We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Friday Attitude(Trou d'eau Douce)
US$161
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tropical Attitude(Trou d'eau Douce)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SM Lodge(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Chez Tino(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
ASD Residence(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Paradisia Residence(Trou d'eau Douce)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Colibri Beach Villas(Trou d'eau Douce)
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
La Residence Les Badamiers(Trou d'eau Douce)
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$430
US$395
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
444
300
85
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
300
85
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomsea viewfishstar hotelbeach hutset menugames roomtaxi driverno lifttwo weekswaiter servicehired a carcakethree stara la cartelick of paintvia dubai
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Great location, fantastic beach hotel, some water sports available couldn’t fault it really. Food ok not great, staff friendly but the provided entertainment was pretty awful and at times painful to the ears...sorry!!

But we had a great time loved it and would definitely recommend. A very memorable holiday with my lovely and beautiful wife. Thank you SilverBeach.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

This is our third visit to The Silver Beach Hotel and it has never failed to live up to expectations. I am writing this as an aid to the reader so, as details can be found in my previous two reviews I am going to write this as simple bullet points - the definitive guide to The Silver Beach Hotel.

1. The journey time from the airport to The Silver Beach Hotel is about one hour.
2. Reception area is detached from the hotel and uninviting. Don't feel disappointed. The hotel will soon reveal itself.
3. Bell boy will carry your cases. He deserves a 200 Rupee tip. Its hard work in this climate.
4. In my opinion Garden Rooms are better that Sea View rooms. Garen Rooms are ground floor or first floor. Sea View rooms are ground floor to floor three and there is no lift!
5. Rooms have swipe card entry. Ensure you get two from reception.
6. Rooms are slightly outdated but have all you need. Large comfy double bed. Modern tv which can get BBC News Channel. Hairdryer. Mini Fridge, which is noisy and we switch it off. If you do this, beware of flooding!! A fresh bottle of drinking water is deposited in the fridge each day (see 15. below,.Safe box in wardrobe. Coffee making facilities. Nice small balcony, two chairs and small table. Ensure you get an upstairs room as they are more secure and you can see more in the overhanging trees. Birds coming to beg food, flying fox bats in the fruit tree next to the wooden bridge, geckos and green lizards in the trees.
7. Rooms downside - Very few electric plugs. We always take a four gang extension. Power supply is by British plugs. No need for converters.
8. Rooms downside - bathroom is adequate only. Really needs updating but still just about ok.
9. Housekeeping is excellent. Nice efficient staff and a bottle of champers on the table when you arrive.
10. Food is good with plenty and plenty of choices. Buffet on four nights a week, A La Carte on two nights a week. Table clothes were reinstated while we were there for the evening meal. This raised the level and dining atmosphere. The Hotel has a dress code for evening meals. No flip flops, dresses for ladies, long trousers for men. Maybe I am old fashioned but I enjoyed dressing for dinner. However, I was disappointed to see the hotel ignoring the fact that some people came to dinner in shorts. Ugh!!!
11. Lunchtime meals are good with buffet service.
12. Breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice. Pancakes and eggs cooked to order.
13. The Dining room staff are excellent, as are all staff at the hotel. They really make the place special.
14. Entertainment takes place each evening in the restaurant and begins about half way through the meal. Some of the entertainment is good, others awful. Maybe I have seen the entertainers too often!!
15. The bar is open from 10.30 am until 11.00pm which is fine. Drinks are all local and cut backs appear to have been made in this area. A little disappointing.Bar staff are excellent. Drinking water can be obtained from the machine by the bar. I liked this as it cuts down on unnecessary plastic bottles.
16. There is a nice unsupervised swimming pool with a quiet seating area nearby. At this point I should stress that in my opinion, this hotel has nothing for children except the pool. It is an older persons establishment with lots of return clients.
17. Reception will have give you a towel token. Towels are provided from the Beach Shack near the beach and can be exchanged daily. The Beach Shack arranges the recliners (of which there are plenty), and the sun shades (of which there are not enough). I must stress here that it is imperative to have a sun shade as the sun is deceivingly hot and this heat is masked by the lovely off shore breeze. Unfortunately, when we arrived, for the first time ever, people were allowed to place towels to reserve their sun umbrellas at 06.00 am. In some cases we saw people do this at 06.00 am and then they didn't come to the sun beds until 15.00 pm after going on a trip. DISGUSTING BEHAVIOUR.
At the shack you can also book trips, also at reception and across the road at the taxi rank. A taxi for the day will cost about £70. All of these places are far cheaper than using the holiday rep's tours.
18. Outside reception is a bus stop. Buses are every 30 minutes but with no set times. Trou d'eau Douce is ten minutes by bus and also Flaq Market about twenty minutes. Flaq Market is worth a visit on either Wednesday or Saturday. Taxi is quicker but more expensive.
19. The beach is about a 50m walk from the hotel restaurant. Steep sandy beach with a designated swimming area. Lovely warm sea and not very deep within the lagoon. However, there is sharp coral and I would say swimming shoes are a necessity.
20. Water sports are available from the Beach Shack free of charge. Canoes and pedalos etc.
21. Wi Fi is free and sometimes available by the beach. The Games Room gets the best reception.
22. On the day of departure check out is at 12.00 noon. The All Inclusive package ends at 14.00. Reception will look after your cases if you have an evening flight and give you access to a shower prior to departure but you need to ask.
23. As Mauritian Rupees are classified as a rare currency in Britain, the exchange rate in the UK is poor. Unbelievably, the best place to exchange currency is at the airport on arrival. The hotel will also change money for you.

I do hope this guide is helpful and you have as good a holiday as we had at The Silver Beach.

Room Tip: Room 213 is ideal in the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
28  Thank Edgewood48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We have recently returned from Silver Beach .
I would describe the hotel as being an 'honest' hotel it claims to be 3 star but the quality of all the staff equals any 5 star hotel we have stayed at.
During our stay this year unfortunately we had hospital stays and numerous other medical trips,not only did management assist at all times some staff members actually visited the hospital.All aspects of our stay were beyond satisfactory saying Thankyou seems totally inadequate.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank penelope898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We arrived very late evening to be told by reception that they had expected us earlier, even though our flight was on time !!!!! Check in was prompt and we were soon in our room. We were hoping that we might have been able to get something to eat after all the travelling, but it was not to be, so went to bed looking forward to breakfast. Our room was ok, everything you needed was there and we had a lovely view of the beach and sea. The Hotel food was also just ok, you could always find something to eat. Did have to give up on the omelette's in a morning though as they were never cooked !!!! Evening meals were alternate buffet and al la carte. The evening entertainment started during your evening meal, and once again was ok, but nothing special. The pool and beach area were nice, but you do need to be up early to secure a spot with your towels !! The staff at the hotel however are fabulous and make the hotel what it is. From the other guests we spoke to, it was clear that a lot came back year after year, and this was mainly down to the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TAZZER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening +-22h00. The receptionist on duty was super friendly and had us checked in quickly. One of the unfortunate bits of information was that it was a "rule" that men have to wear long pants/trousers to dinner. Being a relaxed island resort and wanting a relaxed holiday this was a bit unfortunate to hear. Especially since the men in our party had not really brought enough pants for this. Nonetheless...

Once the porter assisted us to the room we received a tray with some cold meats, cheese and salad items. Very nice of them to keep dinner aside for us.

We had garden facings rooms close to the reception area, and they were very large and private. The perfect distance from the restaurant, pool & beach area which made them a bit more private.

The food at this hotel is absolutely delicious, I think I spent all 6 days there eating! I also loved that they themed the dinners every evening with live music and dancing on some nights.

The reason I say in the title of the review "older generation" is that we noticed while we were there that the general crowd was possibly 50/55 years + and we were a group of 7 all between the age of 24 - 35. This seem to be the norm throughout the week we were there. But it was nice as it was quiet and not too rowdy.

We booked an all inclusive package which was all meals, tea time and drinks (cocktails, house wine & local beer). Definitely worth booking all inclusive as when you leave the hotel everything around Mauritius is so pricey.

They have some watersports boats which you can hire and snorkeling equipment.

The snorkeling area in front of the hotel is amazing, pretty much as stunning as the sights on the dives we did. I would definitely recommend doing this.

Get to the beach early and reserve your lounger and umbrella as this gets full very quickly.

Hotel is located +-60 minutes from the airport and nice and close to a small village if you want to explore. It takes 20 minutes by foot to get there.

I leave mention of the staff till then end as I must say overall the experience I had when coming in contact with each and every single staff member was absolutely amazing. They are very helpful, friendly and excellent at their job. The service staff are very friendly, and the kitchen staff are clearly passionate about their cooking. I can say that they are definitely the asset of this hotel!

Room Tip: Garden facing at the back close to reception is more private (122/121)
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank KBattaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews