We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Four Seasons exhanced the island experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recently wed me and my wife decided to honeymoon at Seychelles. We chose Four Season's Hilltop Villa for our 3 night stay and we could not have asked for more. The service was great and the view from our villa was amazing. I would really like to commend Alex and his crew for making our trip very memorable. The buggy service were always on time and we never had to wait! The beach is beautiful with its white sand and clear water. Four seasons also offers a lot of beach activity for it's patrons.

The only downside if I had to say would be the wait time to get to our villa upon arrival; there was a confusion sorting out what was booked and what we got. We look forward to our next vacation and would definitely stay in a Four Seasons resort.

Room Tip: The Hilltop Villa "107" has the perfect view to enjoy the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Premchowdhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Premchowdhry,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the Resort and service. It is very humbling to hear such high praise for what we do, and makes our job even more satisfying.

I'm sorry to hear there was some confusion upon arrival - we always do our very best to ensure that our guests can be looked after when they arrive, as we understand how tiring travel can be. Please rest assured that next time your arrival will be seamless.

I look forward very much to welcoming you back on your next visit.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 674 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

There's not much more I can say other than that title. From the moment we got there we were treated like royalty. Coming from a not so good stay on Praslin this was a great way to end our trip. My wife had been sick with the flu the previous couple of days and after we got to the Four Seasons and checked in with in 10 minutes they had a nurse at our villa, doctor they had already called, we didn't end up talking to him and shortly after medicines and all kinds of flu friendly eats and drinks for her to attempt to try. From then on we knew we had picked the right place.

Other reviews have said the food wasn't great. I have to say while not the best food in the world for such a remote place and having eaten at other top hotels on the islands the food here was a very pleasant surprise. Everything from the breakfast, pool side food to the steak shack was perfect. They even have daily specials which were fabulous as well. The hotel really doesn't let any detail go unchecked. We had great gifts and when compared to a much smaller hotel we stayed at on the island I felt like management, including the general manager, were always on top of everything and made you feel as if you were staying in their best room. Villas are ridiculous and service is amazing not to mention so many activities that you have to force yourself into leaving and seeing the island, which is def worth it but even if you don't you will be more than happy with that choice.

Thanks for making the honeymoon so special and we look forward to returning for an anniversary down the road

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Jay f,

Thank you so much for such a charming review. I'm glad we could turn your holiday around after your wife arrived with the flu. You're right about it being hard to tear yourself away, but there is so much to do in the Seychelles! What a great reason to come back though!

I hope very much that you can join us again for that anniversary vacation, but with you both at full fitness the next time!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel property is beautiful. The beach is magnificent with powder white sand and crystal clear turquoise water. We thoroughly enjoyed swimming and the tropic surf concession was a great addition, as we found the paddle boards to be great fun and James, the Tropic Surf manager was very helpful and fun as well!

The rooms are amazing and we especially enjoyed the infinity pool and outdoor shower in our room. The spa was fantastic and we were fortunate to actually have a service with several wonderful massage therapists I actually met at the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai, Lek and Pat. They were incredible! The spa rooms are beautiful and the sunset from the rooftop of the spa is gorgeous. Contrary to many of the other reviews, we found the food to be quite excellent. Chef Jesse Olsen, in Kannel restaurant made our trip particularly special by providing us with unique, specialized dinners almost every night. We think Jesse is a great asset to the hotel, as he went out of his way to be friendly and helpful on a daily basis. The GM, Alex, was very friendly and interested in guest feedback as well. Henry, in Zez, is an excellent chef, too...hello...he came from Per Se in NYC.

The only real drawbacks in my opinion, are that the hotel is not designed for guests to walk anywhere, so you either have to take a buggy or risk being run over by one. There are no pedestrian paths. We walked almost everywhere during the day, but didn't take the chance in the dark at night. We also found that the service in the restaurants by the local staff was not even close to Four Seasons usual standards. For us it was basically funny, but I could see where many people would be very upset, especially considering the price tag. Drinks were frequently wrong, different or non-existant. We had to beg to get drinks and on more than one occassion they came AFTER our appetizers were finished. Sara was a notable exception. She was always very kind, helpful and pleasant to be around. Many of the other members of the female wait staff were somewhat unpleasant and unhelpful, although still the postives outweighed the sourpusses. In general, we also felt the menus in both restaurants were a little on the heavy side for a beach resort, with little balance of lighter fare. Fortunately, Jesse was awesome and made us feel like we had our own personal chef! The ice cream is fantastic too.

I would definitely recommend the resort in general despite some technical difficulties!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyctuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear nyctuna,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Great to hear you loved the property, spa and beach, and that Jesse, Henry and James took such good care of you.

I'm sorry you were disappointed not to be able to walk around the property as much as you would like. Unfortunately, the beauty of our Resort is it's hillside location overlooking the bay, which gives us such an amazing view. Your top tip was "the higher the room, the better the view" but I would add that if you prefer not to rely so heavily on the buggy service, then one of our garden-view villas would be perfect for you. That way everything (bar the Spa) is only a short, flat stroll away.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find the servers in our restaurants up to standard. I hope that I can reassure you that this is not a commonly raised issue, but it does not excuse what you experienced, and I will follow up on it. If you have any other feedback then please do drop me a mail at alex.porteous@fourseasons.com - I'd really appreciate any other comments you can give, as we strive for excellence in all areas.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

You may find the title is something negative but I decided to give Four Seasons five star rating (4.5 to be exactly but there is no such option).

Seychelles is an expensive holiday destination, for honeymooners and holiday makers. So you have to budget in advance. Unfortunately the country's hospitality infrastructure is not as strong as countries like Maldives, who offers ample selections of hotels and resorts. So among all hotels and resorts in Seychelles, I think Four Seasons is by far the best.

So let me summarize the good/memorable areas and suggest something can be improved.

Good:
1. Location - not far from the airport (30 mins transfer) and the port to Praslin (40 mins).

2. Facility - room is fantastic, love the decor, swimming poor and most importantly, the view. You can just chill out by staying in your room for the whole day. Beach is fantastic and probably top three in the country. If you have budget, do select ocean/hill top view; if you are travelling with kids, then garden view is best as its close proximity to beach/restaurant.

3. People - staff are friendly especially the local ones, you can feel their friendliness and warmth from inside. International staff (Four Seasons staff from other regions) also provide you good services.

Something can be improved:
1. Food food food - it's definitely not the top-rated hotel/resort standard. Breakfast selections are squeezed in a small room (about 15 sq metres), which makes morning really crowded. why don't the management make it more opener? i.e. put the cold selection outside, leaving only hot ones inside. This can certainly make diners selection process more pleasant.

Food tastes okay, both from the bar restaurant and main one. But they are just average and nothing spectacular to be remembered, apart from the Japanese night, may be? Me and my wife cannot even remember a single memorable meal we had at the resort. Believe it or not, the highlight was a lunch trip to the nearby cafes (maria's). The management should be seriously considering improve the standard of food to impress people.

2. Something related to the first point. During our stay, there was a new restaurant (steakhouse) just opened, but there was no mention whatsoever. If the management was already aware of the issue (food quality and variety), you should try hard to promote and show the sign of improvements to the people who were staying during the changing period.

However, we were not even aware of this opening until our buggy passed by and the driver mentioned to us. What a shame we didn't try and therefore cannot comment. So communication is the key - communication between the hotel and people who are staying and will be staying in the hotel.

To summarize, if you are not too picky about the food, Four Seasons is the best option. I highly recommend this resort to couples and families. You will have wonderful time in Seychelles. Alex the GM wrote a personal card to greet us, we still keep that because not many hotels do that nowadays!

Here is a link to our holiday video, you can tell a lot of scenes are from Four Seasons. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQHY5rZkkVQ

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zumibruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Bruce_cku,

Thank you so much for posting your review. Wonderful to see that you loved the location, rooms, and our wonderful staff. I was sorry to see that you didn't find the food up to standard. Since arriving at the Resort in December, I have been driving forward improvements in this area, and would love some more feedback. If you could spare the time, my email is alex.porteous@fourseasons.com.

You mentioned Steak Shack, which is actually a pop-up restaurant that we opened for the first time in December. I'm sorry to hear that it wasn't communicated to you. We reopened it over Easter, and it will continue to appear during busier periods and times when guests are likely to stay for longer periods, to give them another dining option; making sure of course that all our guests know how fantastic it is!

I just watched your fantastic video - it looks like you had an incredible time here and all over the Seychelles. Please come back and see us again!

With warm regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

. . . How wonderful Four Seasons Seychelles is!!! The most perfect hotel I've ever been to or seen. I'm a bit late in writing this review--I went there on my honeymoon in October 2010--but wanted to add my voice to the chorus of praise. We arrived at 10am, not expecting them to have our room ready for several hours. They greeted us with refreshing drinks and then took us immediately to our upgraded hilltop ocean view villa. Beyond the adorable (and delicious) happy-honeymoon cake and the chilling bottle of Veuve Cliquot--which were very much appreciated--the villa was breathtaking and enormous. Gorgeous views of the Indian Ocean. Modern amenities but exceptionally stylish and location-appropriate decor and amenities. The most beautiful bathroom ever. Gorgeous outdoor space with a daybed, chaise lounges, outdoor shower, and private infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The hotel itself is wonderful--terrific (but pricey) restaurants and lounges, the most spectacular beach (where they lavish you with complimentary citrus-water and mango sorbet, and where the kayaking, snorkeling, paddle-boating, and other water sports are all complimentary) and pool, phenomenal spa, etc., etc., etc. The staff were fantastic and incredibly accommodating. We had to leave for the airport at 5am, and they offered to (and did) bring us a full breakfast in our villa at 4:30! I could go on and on. I just cannot say enough about this wonderful place. I only hope we can return--and it can't happen soon enough!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear USTraveler91,

Firstly, WOW! What a review! Thank you so much for your kind praise. I'm so glad that your arrival and departure experiences were as magical as the rest of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, for a second honeymoon perhaps?

With warm regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
18.4 km away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
4.7 km away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
16.2 km away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
6.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Seychelles Allamanda Resort & Spa
1.1 km away
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range: RM4,233 - RM11,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island - Baie Lazare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing