We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night life”

Gourmet Grill Mauritius
Ranked #7 of 178 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is a nice & festive restaurant with lots of character located in the famous Banana Beach Club. The Gourmet Grill is much more than a grill, we feature local seafood and weekly specials. Our menu includes Seafood Risotto, Camarons (Giant fresh water shrimps), Sushi, Lobster, fresh Foie Gras, and tasty vegetarian dishes. For lovers of beef our Steaks, Entrocote and Burgers are legendary made with the best Australian beef. For deserts you have to try the Fondant or the Banana Nut Flambe, we do have a great homemade NY Cheese cake and French apple tart as well. The musical decor displays the owners passion for music with a collection of memorabilia. A little warning for the light hearted, being part of the Banana it can be a bit noisy and festive later in the evening with live music and an active bar scene. The Banana a lively night spot so do plan to stay on for a memorable night out. Bon Appetite!
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and environment. Great for drinks and dinner. Lots of expats. Live music and cocktails.

Thank alexandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is just behind the banana bar.... the setting is just lovely. Be warned it gets very busy so I would recommend booking where possible

The food was delicious!! Succulent steaks and not overpriced either.

Francoise was our waiter & he was fantastic and really looked after us.

Thank Zebedee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review it is very much appreciated. Yes we do get very busy so thanks for pointing out that it’s better to reserve a table. Although we were busy it is great to hear that our staff took good care of you, and also we are very pleased to hear that you loved your dinners, our chef and his team do appreciate our client’s comments. We do hope to see you back soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had chicken and hamburger decent size portions of good food, maybe a bit overpriced, only a big pity that the staff is not so friendly as in the many places we have been in the island

Thank ProfessorSassaroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018


Thank you for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your meal. I do apologize if the staff were not friendly, I am shocked to hear that. Perhaps you had a waiter in training, which are always training new staff since people move around a lot here and go overseas to work on ships. Our Head Waiter Jean Francois has been with us over 20 years and is great, Sam and Sapna are also very good and have been with us for a long time. I do thank you for brining this to my attention, I will discuss this with the team. We may be a little bit more money than some restaurants however we do buy the best meats and seafoods which comes at cost. All meats are imported from Australia, not South Africa because the quality is unbeatable. Most seafood is imported as well however the local fish is quite good and affordable. We do hope to see you back soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

A rather simple Style restaurant and not very fancy in its local or dress code. We had 4 different waiters Within a 1,5 hour seating and the service was not really attentive, rather confusing.
Food was alright but we ate a lot better at our Hotel.
Nice to get out an evening though but it was Nothing out of the ordinarie, except the not so fast or attentive service, that was a 2 stars rather than 3 even though they were friendly.

Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

This is a very difficult one to respond to since I am confused by your issues. First of all if you didn’t find the place very nice and appealing and that hurts but hey there is something for everyone. You didn’t get good service or attention but admit you had 4 waiters looking after you in 1.5 hours? Ok. Look we are a fun festive restaurant bar and not the Royal Palm (nor its prices) and we don’t claim to be. We have clients coming to us night after night from 5 star hotels that love the place. Our chefs and waiters that have been there for years, and know their work. We do train waiters all the time since the young trainees come and go however we do have 2 waiters at our restaurant for over 20+ years. We have a good reputation that our clients reward us with, and we thank them for that. We do not advertize or tell everybody we are the best, but I do think when you look at our tropical musical chilled out ambiance its unequaled. There are many restos listed on tripadvisor and some way over the top of their success for whatever reason. With so many choices I don’t fully understand why you didn’t like ours and why make such a point of it when nothing seems specific about your objections, but then you are entitled to your opinion and thanks to TA everybody gets one. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We have lived in Mauritius for 6 years now and every time we want to go out we normally like trying different varieties of food. But as we’re In Mauritius and the grill is available and the food is so good that we don’t need to look for different restaurants the food is always spot on the service as well I would highly recommend this restaurant and it probably the highlight of living in Mauritius.

3  Thank Raffy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so happy you came back several times and enjoyed the food and found the service spot on. We do thank you for your review and hope to see you back at the Grill very soon. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Grill Mauritius also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Gourmet Grill Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing