We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
167
12
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
12
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother gueststhe managersswimming with dolphinsour honeymoonfishopen airparadise on earthturquoise waterrustic luxuryonce in a lifetimesundowner cocktailstail endwear shortsindian oceanbarefoot luxuryhope this helpsdifferent locations
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

I would like to thank you all the amazing people that makes this amazing and special place so memorable!!!
The Lodge is wonderful, the rooms so beautiful and clean, the food is delicious and the beach speechless!
The attention to details is so perfect! And you have the impression that you are the only guests in the Island! It is perfect for romance!
Just a special thank you to our butler, Patrice and the amazing therapist that did an amazing Massage during our stay!
Hope to see all you soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank renata t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Our trip to Mnemba was as expected "Perfecto". This is our first review, in pert as a well deserved reward for the amazing staff and part a recommendation to future travellers.
A short hop off the already stunning island of Zanzibar, lays the postcard oasis of Mnemba. A place that would surely win a prize for the bluest water and whitest sand we have ever seen.
It is hard to find any negatives but some of the many positives would be our first ever turtle hatching and snorkelling with Dolphins.
Ingrid who more than inspired our conservation beliefs, her passion seamed endless.
Lou and Hamish for just being so lovely.
The local dive staff who had been part off the island for generations.
The food is one thing that could be improved before our next visit.
See you next year.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank luxalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Mnemba truly is a paradise island, the whitest sand and the bluest water we have ever seen, if you are looking for a complete recharge then this is the place. Everything from the amazing butlers to the resident pod of dolphins we could not fault anything about our stay.
We would like to give a special mention to Ingrid the resident conservation guru who's knowledge and passion about the local marine life was beyond inspiring.We also had the privilege to join her for a turtle hatching which was an amazing experience. AndBeyond really do live up to there ethos as a TRUE conservation based company.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heathytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

What a beautiful location/island, clear blue warms waters and the finest white sand I have ever seen but unfortunately during our first night (in room 11) we were awoken at 3am by the noises of the doves that visit the island from the mainland every night, I am not taking about a few but hundreds and settle in and around the accommodation. We sleep with ear plugs and this was still a huge issue and we ended getting up at 4am and walking down for breakfast, at this point we were so tired, it was not the start to our stay we expected and were already thinking about leaving and had contacted our agents in the uk to see where it would be easier to move to. We were not the only people staying on the island that were impacted by the noise but not sure the others complained as much as we did but when you are paying these sort of prices you expect the best.

At this point the Manager Hamish and his team did apologises and confirmed there was an issue with the doves but as they are an eco property they can not cull the birds. They offered to move us to Room 1, this is at the top of the island and quite an exposed room to the winds at night but due to the winds and lack of trees/bushes doesn't have as many doves settling overnight so much quieter.

We decided to make the move and have to say although this initially did impact our stay Hamish did everything he could to resolve and if this wasn't an issue then the stay would have been almost perfect. I think and Beyond need to address the issue of the doves as this is the only thing that would stop me visiting again or recommending this hotel.

Positives:
We had the great pleasure of seeing a turtle hatching - WOW
Its like a private island, you hardly see another person until you go for meals
We saw and swan with dolphins most days during our diving and snorkelling trips
Dive Master Josiah was amazing and knowledgeable
Treatments amazing
Sundowners offered every night before dinner on the beach outside your villa

All I can ask is and Beyond to look into ways to resolve the issues with the Doves, you are making Hamish and his teams works harder than it needs to be

Room Tip: Room 1 is quieter and away from noise of doves but very windy
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LondonEmmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Eco lodge on a private island. you can go through the stay with crossing other guests. it seems you are on you private private island. with a wonderful bundalow without windows, just wood and and sheets. small dik-dik are eating from you hand. the beach is yours, the water crystal. yo can dive or just snork.
of course the price is salty but it's just pure luxury.
we had the chance to see the birth of dozens of baby turtles. without interference in what happen to them... the circle of life... tough but...
imagine each sunset, without noticing, you see a oil light with chairs and champagne, wine, or whatever you ordered, on the sand,,, time to relax.
take a big breath. this is paradise.

the staff is spectacular, the chief is amazing. creative cuisine, spices.. we are in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: each bungalow is far away from the other. no matter which one
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chuck993723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews