We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Typical Econo Lodge, low cost low, quality rooms, better than a few of the Econo Lodges we have stayed in. bed was worn out you rolled to the center, shower head was in need of replacement, and something was stuck to the ceiling. At least all the doors were in good shape

Room Tip: any room would probably be ok since the room are way back from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S7600RUmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo Y, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I don't usually write bad reviews, but this place is definitely traveler beware! I should have heeded the first red flag when funds were deducted from my debit card immediately after reservation was made (2 weeks in advance of travel date!). 2nd red flag: check-in clerk made it very clear she was not happy with her job. 3rd red flag: posted sign said no discounts could be applied at check out. I had forgotten to mention my AARP discount when I made reservation. I asked to apply it at check-in and clerk said no since the funds had already been applied (see red flag #1). I protested to no satisfactory solution and proceeded to get room anyway. Upon entering room, it was really clean, it's only saving grace! It was all downhill from there! The walls are paper thin making noise from other guests amplified. Both the room A/C unit and bathroom fans are so loud, it was difficult having a normal conversation if either were running. Upon return to room late afternoon the 1st day, the room had not been cleaned. I called the front desk and was told the cleaning crew had left for the day and I got blamed for posting the do not disturb sign on door, which didn't happen! The owner was called and I observed him cleaning the room himself (kudos to him!). After a long day visiting family, it was time to relax in front of the tv for a bit before retiring for the evening. The tv channels were few, not the standard cable channels, and was fuzzier than antenna tv in the 70's!
There are plenty of other hotels in the area from which to choose, so your best bet is to do so! This wasn't the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but I will exercise my options whenever I return to the area!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 636StephanieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo Y, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

There are two places on property: Econo Lodge and Adirondack Efficiencies. Because we had pets, we stayed at the Efficiency location. The owner could have a gold mind here if they would just update the place. The room is spacious and clean. It has a large sofa, a kitchen with a stove, coffee maker, microwave, and fridge. The only downfall is the rooms haven't been updated since the 1980's. They are very old and dated. There are issues with wallpaper, ceiling, flooring, etc. I really would like to give it a higher rating, but it was just old and needs work. Wifi worked terrific, and the location was perfect. The cable/satellite left a great deal to be desired. You only got about 10 channels and some of those cut in and out. With a little TLC, better channel offerings, we might consider returning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytonaLocalDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo Y, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

it seems like when someone is traveling on a long vacation that you sometimes find the hotel you'd want to forget and this is it.Hotel is in a different building from lobby.If it was not for the fact that we were so tired we would have left.Needless to say we got up early,had the breakfast and left.Worst hotel by far on a eleven day vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BuRickJr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo Y, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We almost left once we saw our rooms and the area. However, we were tired from driving and touring and the door did have a dead bolt lock. Stale smell in room, flickering fluorescent light above the desk, tiny counter space in bathroom. Carpet and drapes were soiled. The breakfast area was in the wing we were staying, and it was better than the rooms would indicate. We did not use the pool area, * Note: the office/check in area is in a completely different building.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gma4198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econo Y, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us, and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 14 in Watertown
361 reviews
2 km away
Best Western Watertown Fort Drum
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ramada Watertown
Ramada Watertown
#7 of 14 in Watertown
999 reviews
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
0.5 km away
Travelodge Watertown
Travelodge Watertown
#8 of 14 in Watertown
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1030 Arsenal St, Watertown, NY 13601-2884
Region: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: RM 227 - RM 317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access to I-81 and Arsenal street is situated close to the CBD and shopping malls, tourist attractions. Watertown is situated near the thousand islands and boast a large summer and winter tourist season to its many attractions and fishing events. 25 minutes to Canada border and 60 minutes to Syracuse and Kingston Canada. Close to Casino and Ottawa, Canada . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Watertown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing