the desert selection at Vernon was limited, when compared to Tioga. Otherwise, there is a great selection for every pallet. Amanda checked us out the next morning and was very friendly and helpful. We want to return on a weekend when the horses race!

Room Tip: Ask for a racetrack view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2016

The casino was fun and food was adequate but the hotel rooms had very dated decor and old beat up furniture and the rooms were dirty. Dust and toenails...yes folks had the toenails of previous guests in our room. The bed was old and uncomfortable and the pillows were about the size of a piece of paper. I'm surprised there wasn't a slot for the mattress to vibrate...Gross! I gave it a 2 rating because of the casino

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tibby723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

"And they are making their way around the bend, number 6 is in the lead...but..wait folks....number 5 takes the lead....and, wow what a finish!"

That is the rating out of 10 I would give my first experience here at Vernon Downs. As you can tell, I did enjoy the horse racing and to be fair, the service from all staff members was always friendly and with a genuine smile. I think that is the saving grace of this hotel. My immediate disappointment would have to be in the food which was either super oily, or a hard flap jack. I am giving this place a 3 out of 5 because I want to believe they are capable of stepping it up and, like I said, finding genuinely happy and warm service from staff in any establishment can be a task in it self. I'm hoping my next stay will give me a reason to raise my overall rating. until then....I'm keeping my bets low.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The 2 times my husband and I stayed at this hotel we found it adequate. Upon our 3rd stay we decided to upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite with Jacuzzi, as it was our anniversary. We were very excited to watch the horses from our room. The first 2 times we stayed they weren't running, but the track view was nice anyway. We checked in this time only to find our room in distress. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month or so. Also, the track view room I booked was a view of the parking lot. When I called the front desk I was told the room I wanted was booked......Ummm how? I reserved it! We moved on with our night anyway. Around 10pm, I decided to enjoy the Jacuzzi (which I had to clean before entering) about 10 minutes after getting in, there was a knock on the door. My husband answered it. It was a man (credentials on) that proceeded to try and get by my husband and go into our bathroom to retrieve a towel. Which my husband stopped him and asked what he was doing in our room! He said the tub was leaking. He then tried to get passed my husband AGAIN to look at the tub. I WAS IN IT!! My husband told him to get out. Scared the heck out of us. I was disgusted at this point. We left. Happy Anniversary to us right?

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very disappointing. Hotel was old and somewhat shabby with lumpy beds and antiquated fixtures. Tub was so small, my husband could barely fit in it to take a shower. The bathroom sink was so small, it looked like it should have been in a camper rather than a hotel room. Buffet breakfast was lousy and it wasn't free either. Overall, with the reputation of the racetrack, the hotel was a real let-down. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Go to the track for the horse racing, but be sure to stay someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosetta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
7.4 km away
The Hotel at Turning Stone Resort
7.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
8.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
16.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
30.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cazenovia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Downs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Downs Hotel

Address: 4229 Stuhlman Rd, Vernon, NY 13476-4516
Region: United States > New York > Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range: RM364 - RM653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vernon Downs Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vernon Downs Casino & Hotel is 100% smoke-free with spacious guestrooms and suite accommodations. We provide convenient inside access to the adjoining 767-game casino, complete with live entertainment and delicious fare, and only a short walk away to enjoy exciting racing action. Our staff is courteous and helpful, and we take pride in being named the 2009 “Employer of the Year” by the Madison County ARC for our commitment to equal opportunity employment. Vernon Downs Hotel is AAA Approved. Invigorate and delight in the fun of our indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and arcade and game area. Choose from local favorites with tasty appetizers, specialty salads and sandwiches, seafood and pasta, plus great spirits and full card simulcast racing daily. Kids under 5 eat free. Hold your next meeting or special event with us! We offer flexible space and business-friendly amenities such as spacious suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Vernon Downs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vernon Downs
Downs Hotel Vernon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing