We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
167
12
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
12
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststhe managersswimming with dolphinsour honeymoonfishopen airparadise on earthturquoise waterrustic luxuryonce in a lifetimesundowner cocktailstail endwear shortsindian oceanbarefoot luxuryhope this helpsdifferent locations
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Beautiful private island with a serene setting. Tons of privacy. Loved the open air villa--felt very relaxed and unique. Service was excellent. Food was great and incorporated a ton of fresh seafood. Had the treat of watching sea turtles hatch. Excellent SCUBA diving

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank W2143UCdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

It was not our first visit to Mnemba, but we keep being amazed about how perfect and out-of-this-world this place is! The water is just more blue, the sand more white, the dolphins coming close to the beach, each room is its own house, its rustic luxury and beauty for the eye. New addition is a private wooden banda on the beach in front of each room. Food absolutely amazing, and the staff incredible friendly and competent.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Jutta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

My husband and i spent 6 nights on a safari trip and ended our vacation for three nights at Mnemba .(it eneded up to be two finally )

We are traveling extensively and Its not the first time we stay at an open style home(Necker island,Mosquito island and several other examples) on a private island but unfortunately Mnemba was too much for us to handle.

Overall the food, Scuba and scene were great but the issue with the mice has not been properly addressed.

I understood that three years ago management tried to address the issue but neglected to follow up since then. Considering the magnitude of the matter they should bring a specialist to clean up the island on a yearly basis.

In our two day stay alone three rats were trapped in our room and had several occasions that we saw or heard them. (they had just one trap on the island)

We tried changing rooms but unfortunately the problem persisted so it looks like most of the homes have an issue.

We`ve decided to leave one night earlier ,as it was impossible for me to sleep at night (several mice were running around the room)

Very unprofessional from the Beyond side that they don`t want to return the money for the last night after we spent 27 k on a 10 days trip with them...

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
20  Thank Alexandrasilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon, & were absolutely thrilled.

It took a night or two to settle into the rhythm of the island & work out the quirks of our cottage (number 12), and in the end we felt this was almost a private nature & marine safari.

It was an adventure from start to finish and we saw so many memorable fish, swam with dolphins, snorkelled and dived - crown jellyfish to sea urchins and even a memorable time watching a giant turtle come up the beach to make a nest and lay her eggs. Couldn't knit it.

We were also able to step outside the surprising amount of activities on offer and opt for quiet time.

One thing, as reviews mention below this is an island and all that brings with so do expect beautiful handmade chandeliers of shells in the bathroom - don't expect air con, doors or windows, but really you're here for the privacy and the wildlife - and that's what you pay for & to see, support and help preserve.

It reminded me a little of a slightly wilder and more off the beaten track version of Desroches (in the Seychelles) with way more aquatic life and wildlife 25 or 30 years ago when I went there, before they got an actual hotel & paths etc.

The plumbing for a sand atholl or to be frank even compared to mainland Africa was fabulous, best bathroom ever showering like hot rain with views of the ocean, and the team so lovely, knowledgeable and kind, & the good conservation work we discovered &Beyond and Mnemba are doing with Ingrid & Glaswegian GM Hamish was inspirational and explained so much what it was all about.

Special mention to Amy with her wondrous beauty treatments & great range of massages including rare Hawaiian or Hand, Eva for her brilliant dive and Sabina for helping me overcome my first ever snorkel fears. Kundi our butler was great fun, discreet and ever ready all at once.

We hadn't really known what to expect, but don't think we had expected to have so much fun with the knowledgeable and experienced, international team on the island. It takes 55 staff to keep Mnemba going year round, & we felt it was a privilege to be on the island and learn so much about their work in reforestation, coral preservation, giant turtle sanctury, education and work and training in local communities, and other nature works well beyond the hotel function.

It for us was more like a safari experience, together with some serious sun bathing & romantic morning walks in the surf, with a beautiful private beach, secluded cottage & exquisite genuinely cerulean sea & the whitest of white sands. It was also quite a liberating beach as of course on mainland Zanzibar in Stone Town the beaches are busy and strictly Muslim approaches are taken towards bikinis etc.

The shells, crabs, ocean, staff and sunshine were all fabulous, & Anton's cooking was delicious.

The music and songs were great fun, and the unique welcome and send off were also huge fun.

Some hopefully helpful things or tips we'd look at doing right away next time -

1) of an evening it can get windy up at No 12 in January so batten down the hatches & roll down the shutters at night; a private cottage on the island's peninsula, looking out over the Indian Ocean, means just that - it's still hot though, so the fan over the bed and all sea breezes are very welcome

2) Numbers 12 or 1 are super discreet for honeymooners & experience different weather at different times of year, number 11 also sheltered for those where privacy is paramount (like the music star we met next door). It was clear also that some of the more mature regulars had booked cottages right near the restaurant we imagined to save walking the deep sand much or beach by torch later at night. So, check weather and time of year, and work with the &Beyond or island team when booking to get the right spot for your needs.

3) Take major mosquito spray, you're going to need it. We also asked for our nets to be made tight and tucked in with a plug socket for overnight inside, as given the breeze the loose nets weren't working

4) don't be shy to join in the group activities if you wish or are looking for things to do, the staff are really lovely, knowledgeable and so well travelled whether local or international we made good friends, or to simply request on arrival to eat all your 3 meals a day + sundowner cocktails in your cottage and opt for the totally private experience

5) don't be wary of an early night, particularly in the more remote cottages as you're at one with nature here - which wakes at dawn with the birds, sun and tides

6) Do go out on the water if you can - I was nervous having never done anything like that, the team were fab. My husband took to it like a fish and discovered a new hobby diving with Eva. I was looked after by lovely Sabina and really enjoyed seeing so much exquisite marine life - even swimming with dolphins!

Thanks to all on Mnemba - what a memorable & unbelievable time we had all in just a few days.

Hope this helps everyone. Enjoy! X

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

my wife and i spent a week @andBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge on the tail end of our honeymoon. getting there is no easy task (will take you at least two flights, a drive and a short boat ride), but it is definitely worth it! "barefoot luxury" sums it up nicely (we took our shoes off before boarding the boat on zanzibar and pretty much only wore our fins that week).

accommodations: no windows, no doors, no TV, no a/c but it all works out nicely! the room is spacious, airy, and gives you the private island feeling.

service: AMAZING!!! it all starts with the managers, hamish and lou, who went out of their way to help me plan little surprises for the wife. we had a couple private dinners and hamish arranged for us to spend an afternoon on the property's dahl. our butler, ali, is a gentle giant who was both present and invisible. we wanted him to get on the boat and return to brazil with us!

food: i'll run you through the list of things the tandem comprised of ish and anton came up with during our time there: grilled lobster teriyaki, fresh sashimi almost every day, the best fried calamari i have ever had, grilled fish with curry, and a mean chocolate brownie! i was a little worried as we would be on property for a week and there would be no where to escape to, but i brought back a couple extra pounds as a mnemba souvenir.

activities: probably andBeyond's forte. we were fortunate enough to watch the turtle hatch at sundowner and encountered dolphins a couple times, but the staff will keep even the most active guest satisfied. we went diving almost every day with sabine who is one of the most passionate dive masters we have ever met!

price: andBeyond mnemba is definitely expensive! however, i really felt like we got our money's worth. these guys are real pros and will not let you down!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 123jy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews