We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mnemba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Mnemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

I forgot to review this place and wasn't offered the month May 2016. It had just reopened after a refurbishment and all I can say is WOW. This must me the epitome of bare foot chic. Just incredible on every level. The rooms. The service. The food. The laying eggs. The snorkeling. Just felt like I had died and gone to heaven.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I would like to thank you all the amazing people that makes this amazing and special place so memorable!!!
The Lodge is wonderful, the rooms so beautiful and clean, the food is delicious and the beach speechless!
The attention to details is so perfect! And you have the impression that you are the only guests in the Island! It is perfect for romance!
Just a special thank you to our butler, Patrice and the amazing therapist that did an amazing Massage during our stay!
Hope to see all you soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank renata t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Our trip to Mnemba was as expected "Perfecto". This is our first review, in pert as a well deserved reward for the amazing staff and part a recommendation to future travellers.
A short hop off the already stunning island of Zanzibar, lays the postcard oasis of Mnemba. A place that would surely win a prize for the bluest water and whitest sand we have ever seen.
It is hard to find any negatives but some of the many positives would be our first ever turtle hatching and snorkelling with Dolphins.
Ingrid who more than inspired our conservation beliefs, her passion seamed endless.
Lou and Hamish for just being so lovely.
The local dive staff who had been part off the island for generations.
The food is one thing that could be improved before our next visit.
See you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luxalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Mnemba truly is a paradise island, the whitest sand and the bluest water we have ever seen, if you are looking for a complete recharge then this is the place. Everything from the amazing butlers to the resident pod of dolphins we could not fault anything about our stay.
We would like to give a special mention to Ingrid the resident conservation guru who's knowledge and passion about the local marine life was beyond inspiring.We also had the privilege to join her for a turtle hatching which was an amazing experience. AndBeyond really do live up to there ethos as a TRUE conservation based company.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heathytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

What a beautiful location/island, clear blue warms waters and the finest white sand I have ever seen but unfortunately during our first night (in room 11) we were awoken at 3am by the noises of the doves that visit the island from the mainland every night, I am not taking about a few but hundreds and settle in and around the accommodation. We sleep with ear plugs and this was still a huge issue and we ended getting up at 4am and walking down for breakfast, at this point we were so tired, it was not the start to our stay we expected and were already thinking about leaving and had contacted our agents in the uk to see where it would be easier to move to. We were not the only people staying on the island that were impacted by the noise but not sure the others complained as much as we did but when you are paying these sort of prices you expect the best.

At this point the Manager Hamish and his team did apologises and confirmed there was an issue with the doves but as they are an eco property they can not cull the birds. They offered to move us to Room 1, this is at the top of the island and quite an exposed room to the winds at night but due to the winds and lack of trees/bushes doesn't have as many doves settling overnight so much quieter.

We decided to make the move and have to say although this initially did impact our stay Hamish did everything he could to resolve and if this wasn't an issue then the stay would have been almost perfect. I think and Beyond need to address the issue of the doves as this is the only thing that would stop me visiting again or recommending this hotel.

Positives:
We had the great pleasure of seeing a turtle hatching - WOW
Its like a private island, you hardly see another person until you go for meals
We saw and swan with dolphins most days during our diving and snorkelling trips
Dive Master Josiah was amazing and knowledgeable
Treatments amazing
Sundowners offered every night before dinner on the beach outside your villa

All I can ask is and Beyond to look into ways to resolve the issues with the Doves, you are making Hamish and his teams works harder than it needs to be

Room Tip: Room 1 is quieter and away from noise of doves but very windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LondonEmmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mnemba
15.2 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,682 reviews
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
5.8 km away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
660 reviews
2.8 km away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
188 reviews
32.6 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Mnemba Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Mnemba Island

Address: Zanzibar, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Mnemba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Mnemba
Price Range: RM10,373 - RM13,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — andBeyond Mnemba Island 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Mnemba Island Lodge is an award-winning barefoot beach paradise just off the northeast coast of Zanzibar. Ten beachside bandas overlook the Mnemba atoll (a scuba diver's delight) at this romantic, private hideaway. From snorkelling, swimming and kayaking to massages on the beach and simply doing nothing at all, andBeyond Mnemba has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mnemba Island Hotel Mnemba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing